Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 144

Relating to: the commencement of fall classes in public schools.

By Representatives J. Ott, Kremer, T. Larson, Thiesfeldt, Knodl, Bernier, Hutton, Murtha, Murphy and Nerison; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Vukmir.

April 01, 2015             Referred to Committee on Education

November 05, 2015    Public Hearing Held

Present:       (12)      Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Rodriguez, R. Brooks, Horlacher, Murphy, Hutton, Duchow, Pope, Sinicki, Barnes and Considine.

Absent:       (0)        None.

Excused:     (4)        Representatives Jagler, Knudson, Quinn and Genrich.

Appearances For

·      Jim Ott - Representative

·      Dr. Means - Mequon School District

·      Robert Kobylski - Nicolet School District

·      Christine Panka - Prairie du Chien Schools

·      Chris Kulow - Wis. Assoc. of School Boards

Appearances Against

·      Brad Toll - Greater Grean Bay Convention and Visitor Bureau

·      Jessica Diederich - Greater Green Bay CVB

·      Chet Gerlacher - TFW/AWTA

·      Susan  Donaldson - The House on the Rocks

·      Kathleen  Fleming - Wis Bed and Breakfast Assoc.

·      Mary Rowley - Wis. Restaurant Assoc.

·      Pete Hanson - Wis. Restaurant Assoc.

·      John  Chastan - Wis. Hotel and Lodging Assoc.

·      Greg Swanberg - Weissgenbers Gasthaus Rest.

Appearances for Information Only

·      None.

Registrations For

·      Chris Thiel - Milw. Public Schools

·      Alberta  Darling - State Senator

Registrations Against

·      Douglas Parrott - Wis. Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Assoc.

·      Lori Severson - Wis. Assoc. of Campground Owners

·      Rebecca  Hogan - Wis. Assoc. of Convention and Visitors Bureau

·      Kathi Kilgore - Outdoor Advertising Assoc. of Wis.

·      Tom Diehl - Tommy Bartlett's Inc

·      Bill Smith - NFIB

Registrations for Information Only

·      None.

April 07, 2016             Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1


Hariah Hutkowski

Committee Clerk