Assembly Journal
One-Hundred and Third Regular Session
12:53 P.M.   TUESDAY, April 4, 2017
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Pro Tempore August in the Chair.
Representative Steineke asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
Speaker Vos in the chair.
The prayer was offered by Jeremy Mohawk, Councilman of the Stockbridge-Munsee Community.
The Color Guard posted the colors.
JoAnn Schedler, a Native American Veteran of the United States Army and a member of the Stockbridge-Munsee Community, led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Allen, Anderson, August, Ballweg, Barca, Berceau, Bernier, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Brostoff, Considine, Crowley, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, Fields, Gannon, Genrich, Goyke, Hebl, Hesselbein, Horlacher, Hutton, Jacque, Jarchow, Katsma, Kerkman, Kessler, Kitchens, Kleefisch, Knodl, Kolste, Kooyenga, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Macco, Mason, Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Nerison, Neylon, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Pope, Pronschinske, Quinn, Riemer, Ripp, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snyder, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Steffen, Steineke, Stuck, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Wachs, Weatherston, Wichgers, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick, Zimmerman and Speaker Vos - 97.
Absent with leave - Representatives Hintz and Jagler - 2.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative Jagler. Granted.
Representative Spreitzer asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative Hintz. Granted.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Spreitzer asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representative Milroy. Granted.
Speaker Vos recognized the presence of the Wisconsin State Senate; Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Evers; and Chief Justice Patience Roggensack and Justice Rebecca Bradley of the Wisconsin Supreme Court.
State of the Tribes Address
Speaker Vos introduced Stockbridge-Munsee Tribal President, Shannon Holsey, who addressed the members from the rostrum.
The Color Guard retired the colors.
Speaker Vos asked unanimous consent that the Assembly stand recessed. Granted.
The Assembly stood recessed.
2:07 P.M.
2:34 P.M.
The Assembly reconvened.
Speaker Vos in the chair.
Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
Representative Milroy asked unanimous consent that his leave of absence be lifted. Granted.
Amendments Offered
hist66706Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 60 offered by Representative Weatherston.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
hist65779Assembly Joint Resolution 28
Relating to: proclaiming Workers' Memorial Day.
By Representatives Sinicki, Kulp, Ohnstad, Bowen, Barca, Hesselbein, Spreitzer, Shankland, Billings, Considine, Fields, Goyke, Hebl, Mason, Milroy, Riemer, Sargent, Subeck, C. Taylor, Wachs, Zamarripa and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Wirch, Shilling, Miller, Ringhand, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Hansen, Johnson, C. Larson, Risser and Vinehout.
hist66713To committee on Rules.
hist66608Assembly Bill 194
Relating to: the prohibition against underage persons being present on alcohol licensed premises.
By Representatives Summerfield, Swearingen, Bernier, Petryk, Pronschinske, Wachs, R. Brooks, Horlacher, Quinn, Kremer, Knodl and Kulp; cosponsored by Senators Moulton, Vinehout and Feyen.
hist66610To committee on State Affairs.
hist65780Assembly Bill 195
Relating to: creating a refundable individual income tax credit for the parent of a stillbirth.
By Representatives Ballweg, Billings, Bowen, E. Brooks, Horlacher, Jacque, Kleefisch, Kremer, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Neylon, Quinn, Ripp, Sinicki, Skowronski, Thiesfeldt, Tusler, Rohrkaste, Allen and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Erpenbach, Moulton and Wanggaard.
hist66717To committee on Ways and Means.