Assembly Journal
One-Hundred and Third Regular Session
1:07 P.M.   THURSDAY, November 2, 2017
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Representative Steineke in the Chair.
Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
Speaker Vos in the chair.
The prayer was offered by Representative Fields.
Representative Ott led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Allen, Anderson, August, Ballweg, Barca, Berceau, Bernier, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Brostoff, Considine, Crowley, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Felzkowski, Fields, Genrich, Goyke, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Horlacher, Hutton, Jacque, Jagler, Jarchow, Katsma, Kerkman, Kessler, Kitchens, Kleefisch, Knodl, Kolste, Kooyenga, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Macco, Mason, Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Nerison, Neylon, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Pope, Pronschinske, Quinn, Riemer, Ripp, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snyder, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Steffen, Steineke, Stuck, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vruwink, Wachs, Weatherston, Wichgers, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick, Zimmerman and Speaker Vos - 96.
Absent with leave - Representatives Sanfelippo and Vorpagel - 2.
Vacancies - 58th Assembly District - 1.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Sanfelippo and Vorpagel. Granted.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Spreitzer asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representative Milroy. Granted.
Special Guest
Representative Ballweg introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient, Tiffany Thoma of Badger Mining Corporation’s Special Hunts Program, providing opportunities for individuals with certain disabilities to participate in seasonal hunting. Ms. Thoma introduced her colleagues Brandon Hess, Nick Bartol, and Andy Chikowski, and program participants Loren Parker and James Crowley, and addressed the members from the rostrum.
Special Guest
Representative Anderson introduced Hometown Hero Award recipient, Jean Papalia of McFarland, for her work involving mental health issues and suicide prevention with the Madison Police Department and Safe Communities. Ms. Paplia addressed the members from the rostrum.
Amendments Offered
hist77643Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 501 offered by Representative Rohrkaste.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
hist77561Assembly Joint Resolution 82
Relating to: honoring the public service of Secretary Ben Brancel.
By Representatives Ballweg, Ripp, Nerison, Berceau, Considine, Hebl, Kitchens, Krug, Kulp, Loudenbeck, Milroy, Mursau, Novak, Nygren, Petryk, Pronschinske, Rohrkaste, Shankland, Sinicki, Spiros, Steineke, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Olsen, Moulton, Bewley, Carpenter, Cowles, Darling, Feyen, Harsdorf, Marklein, Petrowski, Ringhand, Risser, Tiffany, Vinehout, Vukmir and Wirch.
hist77562To committee on Rules.
hist76121Assembly Bill 609
Relating to: automatic voter registration and the integration of registration information with information maintained by the Department of Transportation and other state agencies and granting rule-making authority.
By Representatives Genrich, Berceau, Crowley, Hebl, Shankland, Zamarripa, Anderson, Riemer, Milroy, Mason, Goyke, Pope, Spreitzer, Sargent, Vruwink, Brostoff, Sinicki, Hintz, Doyle, Ohnstad, C. Taylor, Considine, Subeck, Stuck, Billings and Kolste; cosponsored by Senators Hansen, Johnson, Wirch, Carpenter, Miller, Risser, Ringhand, Vinehout and Larson.
hist77554To committee on Campaigns and Elections.
hist76003Assembly Bill 610
Relating to: authorizing La Crosse County to become a premier resort area.
By Representative Doyle; cosponsored by Senator Shilling.
hist77555To committee on Ways and Means.
Committee Reports
The committee on Financial Institutions reports and recommends:
Assembly Bill 353
Relating to: the organization and operation of cooperatives and extensions of credit by electric cooperatives.
hist77769Assembly Amendment 1 adoption:
Ayes: 14 - Representatives Katsma, Allen, Stafsholt, Petryk, Weatherston, Murphy, Petersen, Kitchens, Doyle, Young, Zepnick, Bowen, Meyers and Fields.
Noes: 0.
hist77770Assembly Amendment 2 adoption:
Ayes: 14 - Representatives Katsma, Allen, Stafsholt, Petryk, Weatherston, Murphy, Petersen, Kitchens, Doyle, Young, Zepnick, Bowen, Meyers and Fields.
Noes: 0.
hist77771Passage as amended:
Ayes: 12 - Representatives Katsma, Allen, Petryk, Weatherston, Murphy, Petersen, Kitchens, Doyle, Young, Zepnick, Meyers and Fields.
Noes: 2 - Representatives Stafsholt and Bowen.