Senate Journal
One-Hundred and Third Regular Session
11:40 A.M.   FRIDAY, May 5, 2017
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by Senator Risser.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (6), the Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.
Chief Clerk's Entries
Amendments Offered
hist69689Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 53 offered by Senator Vukmir.
Introduction, First Reading, and Reference of Proposals
Read and referred:
hist69685Senate Joint Resolution 48
Relating to: proclaiming May 2017 as Mental Health Awareness Month.
By Senators Vukmir, Bewley, Carpenter, Darling, Harsdorf, Marklein, Shilling, Wirch and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Ballweg, Allen, Considine, Hebl, Horlacher, Jacque, Kessler, Kitchens, Kolste, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Snyder, Spreitzer, Subeck and VanderMeer.
hist69704To the committee on Senate Organization.
hist69686Senate Joint Resolution 49
Relating to: honoring the life and public service of Rachel Ann Veum.
By Senators Fitzgerald, Shilling, Bewley, Cowles, Darling, Erpenbach, Harsdorf, Johnson, Kapenga, C. Larson, Lasee, Miller, Moulton, Nass, Olsen, Petrowski, Ringhand, Risser, Roth, Stroebel, L. Taylor, Tiffany, Vinehout, Vukmir, Wanggaard and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Vos, Barca, Berceau, Bowen, Crowley, Genrich, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Horlacher, Kessler, Kleefisch, Kolste, Kremer, Mason, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Petryk, Pope, Ripp, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tranel, Tusler, Vruwink, Wachs and Zepnick.
hist69705To the committee on Senate Organization.
hist69687Senate Joint Resolution 50
Relating to: congratulating Bay Beach Amusement Park in Green Bay on 125 years of continuous operation.
By Senators Hansen, Cowles, Lasee, Vinehout, Wirch and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Genrich, Steffen, Macco, Berceau, Kessler, Jacque, Rohrkaste, Riemer, Pope, Crowley, Spreitzer, Tittl, Subeck, Ohnstad, Thiesfeldt, Wachs, Hintz, Bowen, Tusler, Zepnick, Zamarripa, Kitchens, Nygren and Brostoff.
hist69706To the committee on Senate Organization.
Report of Committees
The committee on Senate Organization reported:
Referred to, and withdrawn from, the joint committee on Finance, pursuant to Senate Rule 41 (1)(e):
hist69731Senate Bill 89
Ayes: 5 - Senators Fitzgerald, Roth, Vukmir, Shilling and Bewley.
Noes: 0 - None.
Public hearing requirement waived, pursuant to Senate Rule 18 (1m):
hist69733Assembly Bill 25
hist69734Assembly Bill 58
hist69735Assembly Bill 123
hist69736Assembly Bill 125
hist69737Assembly Bill 160
hist69738Assembly Bill 194
Ayes: 5 - Senators Fitzgerald, Roth, Vukmir, Shilling and Bewley.
Noes: 0 - None.
Placed the following appointments and proposals on the Senate Calendar of Wednesday, May 10, 2017:
hist69753Jason A. Rothenberg
hist69739Senate Joint Resolution 42
hist69740Senate Joint Resolution 47
hist69741Senate Bill 79
hist69742Senate Bill 85
hist69743Senate Bill 89
hist69744Senate Bill 94
hist69745Senate Bill 126
hist69746Senate Bill 172
hist69747Assembly Bill 25
hist69748Assembly Bill 58
hist69749Assembly Bill 123
hist69750Assembly Bill 125
hist69751Assembly Bill 160
hist69752Assembly Bill 194
Ayes: 5 - Senators Fitzgerald, Roth, Vukmir, Shilling and Bewley.
Noes: 0 - None.
Petitions and Communications
hist69688Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Ohnstad added as a co-sponsor of Senate Bill 125.
State of Wisconsin
Office of the Governor
May 5, 2017
The Honorable, the Senate:
This letter is to remove the following appointment from consideration for confirmation by the Wisconsin Senate:
hist69715FROEHLICH, THE HONORABLE HAROLD of Appleton, as a seat 3 on the Government Accountability Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2016.
Respectfully Submitted,
State of Wisconsin
Office of the Senate President