Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 550

Relating to: certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth, disposition of remains after miscarriage or stillbirth, anatomical gifts, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Kleefisch, Bernier, Jacque, Allen, Born, Brandtjen, Edming, Gannon, Horlacher, Hutton, Katsma, Knodl, Kremer, Krug, Kulp, Macco, Murphy, Neylon, Ott, Quinn, Ripp, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Skowronski, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tusler and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Moulton, Vukmir, Testin, Stroebel, Craig, Nass, LeMahieu, Kapenga and Marklein.

October 19, 2017        Referred to Committee on Health

November 14, 2017    Public Hearing Held

Present:       (8)        Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Kremer, Wichgers, Murphy, Jacque, Kolste, Zamarripa and C. Taylor.

Absent:       (0)        None.

Excused:     (4)        Representatives Bernier, Edming, Skowronski and Subeck.

Appearances For

·      State Rep. Joel Kleefisch - 38th Assembly District

·      Dr. Kathleen Schmainda

·      Elizabeth Anderson - WI Catholic Medical Guilds

·      Dr. Tara Sander Lee

·      Paul Shirek

·      Barbera Sella - Heal Without Harm Coalition (WI Catholic Conference)

·      Matt Sande - Heal Without Harm Coalition (Pro-Life Wisconsin)

·      Julaine Appling - Heal Without Harm Coalition (WI Family Action)

·      Heather Weininger - Heal Without harm Coalition (WI Right to Life)

Appearances Against

·      None.

Appearances for Information Only

·      None.

Registrations For

·      State Rep. Dave Murphy - 56th Assembly District

·      State Senator Terry Moulton - 23rd District

·      Greta Ann Murray - WI Right to Life

·      Caroline Arnold

·      Doreen Shirek

·      Chelsea Duffy - Heal Without Harm Coalition (WI Right to Life)

·      Dan Miller - Heal Without Harm Coalition (Pro-Life WI)

·      Susanna Herro

Registrations Against

·      Kyle O'Brien - WI Hospitals Association

Registrations for Information Only

·      None.


Joshua Hoisington

Committee Clerk