Present - Representatives Anderson, August, Ballweg, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, Brooks, Brostoff, Cabrera, Considine, Crowley, Dittrich, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Felzkowski, Fields, Goyke, Gruszynski, Gundrum, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Hutton, Jagler, James, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Knodl, Kolste, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Myers, Neubauer, Neylon, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pope, Pronschinske, Quinn, Ramthun, Riemer, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Spreitzer, Stafsholt, Steffen, Steineke, Stubbs, Stuck, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vining, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Wichgers, Wittke, Zamarripa, Zimmerman and Speaker Vos - 95.
Absent with leave - Representatives Allen, Horlacher and Tusler - 3.
Vacancies - 64th Assembly District - 1.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Knodl asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Allen, Horlacher and Tusler. Granted.
Speaker Vos recognized the presence of Governor Tony Evers; Leutinent Govornor Mandela Barnes; Attorney General Josh Kaul; State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski; Superintendent of Public Instruction Carolyn Stanford Taylor; Chief Justice Patience Roggensack, Justice Shirley Abrahamson, Justice Ann Walsh Bradley, Justice Annette Ziegler, Justice Rebecca Bradley, Justice Dan Kelly and Justice Rebecca Dallet of the Wisconsin Supreme Court; and the Wisconsin State Sentate.
State of the Tribes Address
Speaker Vos introduced Tehassi Tasi Hill, Chairman of the Oneida Nation, who addressed the members from the rostrum.
The Color Guard retired the colors.
Special Guests
Representative Kurtz introduced members of the Wisconsin National Guard, including Ryan Ashton, Daniel Barker, Taylor Bauch, Cody Biedrzycki, Shannon Bohlman, Michael Budiash, Scott Bush, Brett Cargill, Kyle Davis, Cody Groskreutz, Cole Hamilton, James Hedman, H Howey, Lukas Jordan, Alexander Kilbane, Karen Knock, Cameron Lewis, Adam Malecki, Douglas Martin, Nathan Muehl, David Niesen, Beckett Nunezmiller, Christopher Phillips, Karl Schultz, Lucas Sivertson, James Slagle, Nathaniel Snyder, Anthony Steinhoff, Christopher Szopinski, Kevin Vender, Jordan Westphal, Hunter Wiest, Crystal Zacharias, Kyle Zahn, Trevor Zerbe and Micah Zirbel, recipients of the Hometown Hero Award. Representative Kurtz addressed the members from the rostrum.
Speaker Vos asked unanimous consent that the Assembly stand recessed. Granted.
The Assembly stood recessed.
2:25 P.M.
2:49 P.M.
The Assembly reconvened.
Speaker Vos in the chair.
Representative August asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
Amendments Offered
hist99303Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 52 offered by Representative Loudenbeck.
hist99512Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 94 offered by Representative Brooks.
hist99318Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 143 offered by Representative Sanfelippo.
Administrative Rules
Relating to dental licensure and the practice of dental hygiene.
Submitted by Dentistry Examining Board.
hist98828Report received from Agency, March 26, 2019.
hist99516To committee on Health.
Referred on April 9, 2019.
Relating to delegation of functions to unlicensed persons.
Submitted by Dentistry Examining Board.
hist98827Report received from Agency, March 26, 2019.
hist99517To committee on Health.
Referred on April 9, 2019.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
hist98785Assembly Bill 154
Relating to: regulating the sale of prescription drugs and other merchandise below cost.
By Representatives Ott, Neylon, Brandtjen, Duchow, Kuglitsch, Brooks, Hutton, Ramthun and Gundrum; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Carpenter, Kooyenga, Kapenga, Bernier, Jacque and Darling.
hist99383To committee on State Affairs.
hist98787Assembly Bill 155
Relating to: eliminating minimum markup requirements and the prohibition on sales below cost.
By Representatives Ott, Sortwell, Neylon, Brandtjen, Duchow, Kuglitsch and Hutton; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Craig, Kooyenga, Carpenter, Kapenga, Bernier, Jacque and Darling.
hist99384To committee on Consumer Protection.
hist98788Assembly Bill 156
Relating to: regulating the sale of prescription drugs below cost.
By Representatives Ott, Skowronski, Kolste, C. Taylor, Sinicki and Sargent; cosponsored by Senators Carpenter, Kooyenga, Bernier, Feyen, Risser, Jacque and L. Taylor.
hist99385To committee on Medicaid Reform and Oversight.
April 9, 2019
Patrick E. Fuller
Assembly Chief Clerk
17 West Main Street, Suite 401
Madison, WI 53703
Dear Chief Clerk Fuller:
hist99325Please add my name as a co-author of Assembly Bill 21, relating to testing of private wells, compensation for well contamination and abandonment, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.
State Representative
70th Assembly District
Calendar of Tuesday, April 9
Assembly Joint Resolution 21
Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point men's hockey team for winning the 2019 NCAA Division III National Championship title.
Special Guests
Representative Shankland introduced the University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point men’s hockey team, including Connor Ryckman, Stephan Beauvais, Tristan Conrad, Danny Kiraly, Steven Quagliata, Brandon McReynolds, Kelly O'Brien, Austin Kelly, Ethan Strong, B.J. Duffin, Chris Allemon, Zach Zech, Baxter Kanter, Wilson Northey, Ryan Mackellar, Logan Fredericks, Colin Raver, Brennen Miller, Luke McElhenie, Carter Roo, Drew McLean, Jordan Fader, Ryan Wagner, and Eli Billing; Head Coach Tyler Krueger, Interim Assistant Coach Evan Dixon, Assistant Coach Zach Badalamenti, and Equipment Manager Todd Bialas. Co-captain Stephan Beauvais addressed the members from the rostrum.
The question was: Shall Assembly Joint Resolution 21 be adopted?
Motion carried.
hist99387Representative Steineke asked unanimous consent that the rules be suspended and that Assembly Joint Resolution 21 be immediately messaged to the Senate. Granted.
Message from the Senate
From: Jeffrey Renk, Senate Chief Clerk.
Mr. Speaker:
I am directed to inform you that the Senate has
Adopted and asks concurrence in:
hist99396Senate Joint Resolution 16