Senate Journal
One-Hundred and Fourth Regular Session
7:35 A.M.   THURSDAY, February 20, 2020
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by Senate President Roth.
Call of Roll
The roll was called, disclosing the presence of a quorum.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 15, the official attendance for session was:
Senators Bernier, Bewley, Carpenter, Cowles, Craig, Darling, Erpenbach, Feyen, Fitzgerald, Hansen, Jacque, Johnson, Kapenga, Kooyenga, Larson, LeMahieu, Marklein, Miller, Nass, Olsen, Petrowski, Ringhand, Risser, Roth, Schachtner, Shilling, Smith, Stroebel, L. Taylor, Testin, Tiffany, Wanggaard and Wirch - 33.
Absent with leave - None.
The Senate stood for the prayer which was offered by Senator Kooyenga.
The Senate remained standing and Senator Stroebel led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (6), the Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.
Chief Clerk's Entries
Amendments Offered
hist119797Senate Amendment 3 to Senate Substitute Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 599 offered by Senator Bernier.
hist119618Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 719 offered by Senator Tiffany.
hist119555Senate Amendment 5 to Senate Bill 734 offered by Senator Jacque.
hist119956Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 756 offered by Senator Petrowski.
hist119795Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 867 offered by Senator Tiffany.
Introduction, First Reading, and Reference of Proposals
Read and referred:
hist117306Senate Joint Resolution 101
Relating to: honoring the life and public service of Representative Warren A. Grady.
By Senators Stroebel and Marklein; cosponsored by Representatives Brooks, Allen, Pronschinske, Sargent, Sinicki, Spreitzer and Tusler.
hist119655To the committee on Senate Organization.
hist117307Senate Joint Resolution 102
Relating to: proclaiming May 2020 as Paper and Forestry Products Month in Wisconsin.
By Senators Tiffany, Bewley, Cowles, Jacque, LeMahieu, Olsen, Roth, L. Taylor and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives Felzkowski, Edming, Kulp, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Nygren, Quinn, Shankland, Skowronski, Spiros, Stuck, Subeck, Swearingen, Tusler and VanderMeer.
hist119656To the committee on Senate Organization.
Read first time and referred:
hist116432Senate Bill 824
Relating to: school safety plans.
By Senators Cowles, Carpenter and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Kerkman, Dittrich, Sargent, Milroy, Macco and Edming.
hist119626To the committee on Education.
hist116433Senate Bill 825
Relating to: an income and franchise tax credit for investments in a community development financial institution.
By Senator Smith; cosponsored by Representatives Shankland, VanderMeer, Allen, Fields, Kolste, L. Myers, Ohnstad, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Subeck, Vruwink and Zamarripa.
hist119627To the committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions.
hist116434Senate Bill 826
Relating to: allowing certain child care providers to participate in the teacher loan program and making an appropriation.
By Senators Johnson, Carpenter, Larson, Erpenbach and Smith; cosponsored by Representatives Billings, Hebl, Stubbs, Emerson, Crowley, Kolste, Subeck, Considine, Sargent, Pope, Ohnstad, Sinicki, Brostoff and Vruwink.
hist119628To the committee on Universities, Technical Colleges, Children and Families.
hist116435Senate Bill 827
Relating to: bail jumping and providing a penalty.
By Senators Johnson, L. Taylor and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Crowley, Sortwell, Bowen, Anderson, Sinicki, Zamarripa and Vining.
hist119629To the committee on Insurance, Financial Services, Government Oversight and Courts.
hist116436Senate Bill 828
Relating to: establishing a legal holiday known as Democracy Day and closing state offices on that day.
By Senators Johnson, Smith and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Crowley, Zamarripa, Anderson, Bowen, Brostoff, Cabrera, Emerson, Haywood, Neubauer, Riemer, Stubbs, C. Taylor and L. Myers.
hist119630To the committee on Government Operations, Technology and Consumer Protection.
hist116437Senate Bill 829
Relating to: placement of inmates in solitary confinement.
By Senators Johnson, L. Taylor and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Crowley, Bowen, Anderson, Billings, Brostoff, Cabrera, Considine, L. Myers, Neubauer, Sinicki, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Subeck, C. Taylor and Zamarripa.
hist119631To the committee on Judiciary and Public Safety.
hist116438Senate Bill 830