Current law prohibits a person from manufacturing, distributing, or delivering
marijuana; possessing marijuana with the intent to manufacture, distribute, or
deliver it; possessing or attempting to possess marijuana; using drug paraphernalia;
or possessing drug paraphernalia with the intent to produce, distribute, or use a

controlled substance. This bill changes state law so that state law permits both
recreational use of marijuana and medical use of marijuana.
recreational use of marijuana
With respect to recreational use of marijuana, the bill changes state law to
permit a Wisconsin resident who is at least 21 years of age to possess no more than
two ounces of marijuana and to permit a nonresident of Wisconsin who is at least 21
years of age to possess no more than one-quarter ounce of marijuana. Generally,
under the bill, a person who possesses more than the maximum amount he or she is
allowed to possess, but not more than 28 grams of marijuana, is subject to a civil
forfeiture not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 90 days or both. A
person who possesses more than 28 grams of marijuana is guilty of a Class B
misdemeanor, except that, if the person takes action to hide the amount of marijuana
he or she has and the person has in place a security system to alert him or her to the
presence of law enforcement, a method of intimidation, or a trap that could injure or
kill a person approaching the area containing the marijuana, the person is guilty of
a Class I felony. The bill also eliminates the prohibition on possessing or using drug
paraphernalia that relates to marijuana consumption.
The bill creates a process by which a person may obtain a permit to produce,
process, or sell marijuana for recreational use and pay an excise tax for the privilege
of doing business in this state. The bill requires a person to obtain separate permits
from the Department of Revenue to produce, process, distribute, or sell marijuana,
and requires marijuana producers and processors to obtain additional permits from
the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. The requirements
for obtaining these permits differ based on whether the permit is issued by DOR or
DATCP but, in general, a person may not obtain such a permit if he or she is not a
state resident, is under the age of 21, or has been convicted of certain crimes; in
addition, a person may not operate under a DOR permit within 500 feet of a school,
playground, recreation facility, child care facility, public park, public transit facility,
or library and may not operate as a marijuana producer under a DATCP permit
within 500 feet of a school. A person who holds a permit from DOR must also comply
with certain operational requirements.
Under the bill, a permit applicant with 20 or more employees may not receive
a permit from DATCP or DOR unless the the applicant certifies that the applicant
has entered into a labor peace agreement with a labor organization. The labor peace
agreement prohibits the labor organization and its members from engaging in any
economic interference with persons doing business in this state, prohibits the
applicant from disrupting the efforts of the labor organization to communicate with
and to organize and represent the applicant's employees, and provides the labor
organization access to areas in which the employees work to discuss employment
rights and the terms and conditions of employment. Current law prohibits the state
and any local unit of government from requiring a labor peace agreement as a
condition for any regulatory approval. The permit requirements under the bill are
not subject to that prohibition.
The bill also requires DATCP and DOR to use a competitive scoring system to
determine which applicants are eligible to receive permits. Each department must

issue permits to the highest scoring applicants that it determines will best protect
the environment; provide stable, family-supporting jobs to local residents; ensure
worker and consumer safety; operate secure facilities; and uphold the laws of the
jurisdictions in which they operate. Each department may deny a permit to an
applicant with a low score.
Under the bill, a person who does not have a permit from DOR to sell marijuana
may not sell, distribute, or transfer marijuana, or possess marijuana with the intent
to sell or distribute it. A person who violates the prohibition is guilty of a Class I
felony except that the felony classification increases to a Class H felony if the person
sells, distributes, or transfers the marijuana to a person who is under the age of 21
(minor) and the person is at least three years older than the minor. The bill prohibits
a DOR permittee from selling, distributing, or transferring marijuana to a minor and
from allowing a minor to be on premises for which a permit is issued. If a permittee
violates one of those prohibitions, the permittee may be subject to a civil forfeiture
of not more than $500 and the permit may be suspended for up to 30 days. Under
the bill, a minor who does any of the following is subject to a forfeiture of not less than
$250 nor more than $500: procures or attempts to procure marijuana from a
permittee; falsely represents his or her age to receive marijuana from a permittee;
knowingly possesses marijuana for recreational use; or knowingly enters any
premises for which a permit has been issued without being accompanied by his or her
parent, guardian, or spouse who is at least 21 years of age.
In addition, under the bill, a person who is cultivating marijuana plants
without a permit who possesses more than six marijuana plants that have reached
the flowering stage but not more than 12 at one time is subject to a civil forfeiture
not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 90 days or both. If the person
possesses more than 12 plants that have reached the flowering stage at one time, the
person is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor, except that, if the person takes action to
hide the number of plants he or she has and the person has in place a security system
to alert him or her to the presence of law enforcement, a method of intimidation, or
a trap that could injure or kill a person approaching the area containing the plants,
the person is guilty of a Class I felony.
medical use of marijuana
With respect to the medical use of marijuana, the bill changes state law to
permit a person to use marijuana for medical use to alleviate the symptoms or effects
of a debilitating medical condition or treatment. A person's primary caregiver also
may acquire, possess, cultivate, or transport marijuana for a person suffering from
a debilitating medical condition or treatment if it is not practicable for the person to
acquire, possess, cultivate, or transport marijuana independently or the person is
under the age of 18.
The bill requires the Department of Health Services to establish a registry for
persons who use marijuana for medical use. Under the bill, a person may apply for
a registry identification card by submitting to DHS a signed application, a written
certification by the person's physician that the person has or is undergoing a
debilitating medical condition or treatment and that the potential benefits of the
person's use of tetrahydrocannabinols would likely outweigh the health risks for the

person, and a registration fee of not more than $150. DHS must verify the
information and issue the person a registry identification card. A registry
identification card is generally valid for four years and may be renewed. DHS may
not disclose that it has issued to a person a registry identification card, or
information from an application for one, except to a law enforcement agency for the
purpose of verifying that a person possesses a valid registry identification card. The
bill also requires DHS to promulgate a rule listing other jurisdictions that allow the
medical use of marijuana by a visiting person or allow a person to assist with a
person's medical use of marijuana. The bill treats documents issued by these entities
the same as registry identification cards issued by DHS.
The bill also requires DHS to license and regulate compassion centers to
distribute or deliver marijuana or drug paraphernalia or possess or manufacture
marijuana or drug paraphernalia with the intent to deliver or distribute to facilitate
the medical use of marijuana. The bill prohibits compassion centers from being
located within 500 feet of a school, prohibits a compassion center from distributing
to a person more than six live marijuana plants and three ounces of usable marijuana
(maximum medicinal amount), and prohibits a compassion center from possessing
a quantity that exceeds, by an amount determined by DHS, the total maximum
medicinal amount of marijuana of all of the persons it serves. An applicant for a
license must pay an initial application fee of $250, and a compassion center must pay
an annual fee of $5,000. The bill also requires DHS to register entities as
tetrahydrocannabinols-testing laboratories. The laboratories must test marijuana
for contaminants; research findings on the use of medical marijuana; and provide
training on safe and efficient cultivation, harvesting, packaging, labeling, and
distribution of marijuana, security and inventory accountability, and research on
medical marijuana.
The bill requires health insurance policies, known in the bill as disability
insurance policies, and self-insured health plans of the state or of a county, city, town,
village, or school district that provides coverage of prescription drugs and devices to
provide coverage for the medical use of THC in accordance with requirements
specified in the bill and any equipment or supplies necessary for the medical use of
THC. The coverage of the medical use of THC may be subject under the policy or plan
only to the exclusions, limitations, and cost-sharing provisions that apply generally
to the coverage of prescription drugs or devices under the policy or plan.
general regulation of marijuana
Under current law, a person may not operate a vehicle with a detectable amount
of a restricted controlled substance, which includes delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol
(THC), in his or her blood, regardless of impairment. Penalties for violating this
provision increase with the number of violations. Under the bill, a person may not
operate a vehicle with a THC concentration of 5.0 ng/mL or more, instead of a
detectable amount, in his or her blood. The bill does not change the penalty
structure.
Under the fair employment law, no employer or other person may engage in any
act of employment discrimination against any individual on the basis of the
individual's use or nonuse of lawful products off the employer's premises during

nonworking hours, subject to certain exceptions, one of which is if the use impairs
the individual's ability to undertake adequately the job-related responsibilities of
that individual's employment. The bill specifically defines marijuana as a lawful
product for purposes of the fair employment law, such that no person may engage in
any act of employment discrimination against an individual because of the
individual's use of marijuana off the employer's premises during nonworking hours,
subject to those exceptions.
Under current law, an individual may be disqualified from receiving
unemployment insurance benefits if he or she is terminated because of misconduct
or substantial fault. The bill specifically provides that an employee's use of
marijuana off the employer's premises during nonworking hours does not constitute
misconduct or substantial fault unless termination for that use is permitted under
one of the exceptions under the fair employment law. Also under current law, the
Department of Workforce Development must establish a program to test claimants
who apply for UI benefits for the presence of controlled substances, as defined under
federal law. If a claimant tests positive for a controlled substance, the claimant may
be denied UI benefits, subject to certain exceptions and limitations. The bill excludes
THC for purposes of this testing requirement. As such, under the bill, an individual
who tests positive for THC may not be denied UI benefits.
The bill exempts THC, including marijuana, from drug testing for certain
public assistance programs. Currently, a participant in a community service job or
transitional placement under the Wisconsin Works program (W2) or a recipient of
the FoodShare program, also known as the food stamp program, who is convicted of
possession, use, or distribution of a controlled substance must submit to a test for
controlled substances as a condition of continued eligibility. DHS is currently
required to request a waiver of federal Medicaid law to require drug screening and
testing as a condition of eligibility for the childless adult demonstration project in the
Medical Assistance program. Current law also requires DHS to promulgate rules to
develop and implement a drug screening, testing, and treatment policy for
able-bodied adults without dependents in the FoodShare employment and training
program. The bill exempts THC from all of those drug-testing requirements and
programs. In addition, because THC is not a controlled substance under state law
under the bill, the requirement under current law that the Department of Children
and Families promulgate rules to create a controlled substance abuse screening and
testing requirement for applicants for the work experience program for noncustodial
parents under W2 and the Transform Milwaukee Jobs and Transitional Jobs
programs does not include THC.
Unless federal law requires otherwise, the bill prohibits a hospital, physician,
organ procurement organization, or other person from determining the ultimate
recipient of an anatomical gift on the sole basis of a positive test for the use of
marijuana by a potential recipient.
The bill changes state law regarding marijuana. It does not affect federal law,
which generally prohibits persons from manufacturing, delivering, or possessing
marijuana and applies to both intrastate and interstate violations.

This proposal may contain a health insurance mandate requiring a social and
financial impact report under s. 601.423, stats.
Because this bill creates a new crime or revises a penalty for an existing crime,
the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties may be requested to prepare a
report.
For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
AB220,1 1Section 1. 20.005 (3) (schedule) of the statutes: at the appropriate place, insert
2the following amounts for the purposes indicated: - See PDF for table PDF - See PDF for table PDF
AB220,2 3Section 2. 20.115 (7) (ge) of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,8,74 20.115 (7) (ge) Marijuana producers and processors; official logotype. All
5moneys received under s. 94.56 for regulation of activities relating to marijuana
6under s. 94.56, for conducting public awareness campaigns under s. 94.56, and for
7the creation of a logotype under s. 100.145.
AB220,3 8Section 3. 20.435 (1) (gq) of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,9,29 20.435 (1) (gq) Medical marijuana registry program; physician education and
10public awareness campaign; official logotype.
All moneys received under s. 146.44
11for costs relating to the administration of the medical marijuana registry program
12under s. 146.44, for educating physicians about the availability of medical marijuana

1and conducting public awareness campaigns under s. 146.44, and for the creation of
2a logotype under s. 146.46.
AB220,4 3Section 4. 20.435 (1) (jm) of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,9,64 20.435 (1) (jm) Licensing and support services for compassion centers. All
5moneys received under s. 50.84 to regulate and license compassion centers under
6subch. VI of ch. 50.
AB220,5 7Section 5. 20.435 (6) (jm) of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,9,248 20.435 (6) (jm) Licensing and support services. The amounts in the schedule
9for the purposes specified in ss. 48.685 (2) (am) and (b), (3) (a) and (b), and (5) (a),
1048.686 (2) (am), (3) (am) and (bm), and (5) (a), 49.45 (47), 50.02 (2), 50.025, 50.065
11(2) (am) and (b) 1., (3) (a) and (b), and (5), 50.13, 50.135, 50.36 (2), 50.49 (2) (b), 50.495,
1250.52 (2) (a), 50.57, 50.981, and 146.40 (4r) (b) and (er), and subch. VI VII of ch. 50
13and to conduct health facilities plan and rule development activities, for accrediting
14nursing homes, convalescent homes, and homes for the aged, to conduct capital
15construction and remodeling plan reviews under ss. 50.02 (2) (b) and 50.36 (2), and
16for the costs of inspecting, licensing or certifying, and approving facilities, issuing
17permits, and providing technical assistance, that are not specified under any other
18paragraph in this subsection. All moneys received under ss. 48.685 (8), 48.686 (2)
19(ag), 49.45 (42) (c), 49.45 (47) (c), 50.02 (2), 50.025, 50.065 (8), 50.13, 50.36 (2), 50.49
20(2) (b), 50.495, 50.52 (2) (a), 50.57, 50.93 (1) (c), and 50.981, all moneys received from
21fees for the costs of inspecting, licensing or certifying, and approving facilities,
22issuing permits, and providing technical assistance, that are not specified under any
23other paragraph in this subsection, and all moneys received under s. 50.135 (2) shall
24be credited to this appropriation account.
AB220,6 25Section 6. 20.566 (1) (bn) of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,10,5
120.566 (1) (bn) Administration and enforcement of marijuana tax and
2regulation.
The amounts in the schedule for the purposes of administering the
3marijuana tax imposed under subch. IV of ch. 139 and for the costs incurred in
4enforcing the taxing and regulation of marijuana producers, marijuana processors,
5and marijuana retailers under subch. IV of ch. 139.
AB220,7 6Section 7. 23.33 (1) (jo) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,10,87 23.33 (1) (jo) 1. A controlled substance included in schedule I under ch. 961
8other than a tetrahydrocannabinol.
AB220,8 9Section 8. 23.33 (1) (jo) 5. of the statutes is repealed.
AB220,9 10Section 9. 23.33 (1) (k) of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,10,1211 23.33 (1) (k) “Tetrahydrocannabinols concentration" means the number of
12nanograms of tetrahydrocannabinols per milliliter of blood.
AB220,10 13Section 10. 23.33 (4c) (a) 2g. of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,10,1714 23.33 (4c) (a) 2g. `Operating with a tetrahydrocannabinols concentration at or
15above specified levels.' No person may engage in the operation of an all-terrain
16vehicle or utility terrain vehicle while the person has a tetrahydrocannabinols
17concentration of 5.0 or more.
AB220,11 18Section 11. 23.33 (4c) (a) 3g. of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,10,2319 23.33 (4c) (a) 3g. `Operating with a tetrahydrocannabinols concentration at
20specified levels; below age 21.' If a person has not attained the age of 21, the person
21may not engage in the operation of an all-terrain vehicle or utility terrain vehicle
22while he or she has a tetrahydrocannabinols concentration of more than 0.0 but less
23than 5.0.
AB220,12 24Section 12. 23.33 (4c) (a) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,11,9
123.33 (4c) (a) 4. `Related charges.' A person may be charged with and a
2prosecutor may proceed upon a complaint based upon a violation of any combination
3of subd. 1., 2., 2g., or 2m. for acts arising out of the same incident or occurrence. If
4the person is charged with violating any combination of subd. 1., 2., 2g., or 2m., the
5offenses shall be joined. If the person is found guilty of any combination of subd. 1.,
62., 2g., or 2m. for acts arising out of the same incident or occurrence, there shall be
7a single conviction for purposes of sentencing and for purposes of counting
8convictions under sub. (13) (b) 2. and 3. Subdivisions 1., 2., 2g., and 2m. each require
9proof of a fact for conviction which the others do not require.
AB220,13 10Section 13. 23.33 (4c) (a) 5. of the statutes is renumbered 23.33 (4c) (a) 5. a.
11and amended to read:
AB220,11,1812 23.33 (4c) (a) 5. a. In an action under subd. 2m. that is based on the defendant
13allegedly having a detectable amount of methamphetamine, or
14gamma-hydroxybutyric acid, or delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol in his or her blood,
15the defendant has a defense if he or she proves by a preponderance of the evidence
16that at the time of the incident or occurrence he or she had a valid prescription for
17methamphetamine or one of its metabolic precursors, or gamma-hydroxybutyric
18acid, or delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol.
AB220,14 19Section 14. 23.33 (4c) (a) 5. b. of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,11,2420 23.33 (4c) (a) 5. b. In an action under subd. 2g. or 3g. that is based on the
21defendant allegedly having a prohibited tetrahydrocannabinols concentration, the
22defendant has a defense if he or she proves by a preponderance of the evidence that
23at the time of the incident or occurrence he or she had a valid prescription for
24tetrahydrocannabinol or he or she was a qualifying patient, as defined in s. 50.80 (6).
AB220,15 25Section 15. 23.33 (4c) (b) 2n. of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,12,4
123.33 (4c) (b) 2n. `Causing injury while operating with tetrahydrocannabinols
2concentration at or above specified levels.' No person who has a
3tetrahydrocannabinols concentration of 5.0 or more may cause injury to another
4person by the operation of an all-terrain vehicle or utility terrain vehicle.
AB220,16 5Section 16. 23.33 (4c) (b) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,12,156 23.33 (4c) (b) 3. `Related charges.' A person may be charged with and a
7prosecutor may proceed upon a complaint based upon a violation of any combination
8of subd. 1., 2., or 2m., or 2n. for acts arising out of the same incident or occurrence.
9If the person is charged with violating any combination of subd. 1., 2., or 2m., or 2n.
10in the complaint, the crimes shall be joined under s. 971.12. If the person is found
11guilty of any combination of subd. 1., 2., or 2m., or 2n. for acts arising out of the same
12incident or occurrence, there shall be a single conviction for purposes of sentencing
13and for purposes of counting convictions under sub. (13) (b) 2. and 3. Subdivisions
141., 2., and 2m., and 2n. each require proof of a fact for conviction which the others do
15not require.
AB220,17 16Section 17. 23.33 (4c) (b) 4. a. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,12,2317 23.33 (4c) (b) 4. a. In an action under this paragraph, the defendant has a
18defense if he or she proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the injury would
19have occurred even if he or she had been exercising due care and he or she had not
20been under the influence of an intoxicant, did not have an alcohol concentration of
210.08 or more, or did not have a detectable amount of a restricted controlled substance
22in his or her blood, or did not have a tetrahydrocannabinols concentration of 5.0 or
23more
.
AB220,18 24Section 18. 23.33 (4c) (b) 4. b. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,13,7
123.33 (4c) (b) 4. b. In an action under subd. 2m. that is based on the defendant
2allegedly having a detectable amount of methamphetamine, or
3gamma-hydroxybutyric acid, or delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol in his or her blood,
4the defendant has a defense if he or she proves by a preponderance of the evidence
5that at the time of the incident or occurrence he or she had a valid prescription for
6methamphetamine or one of its metabolic precursors, or gamma-hydroxybutyric
7acid, or delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol.
AB220,19 8Section 19. 23.33 (4c) (b) 4. c. of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,13,139 23.33 (4c) (b) 4. c. In an action under subd. 2n. that is based on the defendant
10allegedly having a prohibited tetrahydrocannabinols concentration, the defendant
11has a defense if he or she proves by a preponderance of the evidence that at the time
12of the incident or occurrence he or she had a valid prescription for
13tetrahydrocannabinol or he or she was a qualifying patient, as defined in s. 50.80 (6).
AB220,20 14Section 20. 23.33 (4p) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,13,2515 23.33 (4p) (d) Admissibility; effect of test results; other evidence. The results
16of a chemical test required or administered under par. (a), (b) or (c) are admissible
17in any civil or criminal action or proceeding arising out of the acts committed by a
18person alleged to have violated the intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle or
19utility terrain vehicle law on the issue of whether the person was under the influence
20of an intoxicant or the issue of whether the person had alcohol concentrations or
21tetrahydrocannabinols concentrations
at or above specified levels or a detectable
22amount of a restricted controlled substance in his or her blood. Results of these
23chemical tests shall be given the effect required under s. 885.235. This subsection
24does not limit the right of a law enforcement officer to obtain evidence by any other
25lawful means.
AB220,21
1Section 21. 23.33 (13) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,14,42 23.33 (13) (b) 1. Except as provided under subds. 2. and 3., a person who
3violates sub. (4c) (a) 1., 2., 2g., or 2m. or (4p) (e) shall forfeit not less than $150 nor
4more than $300.
AB220,22 5Section 22. 23.33 (13) (b) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,14,116 23.33 (13) (b) 2. Except as provided under subd. 3., a person who violates sub.
7(4c) (a) 1., 2., 2g., or 2m. or (4p) (e) and who, within 5 years prior to the arrest for the
8current violation, was convicted previously under the intoxicated operation of an
9all-terrain vehicle or utility terrain vehicle law or the refusal law shall be fined not
10less than $300 nor more than $1,100 and shall be imprisoned not less than 5 days
11nor more than 6 months.
AB220,23 12Section 23. 23.33 (13) (b) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,14,1813 23.33 (13) (b) 3. A person who violates sub. (4c) (a) 1., 2., 2g., or 2m. or (4p) (e)
14and who, within 5 years prior to the arrest for the current violation, was convicted
152 or more times previously under the intoxicated operation of an all-terrain vehicle
16or utility terrain vehicle law or refusal law shall be fined not less than $600 nor more
17than $2,000 and shall be imprisoned not less than 30 days nor more than one year
18in the county jail.
AB220,24 19Section 24. 23.33 (13) (b) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,14,2120 23.33 (13) (b) 4. A person who violates sub. (4c) (a) 3. or 3g. or (4p) (e) and who
21has not attained the age of 21 shall forfeit not more than $50.
AB220,25 22Section 25. 23.33 (13) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,15,723 23.33 (13) (e) Alcohol, controlled substances or controlled substance analogs,
24tetrahydrocannabinols
; assessment. In addition to any other penalty or order, a
25person who violates sub. (4c) (a) or (b) or (4p) (e) or who violates s. 940.09 or 940.25

1if the violation involves the operation of an all-terrain vehicle or utility terrain
2vehicle, shall be ordered by the court to submit to and comply with an assessment
3by an approved public treatment facility for an examination of the person's use of
4alcohol, controlled substances or controlled substance analogs , or
5tetrahydrocannabinols
. The assessment order shall comply with s. 343.30 (1q) (c) 1.
6a. to c. Intentional failure to comply with an assessment ordered under this
7paragraph constitutes contempt of court, punishable under ch. 785.
AB220,26 8Section 26. 23.335 (1) (zgm) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,15,109 23.335 (1) (zgm) 1. A controlled substance included in schedule I under ch. 961
10other than a tetrahydrocannabinol.
AB220,27 11Section 27. 23.335 (1) (zgm) 5. of the statutes is repealed.
AB220,28 12Section 28. 23.335 (1) (zLg) of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,15,1413 23.335 (1) (zLg) “Tetrahydrocannabinols concentration” has the meaning given
14in s. 340.01 (66m).
AB220,29 15Section 29. 23.335 (12) (a) 2g. of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,15,1816 23.335 (12) (a) 2g. No person may engage in the operation of an off-highway
17motorcycle while the person has a tetrahydrocannabinols concentration of 5.0 or
18more.
AB220,30 19Section 30. 23.335 (12) (a) 3m. of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,15,2220 23.335 (12) (a) 3m. If a person has not attained the age of 21, the person may
21not engage in the operation of an off-highway motorcycle while he or she has a
22tetrahydrocannabinols concentration of more than 0.0 but less than 5.0.
AB220,31 23Section 31. 23.335 (12) (a) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:
AB220,16,724 23.335 (12) (a) 4. A person may be charged with and a prosecutor may proceed
25upon a complaint based upon a violation of any combination of subd. 1., 2., 2g., or 2m.

1for acts arising out of the same incident or occurrence. If the person is charged with
2violating any combination of subd. 1., 2., 2g., or 2m., the offenses shall be joined. If
3the person is found guilty of any combination of subd. 1., 2., 2g., or 2m. for acts arising
4out of the same incident or occurrence, there shall be a single conviction for purposes
5of sentencing and for purposes of counting convictions under sub. (23) (c) 2. and 3.
6Subdivisions 1., 2., 2g., and 2m. each require proof of a fact for conviction which the
7others do not require.
AB220,32 8Section 32. 23.335 (12) (a) 5. of the statutes is renumbered 23.335 (12) (a) 5.
9a. and amended to read:
AB220,16,1610 23.335 (12) (a) 5. a. In an action under subd. 2m. that is based on the defendant
11allegedly having a detectable amount of methamphetamine, or
12gamma-hydroxybutyric acid, or delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol in his or her blood,
13the defendant has a defense if he or she proves by a preponderance of the evidence
14that at the time of the incident or occurrence he or she had a valid prescription for
15methamphetamine or one of its metabolic precursors, or gamma-hydroxybutyric
16acid, or delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol.
AB220,33 17Section 33. 23.335 (12) (a) 5. b. of the statutes is created to read:
AB220,16,2218 23.335 (12) (a) 5. b. In an action under subd. 2g. or 3m. that is based on the
19defendant allegedly having a prohibited tetrahydrocannabinols concentration, the
20defendant has a defense if he or she proves by a preponderance of the evidence that
21at the time of the incident or occurrence he or she had a valid prescription for
22tetrahydrocannabinol or he or she was a qualifying patient, as defined in s. 50.80 (6).
Loading...
Loading...