2019 - 2020 LEGISLATURE
August 12, 2019 - Introduced by Representatives Vruwink and Pope, cosponsored
by Senators Ringhand and Erpenbach. Referred to Committee on Rules.
AJR76,1,2 1Relating to: honoring the Oregon High School girls soccer team on their state
AJR76,1,63 Whereas, the Oregon High School girls soccer team completed an undefeated
4season, winning seventeen games, scoring a new school record of 101 goals, and
5winning the 2019 Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association girls soccer
6Division II championship; and
AJR76,1,87 Whereas, this was the fifth straight showing for the Panthers at the state
8tournament, having been led there in previous years by Coach Julie Grutzner; and
AJR76,1,109 Whereas, Coach Nelson Brownell, during his first year as head coach, led the
10team to the state championship; and
AJR76,1,1211 Whereas, Athletic Director Mike Carr has created a culture of athletic and
12academic excellence; and
AJR76,2,413 Whereas, the Panthers' soccer senior class consisting of Maddy Swartzmiller,
14Katie Eisele, Ella Hughes, Randey Lewis, Macie Cox, Cassie Kluck, Sydney McKee,
15and Jenna Statz, along with teammates Melia Moyer, Ellen Legler, Brooklyn Kane,

1Avary Fanning, Chloe Schwartz, Hanna Rohrer, Kaitlyn Schrimpf, Emma
2Halverson, Lauren Denu, Ashley Hanson, Sage Sauer, Jenna Bennett, Aidan
3Hampton, Bri Sauer, Mara McCombs, Emily Statz, and Payton Lang, have
4demonstrated superior athleticism and sportsmanship; and
AJR76,2,85 Whereas, the team was ranked twenty-fourth best in the nation; Coach Nelson
6Brownell was named Coach of the Year by the Wisconsin State Journal; and team
7members Sydney McKee and Melia Moyer were awarded spots on the All-State
8Soccer Teams; now, therefore, be it
AJR76,2,11 9Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
10Legislature recognizes and honors the Oregon High School girls soccer team for their
11superior commitment to teammates and athletic achievements.
AJR76,2,1212 (End)