2019 - 2020 LEGISLATURE
August 28, 2019 - Introduced by Representatives Sinicki, Zamarripa, Neubauer,
Bowen, Cabrera, Considine, Crowley, Doyle, Emerson, Fields, Gruszynski,
Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Kolste, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy,
Mursau, L. Myers, Ohnstad, Pope, Riemer, Sargent, Shankland, Spreitzer,
Stubbs, Subeck, C. Taylor, Tusler, Vorpagel, Vruwink and Brostoff,
cosponsored by Senators Hansen, Bewley, Carpenter, Darling, Erpenbach,
Johnson, Larson, Miller, Ringhand, Risser, Schachtner, Shilling, Smith,
L. Taylor and Wirch. Referred to Committee on Rules.
AJR80,1,2 1Relating to: congratulating the United States Women's National Team on their
2FIFA Women's World Cup win.
AJR80,1,53 Whereas, on July 7, 2019, the United States Women's National Team (USWNT)
4won the FIFA Women's World Cup in Lyon, France, with a final of score of 2-0 against
5the Netherlands; and
AJR80,1,86 Whereas, University of Wisconsin Badgers alum and midfielder, Rose Lavelle,
7scored the game-clinching final goal, after forward Megan Rapinoe scored the first
8with a penalty shot, both in the second half; and
AJR80,1,109 Whereas, coach Jill Ellis led the USWNT to its second consecutive and record
10fourth overall FIFA Women's World Cup title; and
AJR80,1,1211 Whereas, every 2019 USWNT Women's World Cup match in Lyon was sold out
12before the tournament began; and
AJR80,1,1413 Whereas, the USWNT has a level of support unrivaled in women's sports, with
14a following of tens of thousands of fans all over the world; and
1Whereas, Megan Rapinoe was awarded the 2019 “Golden Ball” and Rose
2Lavelle was awarded the 2019 “Bronze Ball,” awards presented to the best player
3and second runner-up to best player, respectively, in each FIFA Women's World Cup
4tournament; and
AJR80,2,85 Whereas, Megan Rapinoe was awarded the 2019 “Golden Boot” and Alex
6Morgan was awarded the 2019 “Silver Boot,” awards presented to the highest scoring
7player and second highest scoring player, respectively, in each FIFA Women's World
8Cup tournament; and
AJR80,2,129 Whereas, the talent, success, and world dominance of the USWNT are the
10result of the example and inspiration to women and girls to play world-class soccer
11set by the “'99ers” (the 1999 U.S. Women's World Cup Championship team), in the
12United States; and
AJR80,2,1613 Whereas, the 1999 and 2019 teams are important examples and beneficiaries
14of the impact of federal Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the
15incremental closing of the gender gap, and the rise of professional women athletes
16in the United States; and
AJR80,2,1917 Whereas, the USWNT's fight for pay equality is the latest important step in
18U.S. women athletes' ongoing, slow, yet relentless fight towards gender equality;
19now, therefore, be it
AJR80,2,24 20Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
21Legislature hereby commends and congratulates the players, coaches, and other
22staff members of the United States Women's National Team on their 2019 Women's
23World Cup win and wishes them well in their efforts for equal pay and gender
AJR80,2,2525 (End)