Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Consumer Protection

Assembly Bill 335

Relating to: prohibited practices of motor vehicle manufacturers, importers, and distributors and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Ballweg, Fields, Bowen, Brandtjen, Considine, Crowley, Gundrum, Knodl, Kolste, Kuglitsch, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Ramthun, Rohrkaste, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vruwink and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Ringhand, Cowles, Darling, Erpenbach, Feyen, Hansen, Miller, Nass, Olsen, L. Taylor, Testin and Wanggaard.

July 16, 2019               Referred to Committee on Consumer Protection

October 24, 2019        Public Hearing Held

Present:       (8)        Representative Pronschinske; Representatives Tittl, Skowronski, Edming, VanderMeer, Oldenburg, Sinicki and Cabrera.

Absent:       (0)        None.

Excused:     (1)        Representative Pope.

Appearances For

·      Joan Ballweg - State Representative

·      Thor Gilbertson - Holiday Automotive

·      Lavon  Ferton - Sleepy Hollow Auto

·      Bill Sepic - WI Automobile & Truck Dealers Assc.

·      Wayne Gross - Gross Auto Group

·      Mike Darrow - Russ Darrow Group

Appearances Against

·      Brian  O'Connell - General Motors

·      Jeff Perry - General Motors

·      Mary Jo Wheeler - Wheeler Automotive

·      Mark Oberkircher - General Motors

·      Mark Oberkircher - General Motors

·      Andy  Engel - Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers

Appearances for Information Only

·      None.

Registrations For

·      Howard Marklein - WI State Senator

Registrations Against

·      Megan  Novak - Americans for Prosperity

·      Cory Fish - WMC

Registrations for Information Only

·      None.

March 26, 2020           Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1


Allison Hetz

Committee Clerk