Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 283

Relating to: requiring a local referendum to impose a wheel tax.

By Representatives Sanfelippo, Brandtjen, Hutton, Jagler, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Neylon, Ott, Quinn, Ramthun, Sortwell, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tusler and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Craig, Jacque, Kapenga, Nass, Stroebel and Bernier.

June 07, 2019              Referred to Committee on Transportation

June 11, 2019              Public Hearing Held

Present:       (12)      Representative Kulp; Representatives Spiros, Thiesfeldt, Allen, Sanfelippo, Murphy, Skowronski, Plumer, Kolste, Crowley, B. Meyers and Neubauer.

Absent:       (0)        None.

Excused:     (2)        Representatives Vorpagel and Considine.

Appearances For

·      State Representative Joe Sanfelippo - 15th Assembly District

·      Professional Engineer Glen Schwalbach

Appearances Against

·      Jim Bohl - City of Milwaukee

·      Maggie Darr - City of Janesville

·      Curt Witynski - League of WI Municipalities

Appearances for Information Only

·      None.

Registrations For

·      State Senator Steve Nass - 11th Senate District

·      State Senator Dave Craig - 28th Senate District

Registrations Against

·      Bob Wipperfurth - Village of Windor & Dane County Cities & Villages Assoc.

·      Dan Bahr - WI Counties Assoc.

Registrations for Information Only

·      None.

March 26, 2020           Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1


Laura Riske

Committee Clerk