Date of enactment: April 8, 2022
2021 Assembly Bill 975   Date of publication*: April 9, 2022
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes: Effective date of acts. “Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication."
An Act to renumber and amend 118.19 (7m); and to create 118.19 (7m) (b) of the statutes; relating to: substitute teacher permits issued by the Department of Public Instruction.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
236,1 Section 1. 118.19 (7m) of the statutes is renumbered 118.19 (7m) (intro.) and amended to read:
118.19 (7m) (intro.) The state superintendent shall grant a substitute teacher permit to an individual who is eligible for licensure under subs. (4) and (10), and who satisfies any of the following:
(a) The individual has an associate degree, and has successfully completed substitute teacher training.
236,2 Section 2. 118.19 (7m) (b) of the statutes is created to read:
118.19 (7m) (b) 1. All of the following apply to the individual:
a. The individual is at least 20 years of age.
b. The individual is enrolled in a teacher preparatory program approved by the state superintendent under s. 115.28 (7) (a).
c. If the teacher preparatory program in which the individual is enrolled awards a bachelor's degree, the individual has successfully completed the minimum number of course credits required for the individual to have achieved junior level status.
d. The individual has completed at least 15 hours of classroom observation.
2. If the individual is eligible for a substitute teacher permit under subd. 1., the state superintendent may not require the individual to complete substitute teacher training as a condition for receiving the permit.