By Representatives Sortwell, James, Allen, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kurtz, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Ortiz-Velez, Petryk, Pronschinske, Ramthun, Rozar, Schraa, Skowronski, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel and Macco; cosponsored by Senators Stafsholt, Stroebel, Cowles, Feyen, Jacque, Marklein and Roth.
hist130127To committee on Corrections.
hist128729Assembly Bill 188
Relating to: the commencement of fall classes in public schools.
By Representatives Knodl, Andraca, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Hintz, L. Myers, Neylon, Oldenburg, Pope, Rozar, Skowronski, Tittl, Vining and Allen; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Kooyenga, Nass, Pfaff and Bernier.
hist130128To committee on Education.
hist128731Assembly Bill 189
Relating to: expanding applicability of the room tax, making substantive and technical changes to the local room tax, and providing a penalty.
By Representatives Kitchens, Billings, Krug, Dallman, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Mursau, L. Myers, Novak, J. Rodriguez, Rozar, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Jacque and Ringhand.
hist130129To committee on Local Government.
hist128732Assembly Bill 190
Relating to: the responsibilities of the Law Enforcement Standards Board and disclosure of employment files when recruiting former or current officers.
By Representatives Tusler, Cabral-Guevara, Subeck, Sortwell, Bowen, Moses, Rozar, Loudenbeck, Snyder, Plumer, Mursau, Gundrum and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Testin, L. Taylor, Ballweg, Bernier, Cowles, Darling, Feyen, Jacque, Marklein, Nass and Wanggaard.
hist130130To committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety.
hist128733Assembly Bill 191
Relating to: eliminating the personal property tax and making an appropriation.
By Representatives Knodl, Armstrong, Allen, Brandtjen, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, James, Krug, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Neylon, Novak, Oldenburg, Pronschinske, Ramthun, Rozar, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Skowronski, Sortwell, Summerfield, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, VanderMeer, Wichgers and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Marklein, Nass, Wanggaard and Feyen.
hist130131To committee on Ways and Means.
hist128666Assembly Bill 192
Relating to: the secure delivery of absentee ballots and providing a penalty.
By Representatives August, Brooks, Gundrum, Magnafici, Edming, Spiros, Krug, Neylon, Loudenbeck, Kuglitsch, Murphy, Jagler, VanderMeer, Wichgers and Knodl; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Darling, Roth, Bradley, Nass, Wanggaard, Ballweg, Marklein and Felzkowski.
hist130132To committee on Campaigns and Elections.
hist128751Assembly Bill 193
Relating to: grants to prevent suicide by firearm and making an appropriation.
By Representatives James, Cabral-Guevara, Anderson, Doyle, Andraca, Armstrong, Bowen, Brooks, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Petryk, Plumer, Schraa, Shankland, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer, Subeck, Zimmerman and Wittke; cosponsored by Senators Bernier, L. Taylor, Agard and Ballweg.
hist130133To committee on Mental Health.
hist128752Assembly Bill 194
Relating to: actions for violations of elections laws.
By Representatives Brooks, Knodl, Loudenbeck, Murphy, Skowronski, VanderMeer and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Darling and Felzkowski.
hist130134To committee on Judiciary.
Message from the Senate
From: Michael Queensland, Senate Chief Clerk.
Mr. Speaker:
I am directed to inform you that the Senate has
Passed and asks concurrence in:
hist130344Senate Bill 46
hist130345Senate Bill 52
hist130346Senate Bill 53
hist130343Senate Bill 56
hist130347Senate Bill 64
hist130348Senate Bill 66
hist130349Senate Bill 85
hist130350Senate Bill 95
hist130351Senate Bill 102
hist130352Senate Bill 113
hist130353Senate Bill 151
Concurred in:
hist130338Assembly Bill 27
hist130340Assembly Bill 32
hist130339Assembly Bill 125
hist130342Assembly Joint Resolution 15
hist130341Assembly Joint Resolution 18
Enrolled Bills
The following Assembly proposals, which have been approved by both the Assembly and Senate, have been enrolled by the Legislative Reference Bureau:
hist130109Assembly Bill 63
hist130110Assembly Bill 120
Assembly Chief Clerk
Calendar of Tuesday, March 23
hist130244Representative Steineke asked unanimous consent that Senate Bill 10 be withdrawn from today's calendar and taken up at this time. Granted.
hist130245Senate Bill 10
Relating to: educational qualifications for certified public accountants.
hist130246The question was: Shall Senate Bill 10 be ordered to a third reading?
Motion carried.
Speaker Pro Tempore August in the chair.
hist130247Representative Steineke asked unanimous consent that the rules be suspended and that Senate Bill 10 be given a third reading. Granted.
hist130248The question was: Senate Bill 10 having been read three times, shall the bill be concurred in?
Motion carried.
hist130249Representative Steineke asked unanimous consent that the rules be suspended and that Senate Bill 10 be immediately messaged to the Senate. Granted.
Assembly Bill 15
Relating to: educational qualifications for certified public accountants.
hist130250Representative Steineke asked unanimous consent that Assembly Bill 15 be laid on the table. Granted.
hist130251Assembly Bill 23
Relating to: prohibiting certain government officials from mandating vaccination against the 2019 novel coronavirus.
hist130252The question was: Shall Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 23 be adopted?
Motion carried.
hist130242Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 23 offered by Representatives Riemer, S. Rodriguez, Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Billings, Bowen, Brostoff, Cabrera, Conley, Considine, Doyle, Drake, Emerson, Goyke, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Hong, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy, Moore Omokunde, L. Myers, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Pope, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Subeck, Vining and Vruwink.
Point of Order
hist130253Representative Steineke rose to the point of order that Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 23 was not germane under Assembly Rule 54 (3)(f).
Speaker Pro Tempore August ruled the point of order well taken.
hist130254Representative Spreitzer appealed the decision of the Chair.
hist130257The question was: Shall the ruling of the Chair stand as the ruling of the Assembly?
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Ayes - Representatives Allen, Armstrong, August, Born, Brandtjen, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, Jagler, James, Katsma, Kerkman, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Neylon, Novak, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Ramthun, J. Rodriguez, Rozar, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Steineke, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Wichgers, Wittke, Zimmerman and Speaker Vos - 59.