Senate Journal
One-Hundred and Fifth Regular Session
12:04 P.M.   TUESDAY, March 16, 2021
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by Senate President Kapenga.
Call of Roll
The roll was called, disclosing the presence of a quorum.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 15, the official attendance for session was:
Senators Agard, Ballweg, Bernier, Bewley, Bradley, Carpenter, Cowles, Darling, Erpenbach, Felzkowski, Feyen, Jacque, Johnson, Kapenga, Kooyenga, Larson, LeMahieu, Marklein, Nass, Petrowski, Pfaff, Ringhand, Roth, Roys, Smith, Stafsholt, Stroebel, L. Taylor, Testin, Wanggaard, Wimberger and Wirch - 32.
Absent with leave – None - 0.
Vacancies - 13th Senate District - 1.
The Senate stood for the prayer which was offered by Pastor Mark Brooks from Cedarburg.
The Senate remained standing and Senator Ringhand led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
Leaves of Absence
Senator LeMahieu, with unanimous consent, asked that Senator Ballweg be granted a leave of absence for part of today's session.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (6), the Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.
Chief Clerk's Entries
Amendments Offered
hist129295Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 56 offered by Senator Stroebel.
hist129418Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 69 offered by Senator L. Taylor.
hist129570Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 103 offered by Senator Testin.
hist129335Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 160 offered by Senator Testin.
Introduction, First Reading, and Reference of Proposals
Read and referred:
hist128906Senate Joint Resolution 15
Relating to: proclaiming March 2021 as Women's History Month.
By Senators Johnson, Agard, Bernier, Bewley, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Larson, Pfaff, Ringhand, Roys, Smith, L. Taylor and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives S. Rodriguez, Subeck, Sinicki, Hong, Stubbs, Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Billings, Bowen, Brostoff, Cabrera, Conley, Considine, Doyle, Drake, Emerson, Goyke, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, McGuire, B. Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, L. Myers, Neubauer, Ortiz-Velez, Pope, Riemer, Rozar, Shankland, Shelton, Snodgrass, Spreitzer, Vining, Vruwink and Moore Omokunde.
hist129325To the committee on Senate Organization.
hist128907Senate Joint Resolution 16
Relating to: declaring March 7, 2021 to March 14, 2021, as Women in Construction week and celebrating the wide reaching contributions of women in construction.
By Senators Bernier, Ballweg, Bewley, Ringhand and Marklein; cosponsored by Representatives Zimmerman, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Haywood, Macco, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Petryk, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snodgrass, Subeck, Tranel and Vruwink.
hist129326To the committee on Senate Organization.
hist128912Senate Joint Resolution 17
Relating to: proclaiming the month of March 2021 as American Red Cross Month throughout the state of Wisconsin.
By Senators Ballweg, Bewley, Carpenter, Cowles, Jacque, Johnson, Marklein, Pfaff, Ringhand and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives James, Baldeh, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Drake, Edming, Emerson, Gundrum, Magnafici, Mursau, Rozar, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spiros, Stubbs, Subeck, Thiesfeldt, Vruwink, Wittke, Oldenburg, Spreitzer and VanderMeer.
hist129327To the committee on Senate Organization.
hist129209Senate Joint Resolution 18
Relating to: proclaiming March 31, 2021, as Wisconsin's Transgender Day of Visibility.
By Senators Carpenter, Agard, Bewley, Erpenbach, Johnson, Larson, Ringhand, Roys and Smith; cosponsored by Representatives Neubauer, Cabrera, Snodgrass, Spreitzer, Anderson, Baldeh, Billings, Bowen, Brostoff, Conley, Considine, Drake, Emerson, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hong, B. Meyers, Pope, Riemer, S. Rodriguez, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Subeck, Vining and Vruwink.
hist129328To the committee on Senate Organization.
hist129273Senate Joint Resolution 19
Relating to: declaration of an Economic Bill of Rights.
By Senators Agard, Larson, Johnson, Roys, Smith and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Shelton, Hong, Stubbs, Brostoff, Conley, Drake, Neubauer, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Spreitzer, Anderson, Baldeh, Billings, Cabrera, Considine, Doyle, Emerson, Haywood, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Ohnstad, Riemer, Vining and Vruwink.
hist129329To the committee on Senate Organization.
hist129551Senate Joint Resolution 20
Relating to: proclaiming February 2021 as Black History Month and honoring past and current black legislators.
By Senators Johnson, Carpenter, Smith, Agard, Wirch, Ringhand, Erpenbach, Roys and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Stubbs, Bowen, Haywood, L. Myers, Baldeh, Drake, Moore Omokunde, Shankland, Milroy, Hebl, S. Rodriguez, Andraca, Snodgrass, Ohnstad, Vruwink, Pope, Ortiz-Velez, Doyle, Hesselbein, Neubauer, Subeck, Hong, Cabrera, Spreitzer, Shelton, Anderson, Riemer, Goyke, Vining, Brostoff, Conley, McGuire and Emerson.
hist129552To the committee on Senate Organization.
Read first time and referred:
hist128377Senate Bill 203
Relating to: the secure delivery of absentee ballots and providing a penalty.
By Senators Stroebel, Darling, Roth, Marklein, Wanggaard, Bradley, Nass, Ballweg and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Representatives August, Brooks, Gundrum, Magnafici, Edming, Spiros, Krug, Neylon, Loudenbeck, Kuglitsch, Murphy, Jagler, VanderMeer, Knodl and Wichgers.
hist129303To the committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics.
hist128378Senate Bill 204
Relating to: absentee ballot applications, unsolicited mailing or transmission of absentee ballot applications and absentee ballots, canvassing absentee ballots, electronic voter registration, and providing a penalty.