2021 - 2022 LEGISLATURE
April 8, 2021 - Introduced by Senators Roys, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Feyen,
Marklein, Bernier, Bewley, Jacque, Ballweg and Ringhand, cosponsored by
Representatives Hong, Subeck, Stubbs, Sinicki, S. Rodriguez, Cabrera,
Bowen, Hesselbein, Drake, Emerson, Hintz, Vruwink, Milroy, Hebl,
Shelton, Tauchen, Shankland, Anderson, Conley, Snodgrass, Mursau,
Spreitzer, Brandtjen, Murphy and Thiesfeldt. Referred to Committee on
Senate Organization.
SJR24,1,2 1Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey
2team for winning the 2021 NCAA Division I National Championship title.
SJR24,1,53 Whereas, the UW-Madison women's hockey team once again secured the
4NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National Championship by defeating the
5Northeastern Huskies 2-1 in the finals of the Frozen Four tournament; and
SJR24,1,86 Whereas, by winning the 2021 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National
7Championship, the UW-Madison women's hockey team won their sixth overall title,
8tying Minnesota for the most championships ever; and
SJR24,1,119 Whereas, the UW-Madison women's hockey team demonstrated exceptional
10athletic performances and displayed a remarkable degree of sportsmanship
11throughout the season; and
SJR24,1,1312 Whereas, Daryl Watts scored a ricochet goal in overtime to give UW-Madison
13the championship win; and
SJR24,1,1514 Whereas, UW-Madison women's hockey had another tremendous season
15finishing with a record of 28-5-3 for the season; and
1Whereas, the team was led by co-captains Grace Bowlby and Brette Pettet, who
2were joined by teammates Jane Gervais, Natalie Buchbinder, Teagan Grant, Lacey
3Eden, Dara Greig, Makenna Webster, Sophie Shirley, Delaney Drake, Grace Shirley,
4Mayson Toft, Caitlin Schneider, Maddie Posick, Britta Curl, Daryl Watts, Nicole
5LaMantia, Katie Kotlowski, Chayla Edwards, Casey O'Brien, Maddi Wheeler,
6Kennedy Blair, Cami Kronish, and Breanna Blesi; and
SJR24,2,117 Whereas, the team was managed by a brilliant coaching staff, led by Head
8Coach Mark Johnson, Associate Head Coach Dan Koch, Assistant Coach Jackie
9Crum, Volunteer Coach Mark Greenhalgh, Athletic Trainer Stefanie Arndt,
10Strength Coach Jim Snider, Assistant Director of Athletic Communications A. J.
11Harrison, and Director of Operations/Equipment Manager Sis Paulsen; and
SJR24,2,1412 Whereas, the UW-Madison community and the whole state take pride in the
13integrity, leadership, and excellence the team has demonstrated in its
14accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
SJR24,2,19 15Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the
16Wisconsin State Legislature do hereby commend the UW-Madison women's hockey
17team, the coaching staff, the athletic department, and the chancellor on winning the
182021 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National Championship title and wish the
19student-athletes continued success in their bright futures.
SJR24,2,2020 (End)