Senate Journal
One-Hundred and Sixth Regular Session
2:03 P.M.   TUESDAY, January 3, 2023
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by Senate President Kapenga.
The Senate stood for the prayer which was offered by Pastor Perrie Dralle from the Gethsemane Lutheran Church in Brookfield.
The Colors were presented by the VFW Day Post 7591 Color Guard Unit of Madison, WI.
The Senate remained standing and Senator Agard led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The National Anthem was performed by the St. Francis Xavier High School Orchestra.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (6), the Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.
Remarks of Majority Leader LeMahieu
Mr. President, Chief Justice Ziegler, Minority Leader Agard, fellow colleagues, distinguished guests, friends and dear family members:
At this time, I return the floor to the President, who will now begin the proceedings.
State of Wisconsin
Wisconsin Elections Commission
December 12, 2022
The Honorable, the Senate:
I am pleased to provide you with a copy of the official canvass of the November 8, 2022 General Election vote for State Senator along with the determination by the Chair of the Wisconsin Elections Commission of the winners.
With this letter, I am delivering the Certificates of Election for the winners to you for distribution.
If the Elections Commission can provide you with further information or assistance, please contact our office.
Statement of Canvass
State Senator
GENERAL ELECTION, November 8, 2022
I, Commissioner Don M. Millis, chairperson of the Wisconsin Elections Commission, certify that the attached tabular statements, as compiled from the certified returns made to the Wisconsin Elections Commission by the county clerks of the several counties of the state, contain a correct abstract of the total number of votes given for the election of candidates for State Senator at a General Election held in the several towns, villages, cities, wards and election districts in said counties on the Eighth day of November, 2022.
I DO, THEREFORE, DETERMINE AND CERTIFY that the following candidates, having each received the greatest number of votes in their respective senatorial districts, are duly elected State Senator:
Senate District     Elected
1st District       André Jacque
3rd District       Tim Carpenter
5th District       Rob Hutton
7th District       Chris Larson
9th District       Devin LeMahieu
11th District       Steve Nass
13th District       John Jagler
15th District       Mark Spreitzer
17th District       Howard Marklein
19th District   Rachael Cabral-Guevara
21st District       Van H. Wanggaard
23rd District       Jesse James
25th District       Romaine Robert Quinn
27th District       Dianne H. Hesselbein
29th District       Cory Tomczyk
31st District       Jeff Smith
33rd District       Chris Kapenga
Done in the City of Madison, this 30th day of November 2022.
Commissioner, Chairperson
Wisconsin Elections Commission
In the Chair
President Pro Tempore Testin in the chair.
2:12 P.M.