2023 - 2024 LEGISLATURE
March 6, 2024 - Introduced by Representatives Rozar, Macco, Steffen, O'Connor,
Schmidt, Maxey, Goeben, Doyle, Ratcliff and Joers, cosponsored by
Senators Cowles, Wimberger, Cabral-Guevara, Wanggaard, Spreitzer and
James. Referred to Committee on Rules.
AJR141,1,2 1Relating to: urging support for a constitutional amendment to provide states with
2authority to regulate campaign financing.
AJR141,1,63 Whereas, the residents of Wisconsin have a compelling interest in fostering
4robust political debate, freedom of speech, and self-government, in securing the
5liberty and political equality of our citizens, in guarding against corruption, and in
6advancing federalism and the interests of the states; and
AJR141,1,107 Whereas, over the past few decades, the Supreme Court has gradually come to
8equate election spending with “free speech,” and this spending has the potential to
9drown out speech rights for all citizens, narrow debate, weaken federalism and
10self-governance in the states, and increase the risk of systemic corruption; and
AJR141,1,1211 Whereas, the states and U.S. Congress should have the ability to enact
12reasonable regulations regarding this spending; and
AJR141,1,1513 Whereas, the framers wisely granted the states ultimate power to amend our
14Constitution where necessary to make it and our union ever more perfect and to
15protect and preserve self-government and liberty; now, therefore, be it
1Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
2Legislature, on behalf of the people of Wisconsin, declares its support for a
3constitutional amendment to clarify that states may regulate the spending of money
4to influence federal elections, and that in doing so, the states and Congress may
5distinguish between natural persons and legally recognized entities such as
6corporations, unions, and government authorities; and, be it further
AJR141,2,10 7Resolved, That a suitable copy of this resolution be prepared and submitted
8to the Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Majority Leader of the U.S.
9Senate, the Minority Leader of the U.S. Senate, and each member of the Wisconsin
10congressional delegation.
AJR141,2,1111 (End)