2023 - 2024 LEGISLATURE
April 14, 2023 - Introduced by Senators Roys, Agard, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara,
Hesselbein, Jacque, Larson, Marklein, Pfaff, Spreitzer and Wirch,
cosponsored by Representatives Hong, Stubbs, J. Anderson, C. Anderson,
Andraca, Baldeh, Bare, Cabrera, Behnke, Clancy, Conley, Considine,
Drake, Emerson, Green, Jacobson, Joers, Madison, Moore Omokunde,
Murphy, Mursau, Neubauer, O'Connor, Palmeri, Ratcliff, Shankland,
Shelton, Sinicki, Spiros, Snodgrass, Subeck, Vining and Allen. Referred to
Committee on Senate Organization.
SJR26,1,3 1Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey
2team on winning the 2023 NCAA Division I Women's Hockey National
SJR26,1,74 Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey team won a
5record-breaking seventh title after securing the 2023 NCAA Division I Women's
6Hockey National Championship by defeating the Ohio State Buckeyes 1-0 in the
7finals of the Frozen Four; and
SJR26,1,98 Whereas, the UW-Madison women's hockey team demonstrated exceptional
9perseverance, talent, and sportsmanship throughout the 2022-23 season; and
SJR26,1,1210 Whereas, Kirsten Simms scored the winning goal during the first period of the
11game and goalie Cami Kronish had 31 saves throughout the game to hold the
12Badgers' 1-0 lead over top-seeded Ohio State; and
SJR26,1,1513 Whereas, captain Britta Curl is also the first UW women's hockey player to win
14the first 10 NCAA tournament games in which she played—a historic first for UW
15and our state; and
1Whereas, the team was led by captain Britta Curl and alternate captains
2Natalie Buchbinder, Jesse Compher, Nicole LaMantia, and Casey O'Brien who were
3joined by teammates Jane Gervais, Sophie Helgeson, Caroline Harvey, Lacey Eden,
4Sophie Shirley, Laila Edwards, Grace Shirley, Mayson Toft, Claire Enright,
5Marianne Picard, Vivian Jungels, Sarah Wozniewicz, Katie Kotlowski, Chayla
6Edwards, Kirsten Simms, Maddi Wheeler, Cami Kronish, and Chloe Baker; and
SJR26,2,137 Whereas, the team was managed by brilliant coaches and staff, led by head
8coach Mark Johnson, associate head coach Dan Koch, assistant coach Jackie Crum,
9volunteer coach Mark Greenhalgh, director of operations/equipment manager Sis
10Paulsen, athletic trainer Stefanie Arndt, assistant director of brand communications
11A. J. Harrison, program assistant Eric Steffen, assistant strength and conditioning
12coach Paul Valukas, video coordinator Justin Kakuska, student athletic trainer Tim
13Gaffney, and student manager Avery Berry; and
SJR26,2,1614 Whereas, the UW-Madison community and our state take pride in the
15integrity, leadership, and excellence the team has demonstrated in its historic
16accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
SJR26,2,22 17Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the
18Wisconsin State Legislature do hereby commend the University of
19Wisconsin-Madison women's hockey team, the coaching staff, the athletic
20department, and the chancellor on winning the 2023 NCAA Division I Women's
21Hockey National Championship title and wish the student-athletes, coaches, and
22staff continued success on and off the ice.
SJR26,2,2323 (End)