Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 77

Relating to: pupil applications to attend a private school participating in a parental choice program.

By Representatives Sortwell, Allen, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Brooks, Gustafson, O'Connor, Murphy, Rettinger and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara, Ballweg, Nass, Stroebel, Tomczyk, Wanggaard and Felzkowski.

February 28, 2023       Referred to Committee on Education

April 20, 2023             Public Hearing Held

Present:       (13)      Representative Kitchens; Representatives Dittrich, Binsfeld, Mursau, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton, Considine, Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent:       (0)        None.

Excused:     (2)        Representatives Duchow and Nedweski.

Appearances For

·      Representative Shae Sortwell - 2nd Assembly District

·      Amy Loudenbeck - School Choice Wisconsin

·      Dr. Charles Moore - High Impact Christian School

Appearances Against

·      Chanell Crawford - Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Appearances for Information Only

·      None.

Registrations For

·      Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara - 19th Senate District

·      Rudi Gesch - Sheboygan Christian School

·      Babara Strawn - Roncalli Catholic Schools

·      Abbie Amling - Martin Luther High School

·      Christine Oldenburg - Lutheran High School Association of Greater Milwaukee

·      Kimberly Desotell - Green Bay Area Catholic Education

·      Julie Leung - Seton Catholic School

·      Dr. Jamie Luehring - Kettle Morraine Lutheran High School

·      Scott Cole

·      Crystal Cole

·      Rachel Ver Velde - Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce

·      Brian Couch - Seton Catholic Schools

Registrations Against

·      None.

Registrations for Information Only

·      None.

April 11, 2024             Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1


Bob Delaporte

Committee Clerk