Examination fee schedule.
A list of all current examination fees may be obtained at no charge from the Office of Examinations, Department of Safety and Professional Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P. O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366.
(3) Explanation of procedures for setting examination fees. SPS 4.04(3)(a)(a)
Fees for examinations shall be established under s. 440.05 (1) (b)
, Stats., at the department's best estimate of the actual cost of preparing, administering and grading the examination or obtaining and administering an approved examination from a service provider.
Examinations shall be obtained from a service provider through competitive procurement procedures described in ch. Adm 7
Fees for examination services provided by the department shall be established based on an estimate of the actual cost of the examination services. Computation of fees for examination services provided by the department shall include standard component amounts for contract administration services, test development services and written and practical test administration services.
Examination fees shall be changed as needed to reflect changes in the actual costs to the department. Changes to fees shall be implemented according to par. (e)
Examination fees shall be effective for examinations held 45 days or more after the date of publication of a notice in application forms. Applicants who have submitted fees in an amount less than that in the most current application form shall pay the correct amount prior to administration of the examination. Overpayments shall be refunded by the department. Initial credential fees shall become effective on the date specified by law.
(4) Reexamination of previously licensed individuals.
Fees for examinations ordered as part of a disciplinary proceeding or late renewal under s. 440.08 (3) (b)
, Stats., are equal to the fee set for reexamination in the most recent examination application form, plus $10 application processing.
(5) Proctoring examinations for other states. SPS 4.04(5)(a)(a)
Examinations administered by an authority of the state may be proctored for persons applying for credentials in another state if the person has been determined eligible in the other state and meets this state's application deadlines. Examinations not administered by an authority of the state may only be proctored for Wisconsin residents or licensees applying for credentials in another state.
Department fees for proctoring examinations of persons who are applying for a credential in another state are equal to the cost of administering the examination to those persons, plus any additional cost charged to the department by the service provider.
SPS 4.04 History
Cr. Register, October, 1978, No. 274
, eff. 11-1-78; r. and recr. Register, May, 1986, No. 365
, eff. 6-1-86; am. Register, December, 1986, No. 372
, eff. 1-1-87; am. Register, September, 1987, No. 381
, eff. 10-1-87; am. (3), Register, September, 1988, No. 393
, eff. 10-1-88; am. (3), Register, September, 1990, No. 417
, eff. 10-1-90; r. and recr. (1) to (3), cr. (4), renum. Figure and am. Register, April, 1992, No. 436
, eff. 5-1-92; am. (4) Figure, cr. (5), Register, July, 1993, No. 451
, eff. 8-1-93; r. and recr. Register, November, 1993, No. 455
, eff. 12-1-93; r. (2), am. (3) (a), (b), (c), (e), (4), (5), Register, July, 1996, No. 487
, eff. 8-1-96; correction in (1) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 6.
, Stats., Register November 2011 No. 671
; CR 14-019
: am. (1) Register August 2014 No. 704
, eff. 9-1-14.
The fee for supervised review of examination results by a failing applicant which is conducted by the department is $28.
The fee for review of examination results by a service provider is the fee established by the service provider.
SPS 4.05 History
Cr. Register, April, 1992, No. 436
, eff. 5-1-92; am. Register, July, 1996, No. 487
, eff. 8-1-96.
A refund of all but $10 of the applicant's examination fee and initial credential fee submitted to the department shall be granted if any of the following occurs:
An applicant is found to be unqualified for an examination administered by the authority.
An applicant is found to be unqualified for a credential for which no examination is required.
An applicant withdraws an application by written notice to the authority at least 10 days in advance of any scheduled examination.
An applicant who fails to take an examination administered by the authority either provides written notice at least 10 days in advance of the examination date that the applicant is unable to take the examination, or if written notice was not provided, submits a written explanation satisfactory to the authority that the applicant's failure to take the examination resulted from extreme personal hardship.
An applicant eligible for a refund may forfeit the refund and choose instead to take an examination administered by the authority within 18 months of the originally scheduled examination at no added fee.
An applicant who misses an examination as a result of being called to active military duty shall receive a full refund. The applicant requesting the refund shall supply a copy of the call up orders or a letter from the commanding officer attesting to the call up.
Applicants who pay fees to service providers other than the department are subject to the refund policy established by the service provider.
SPS 4.06 History
Cr. Register, October, 1978, No. 274
, eff. 11-1-78; am. (2) (intro.), Register, May, 1986, No. 365
, eff. 6-1-86; am. (1) and (2) (intro.), renum. (2) (c) and (3) to be (3) and (4), cr. (5), Register, September, 1987, No. 381
, eff. 10-1-87; r. and recr. (1) and (4), Register, April, 1992, No. 436
, eff. 5-1-92; r. (2), renum. (3) to (5) to be (2) to (4), Register, July, 1993, No. 451
, eff. 8-1-93; renum. from RL 4.03 and am., Register, July, 1996, No. 487
, eff. 8-1-96.
SPS 4.07 Investigation.
The department shall investigate whether an applicant for any of the following credentials has been charged with or convicted of a crime:
Appraiser, real estate, certified general.
Appraiser, real estate, certified residential.