All legislative websites will be unavailable on
Saturday, May 28, from 8:30am to 12:00pm for scheduled maintenance.
Register April 2018 No. 748
Chapter SPS 166
EDUCATION APPROVAL
SPS 166.01   Approval of substance abuse counselor education.
SPS 166.02   Approved prevention specialist education.
Ch. SPS 166 Note Note: Chapter SPS 166 was repealed and recreated by 2017 Wis. Act 262 effective 5-1-18, Register April 2018 No. 748.
SPS 166.01 SPS 166.01Approval of substance abuse counselor education.
SPS 166.01(1)(1) An application to be a department-approved education program shall include all of the following:
SPS 166.01(1)(a) (a) A detailed outline of each course, or for core competency programs a detailed outline of each core competency and how the competency will be measured.
SPS 166.01(1)(b) (b) For each course or core competency, indicate the allocation of hours or competency hour equivalencies for the following content areas:
SPS 166.01(1)(b)1. 1. Assessment training.
SPS 166.01(1)(b)2. 2. Counseling training.
SPS 166.01(1)(b)3. 3. Case management.
SPS 166.01(1)(b)4. 4. Patient education.
SPS 166.01(1)(b)5. 5. Professional responsibility.
SPS 166.01(1)(b)6. 6. Boundaries and ethics.
SPS 166.01(1)(c) (c) Evidence that each instructor satisfies one of the following:
SPS 166.01(1)(c)1. 1. The instructor holds one of the following credentials in good standing:
SPS 166.01(1)(c)1.a. a. Substance abuse counselor.
SPS 166.01(1)(c)1.b. b. Clinical substance abuse counselor.
SPS 166.01(1)(c)1.c. c. A license under s. 457.08 (4), 457.10, 457.11, 457.12, 457.13, or 457.14 (1) (d) to (f), Stats.
SPS 166.01(1)(c)2. 2. The instructor is a physician with knowledge and experience related to substance use disorder counseling.
SPS 166.01(1)(c)3. 3. The instructor is a psychologist with knowledge and experience related to substance use disorder counseling.
SPS 166.01(1)(c)4. 4. The instructor is an instructor of substance use disorder related courses at an accredited institution.
SPS 166.01(2) (2) An instructor whose credential has been limited, suspended, or revoked may not instruct in an approved program while the disciplinary action is in effect.
SPS 166.01(3) (3) An approved program shall inform the department in advance of any major change in a course or instructor qualifications.
SPS 166.01(4) (4) An approval of a program remains in effect for 5 years. After 5 years, the program shall resubmit a new application to become an approved educational program.
SPS 166.01(5) (5) An approved program shall provide a certificate of completion or transcript to each student and shall retain student records for at least 7 years after a student has completed the program.
SPS 166.01 History History: 2017 Wis. Act 262: cr. Register April 2018 No. 748, eff. 5-1-18.
SPS 166.02 SPS 166.02Approved prevention specialist education. The department shall accept prevention specialist training provided, sponsored, or approved by any of the following:
SPS 166.02(1) (1) An accredited college or university.
SPS 166.02(2) (2) The Wisconsin Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse.
SPS 166.02(3) (3) The National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors.
SPS 166.02(4) (4) The Wisconsin Clearinghouse for Prevention Resources.
SPS 166.02(5) (5) The Federal Center for Substance Abuse Prevention.
SPS 166.02(6) (6) The National Center for the Application of Prevention Technologies or its regional centers.
SPS 166.02(7) (7) The federal department of health and human services, or its agencies, institutes, administrations, or centers.
SPS 166.02(8) (8) The White House Office of National Drug Control Policy.
SPS 166.02(9) (9) The department of health services.
SPS 166.02(10) (10) The department of public instruction.
SPS 166.02 History History: 2017 Wis. Act 262: cr. Register April 2018 No. 748, eff. 5-1-18.
Loading...
Loading...
Published under s. 35.93, Stats. Updated on the first day of each month. Entire code is always current. The Register date on each page is the date the chapter was last published.