Date of enactment: May 1, 1996
1995 Senate Bill 541 Date of publication*: May 15, 1996
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes 1993-94: Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication as designated" by the secretary of state [the date of publication may not be more than 10 working days after the date of enactment].
1995 WISCONSIN ACT 318
An Act to renumber 346.57 (1) (a); to amend 346.57 (4) (gm), 346.57 (6) (b), 349.11 (2) (intro.), 349.11 (2) (a), 349.11 (2) (b) and 349.11 (2) (c); and to create 346.57 (1) (ag) and (am) of the statutes; relating to: the maximum speed limit applicable to motor vehicles traveling on certain state trunk highways.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
318,1 Section 1. 346.57 (1) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 346.57 (1) (ar).
318,2 Section 2. 346.57 (1) (ag) and (am) of the statutes are created to read:
346.57 (1) (ag) "Expressway" means a state trunk highway that, as determined by the department, has 4 or more lanes of traffic physically separated by a median or barrier and that gives preference to through traffic by utilizing interchanges or limiting at-grade access to selected public roads and public driveways.
(am) "Freeway" means a state trunk highway that has 4 or more lanes of traffic physically separated by a median or barrier and that gives preference to through traffic by limiting access to interchanges only.
318,3 Section 3. 346.57 (4) (gm) of the statutes is amended to read:
346.57 (4) (gm) 65 miles per hour on any freeway for which a limit of 65 miles per hour is provided under federal law, as determined by the department. To the extent so determined, the limit under this paragraph applies to USH 51 and STH 78 or expressway.
318,4 Section 4. 346.57 (6) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
346.57 (6) (b) The limit specified under sub. (4) (gm) is not effective unless official signs giving notice of the limit have been erected by the department. The department may not erect or maintain such signs unless the department determines that the limit under sub. (4) (gm) is in conformity with the applicable national maximum speed limit.
318,5 Section 5. 349.11 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
349.11 (2) (intro.)  The department may not do any of the following:
318,6 Section 6. 349.11 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
349.11 (2) (a) Declare a speed limit which is in excess of the limits stated in s. 346.57 (4) (h), except as provided in s. 346.57 (4) (gm); or.
318,7 Section 7. 349.11 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
349.11 (2) (b) Modify the limits stated in s. 346.57 (4) (c) or 346.58 (1); or.
318,8 Section 8. 349.11 (2) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
349.11 (2) (c) Modify the statutory speed limit on more than 2,000 miles of state trunk highways. The first mile outside of and immediately adjacent to any incorporated municipality shall not be counted in computing such 2,000 miles. This paragraph does not apply to freeways or to expressways, as defined in s. 346.57 (1) (ag) and (am).
318,9 Section 9. Effective date.
(1)This act takes effect on the first day of the 3rd month beginning after publication.
Loading...
Loading...