Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 625

Relating to: the 2015-17 Authorized State Building Program, providing a grant for the construction of a medical school campus in the city of Jefferson, granting bonding authority, and making appropriations.

By Representatives Horlacher, Jagler, Kleefisch, Novak and Quinn; cosponsored by Senators Nass and Tiffany.

January 04, 2016         Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

January 28, 2016         Public Hearing Held

Present:       (14)      Representative Murphy; Representatives Rohrkaste, Quinn, Rodriguez, Petryk, Ballweg, Krug, Tranel, Macco, Wachs, Berceau, Billings, Hesselbein and Jorgensen.

Absent:       (0)        None.

Excused:     (1)        Representative R. Brooks.

Appearances For

·      Rep. Cody Horlacher - 33rd Assembly District

·      Senator Steve Nass - 11th Senate District

·      Mark Lefebvre - The College of Osteopathic Medicine

·      Jennifer DeKrey - The College of Osteopathic Medicine

·      Mayor Dale Oppermann - City of Jefferson, WI

·      County Administrator Ben Wehmeier - Jefferson County

Appearances Against

·      Dr. John Raymond - President and CEO, Medical College of Wisconsin

·      Dr. Liz Petty - UW School of Medicine and Public Health

Appearances for Information Only

·      None.

Registrations For

·      Rep. Joel Kleefisch - 38th Assembly District

·      Executive Director Genevieve Coady - Jefferson County Economic Development Corp

·      Jim Schroeder - Jefferson County Board Chair

·      William Brandel - City of Jefferson

Registrations Against

·      Nathan Berken - Medical College of Wisconsin

Registrations for Information Only

·      George Quinn - WI Council on Medical Education and Workforce

April 07, 2016             Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1


Diane Handrick

Committee Clerk