2019 Senate Joint Resolution 8
Relating to: congratulating the Green Bay Packers on the occasion of their 100th anniversary and declaring August 11, 2019, Green Bay Packers Day.
Whereas, a professional football team was formed in the second-floor editorial rooms of the Green Bay Press-Gazette building on August 11, 1919, and after an under-the-radar public reveal of the team two days later, it was announced that they would be named the Green Bay Packers after the team's sponsor, the Indian Packing Co.; and
Whereas, in their first season, the Packers went 10-1 under manager George Whitney Calhoun and captain Curly Lambeau with a team that was filled mostly by former standouts at Green Bay East and West High Schools and that played home games at Hagemeister Park where they covered their expenses in part by “passing a hat” for voluntary contributions; and
Whereas, after two successful seasons as an independent professional football team, the Green Bay Packers joined the American Professional Football Association, soon to become the National Football League, in 1921 as the smallest city in the young league; and
Whereas, the Packers survived against the odds in the team's early years after repeated financial struggles and constant restructuring by the NFL to remove franchises from smaller cities in favor of larger markets, and now thrive in the smallest market and as the only community-owned team in major professional sports; and
Whereas, the Green Bay Packers won their first World Championship in 1929, less than a decade after joining the National Football League, and won the first Super Bowl in 1966 among their 11 other World Championships in 1930, 1931, 1936, 1939, 1944, 1961, 1962, 1965, 1967, 1996, and 2010; and
Whereas, the thirteen World Championships won by the Packers are more than any other NFL franchise, and the Packers are the only team to win three straight World Championships, having accomplished the feat twice; and
Whereas, 1,701 people have played in at least one game for the Packers, with 162 players, coaches, and executives being enshrined in the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame, and 25 Packers having their busts displayed in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, more than any other team but one; and
Whereas, some notable Green Bay Packers include game-changing talents such as Herb Adderley, Tony Canadeo, Willie Davis, Brett Favre, Forrest Gregg, Paul Hornung, Don Hutson, Jerry Kramer, James Lofton, John “Blood” McNally, Ray Nitschke, Aaron Rodgers, Sterling Sharpe, Bart Starr, Jim Taylor, Reggie White, Willie Wood, and Charles Woodson, and legendary coaches including Earl “Curly” Lambeau and Vince Lombardi; and
Whereas, with a 777-593-38 all-time record, including a 34-22 record in 32 postseason appearances, the Green Bay Packers have recently concluded their 100th season as the third-oldest NFL franchise, and will celebrate their 100th anniversary in 2019 as one of the most-storied franchises in sports history and as an integral part of Wisconsin history; now, therefore, be it
Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin Legislature honors and congratulates the Green Bay Packers on the occasion of their 100th anniversary, wishes them continued success for many years to come, and declares August 11, 2019, Green Bay Packers Day.