Effective date note NOTE: Par. (c) is repealed eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59.
118.55(5)(d) (d) If a school board or the governing body of a participating private school is required to pay tuition on behalf of a pupil under this subsection, the tuition charged for each credit assigned to the course may not exceed the following:
118.55(5)(d)1. 1. For an institution of higher education under sub. (1) (bm) 1., other than a University of Wisconsin college campus, as defined in s. 36.05 (6m), one-third of the amount that would be charged for each credit assigned to the course to an individual who is a resident of this state and who is enrolled in the educational institution as an undergraduate student. Subject to sub. (7t), neither the institution of higher education nor the school board nor the governing body may charge any additional costs or fees to a pupil to attend a course under this section.
118.55(5)(d)1m. 1m. For an institution of higher education under sub. (1) (bm) that is a University of Wisconsin college campus, as defined in s. 36.05 (6m), one-half of the amount that would be charged for each credit assigned to the course to an individual who is a resident of this state and who is enrolled in the college campus as an undergraduate student. Subject to sub. (7t), neither the college campus nor the school board may charge any additional costs or fees to a pupil to attend a course under this section.
118.55(5)(d)2. 2. For an institution of higher education under sub. (1) (bm) 2., one-third of the amount that would be charged for each credit assigned to a similar course offered by the University of Wisconsin-Madison to an individual who is a resident of this state and who is enrolled at the University of Wisconsin-Madison as an undergraduate student. Subject to sub. (7t), neither the institution of higher education nor the school board may charge any additional costs or fees to a pupil to attend a course under this section.
Effective date note NOTE: Par. (d) is shown as affected eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59, sections 1564m, 1565, and 1572.
118.55(5)(e)1.1. Subject to sub. (7t), within 30 days after the end of the semester, the school board of the school district in which a pupil who attended an institution of higher education under this section was enrolled and the governing body of a participating private school attended by a pupil who attended the institution of higher education under this section shall pay the institution, on behalf of the pupil, the amount determined under par. (d) and shall submit an itemized report to the department of the amounts paid under this subdivision.
118.55(5)(e)2. 2. Subject to subd. 3., from the appropriation under s. 20.445 (1) (d), the secretary of the department of workforce development shall, on behalf of the school board of a school district in which a pupil who attended an institution of higher education under this section was enrolled and on behalf of the governing body of a participating private school and a pupil who attended the private school and who attended an institution of higher education under this section, pay to the department of public instruction the following amount:
118.55(5)(e)2.a. a. For a pupil who took a course for high school credit, as described in par. (a), 25 percent of the actual cost of tuition for the course, as determined under par. (d). The department of public instruction shall reimburse the school board of the school district or the governing body of the private school the amount received from the department of workforce development under this subd. 2. a.
118.55(5)(e)2.b. b. For a pupil who took a course for postsecondary credit, as described in par. (b), 50 percent of the actual cost of tuition for the course, as determined under par. (d). The department of public instruction shall reimburse the school board of the school district or the governing body of the private school the amount received from the department of workforce development under this subd. 2. b.
118.55(5)(e)3. 3. If the appropriation under s. 20.445 (1) (d) in any fiscal year is insufficient to reimburse all school districts and all governing bodies eligible for the full amount of reimbursable tuition costs under subd. 2., the secretary of the department of workforce development shall notify the state superintendent, who shall prorate the amount of the payments under subd. 2. among eligible school districts and governing bodies.
Effective date note NOTE: Par. (e) is created eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59.
118.55(6) (6)Responsibility of pupil for tuition and fees; institution of higher education.
118.55(6)(a)(a) Subject to sub. (7t), a pupil taking a course at an institution of higher education for high school credit under this section is not responsible for any portion of the tuition and fees for the course if the school board, the state superintendent on appeal under sub. (3) (b), the governing body of the participating private school, or the governing body on appeal under sub. (3) (b) has determined that the course is not comparable to a course offered in the school district or at the participating private school, whichever is applicable.
Effective date note NOTE: Par. (a) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 7-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text (a) Subject to sub. (7t), a pupil taking a course at an institution of higher education for high school credit under this section is not responsible for any portion of the tuition and fees for the course if the school board, or the state superintendent on appeal under sub. (3) (b), has determined that the course is not comparable to a course offered in the school district.
118.55(6)(b) (b) A pupil taking a course at an institution of higher education for high school credit under this section is responsible for the tuition and fees for the course if the school board or the governing body of the participating private school has determined that the course is comparable to a course offered in the school district or at the participating private school, unless the state superintendent or the governing body reverses the decision of the school board or governing body, respectively, on appeal under sub. (3) (b).
Effective date note NOTE: Par. (b) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 7-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text (b) A pupil taking a course at an institution of higher education for high school credit under this section is responsible for the tuition and fees for the course if the school board has determined that the course is comparable to a course offered in the school district, unless the state superintendent reverses the school board's decision on appeal under sub. (3) (b).
118.55(6)(c)1.1. Except as provided in subd. 2., a pupil taking a course under this section at an institution of higher education only for postsecondary credit is responsible for 25 percent of the actual cost of tuition for the course, as determined under sub. (5) (d). The school board of the school district in which the pupil attending an institution under this section is enrolled and the governing body of a participating private school attended by a pupil attending an institution of higher education under this section shall establish a written policy governing the timing and method for recovering from the pupil or the pupil's parent or guardian the pupil's share of tuition as specified in this subdivision.
118.55(6)(c)2. 2. The school board or the governing body of the participating private school shall waive the pupil's responsibility for costs under subd. 1. if the department determines that the cost of the course would pose an undue financial burden on the pupil's family.
Effective date note NOTE: Par. (c) is shown as affected eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 7-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text (c) A pupil taking a course at an institution of higher education for postsecondary credit under this section is responsible for the tuition and fees for the course.
118.55(7g) (7g)Transportation. The parent or guardian of a pupil who is attending an institution of higher education or technical college under this section and is taking a course for high school credit may apply to the state superintendent for reimbursement of the cost of transporting the pupil between the high school or participating private school in which the pupil is enrolled and the institution of higher education or technical college that the pupil is attending if the pupil and the pupil's parent or guardian are unable to pay the cost of such transportation. The state superintendent shall determine the reimbursement amount and shall pay the amount from the appropriation under s. 20.255 (2) (cy). The state superintendent shall give preference under this subsection to those pupils who satisfy the income eligibility criteria for a free or reduced-price lunch under 42 USC 1758 (b) (1).
Effective date note NOTE: Sub. (7g) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 7-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text (7g)Transportation. The parent or guardian of a pupil who is attending an institution of higher education or technical college under this section and is taking a course for high school credit may apply to the state superintendent for reimbursement of the cost of transporting the pupil between the high school in which the pupil is enrolled and the institution of higher education or technical college that the pupil is attending if the pupil and the pupil's parent or guardian are unable to pay the cost of such transportation. The state superintendent shall determine the reimbursement amount and shall pay the amount from the appropriation under s. 20.255 (2) (cw). The state superintendent shall give preference under this subsection to those pupils who satisfy the income eligibility criteria for a free or reduced-price lunch under 42 USC 1758 (b) (1).
118.55(7t) (7t)Limitations on participation and payment.
118.55(7t)(a)(a) A school board or the governing body of a participating private school may establish a written policy limiting the number of credits for which the school board or governing body will pay under sub. (5) and s. 38.12 (14) (d) to the equivalent of 18 postsecondary semester credits per pupil.
Effective date note NOTE: Par. (a) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 7-1-18 it reads as follows. The correct cross-reference is shown in brackets.
Effective date text (a) A school board may establish a written policy limiting the number of credits for which the school board will pay under subs. (5) and (7r) (d) [sub. (5) and s. 38.12 (14) (d)] to the equivalent of 18 postsecondary semester credits per pupil.
118.55(7t)(b) (b) If a school board is required to pay tuition and fees on behalf of a pupil under sub. (5) (a) or (c) 1. or (7r) (d) [sub. (5) (a) or (c) 1. or s. 38.12 (14) (d)], the tuition and fees charged may not exceed the amount that would be charged a pupil who is a resident of this state.
Effective date note NOTE: Par. (b) is renumbered to sub. (5) (d) (intro.) and 1. and amended eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. The correct cross-reference is shown in brackets.
118.55(7t)(c) (c) If a pupil receives a failing grade in a course, or fails to complete a course, at an institution of higher education or technical college for which the school board or the governing body of a participating private school has made payment, the pupil's parent or guardian, or the pupil if he or she is an adult, shall reimburse the school board or the governing body the amount paid on the pupil's behalf upon the request of the school board or governing body. If a school board or governing body that requests reimbursement of a payment made under this section is not reimbursed as requested, the pupil on whose behalf the payment was made is ineligible for any further participation in the program under this section. For the purposes of this paragraph, a grade that constitutes a failing grade for a course offered in the school district or at the participating private school constitutes a failing grade for a course taken at an institution of higher education or technical college under this section.
Effective date note NOTE: Par. (c) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 7-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text (c) If a pupil receives a failing grade in a course, or fails to complete a course, at an institution of higher education or technical college for which the school board has made payment, the pupil's parent or guardian, or the pupil if he or she is an adult, shall reimburse the school board the amount paid on the pupil's behalf upon the school board's request. If a school board that requests reimbursement of a payment made under this section is not reimbursed as requested, the pupil on whose behalf the payment was made is ineligible for any further participation in the program under this section. For the purposes of this paragraph, a grade that constitutes a failing grade for a course offered in the school district constitutes a failing grade for a course taken at an institution of higher education or technical college under this section.
118.55(8) (8)Program information; agreement.
118.55(8)(a)(a) Annually by October 1, each school board shall provide information about the program under this section to all pupils enrolled in the school district in the 8th, 9th, 10th, and 11th grades.
118.55(8)(b) (b) A school board or the governing body of a participating private school may enter into an agreement with an institution of higher education to facilitate the early college credit program under this section.
Effective date note NOTE: Sub. (8) is shown as affected eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 7-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text (8)Program information. Annually by October 1, each school board shall provide information about the program under this section to all pupils enrolled in the school district in the 9th, 10th and 11th grades.
118.55(9) (9)Rules. The state superintendent shall promulgate rules to implement and administer this section, including rules establishing criteria for determining reimbursement amounts under sub. (7g).
118.55 History History: 1991 a. 39, 269, 315; 1993 a. 399; 1995 a. 27 ss. 3979m, 9145 (1); 1997 a. 27 ss. 2816 to 2819, 2821 to 2827m, 2844, 2845; Stats. 1997 s. 118.55; 1997 a. 113, 164, 237; 1999 a. 9; 2003 a. 131; 2015 a. 55; 2017 a. 59; s. 13.92 (1) (bm) 2. renumbering of (1) (a) to (1) (bm); s. 13.92 (1) (bm) 2. cross-reference correction in (5) (d) 1., 1m., 2.; s. 35.17 correction in (7t) (a).
118.55 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also chs. PI 38 and 40, Wis. adm. code.
118.56 118.56 Work based learning programs. A school board, a governing board of a charter school established under s. 118.40 (2r) or (2x), or a governing body of a private school may create a work based learning program for pupils in grades 9 to 12. A school board or governing body that creates a work based learning program under this section shall create the program to do all of the following:
118.56(1) (1) Require a pupil in the program to work at least 280 hours per school year for an employer that complies with sub. (3). Hours of instruction may not be used to satisfy the work requirements under this subsection. Hours that fulfill the work requirements under this subsection shall be counted as hours of direct pupil instruction, as provided under ss. 118.60 (2) (a) 8. and 119.23 (2) (a) 8.
118.56(2) (2) Require a pupil to complete the required work hours by working no fewer than 40 and no more than 50 days per school year, by working no fewer than 6 and no more than 8 hours per day, and by working no more than 2 days per week.
118.56(3) (3) Require that an employer who participates in the program do all of the following:
118.56(3)(a) (a) Comply with state laws relating to the employment of minors and any applicable federal labor law requirements for age and immigration status.
118.56(3)(b) (b) Provide each pupil with occupational training and work based learning experiences.
118.56(3)(c) (c) Provide each pupil with at least 30 hours of training while employing the pupil.
118.56(3)(d) (d) Provide each pupil with a mentor who supervises the pupil's work and provides the pupil with a year-end evaluation.
118.56(3)(e) (e) Provide a year-end evaluation to the pupil.
118.56(4) (4) Provide transportation to and from the workplace at no cost to the pupil or the pupil's family.
118.56(5) (5) In determining eligibility for the program, allow the school board or governing body to require a pupil to demonstrate employability through an interview process, teacher recommendations, or previous work, internship, or volunteer experience.
118.56(6) (6) Require that a pupil who wishes to participate in the program enter into a signed agreement with the participating school and the pupil's parent or guardian.
118.56 History History: 2013 a. 20; 2015 a. 55; 2017 a. 11, 36.
118.57 118.57 Notice of educational options; accountability report performance category; pupil assessments.
118.57(1)(1) Annually, by January 31, each school board shall publish as a class 1 notice, under ch. 985, and post on its Internet site a description of the educational options available to children in the school district, including public schools, private schools participating in a parental choice program, charter schools, virtual schools, full-time or part-time open enrollment in a nonresident school district, and the early college credit program.
Effective date note NOTE: Sub. (1) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 7-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text (1) Annually, by January 31, each school board shall publish as a class 1 notice, under ch. 985, and post on its Internet site a description of the educational options available to the child, including public schools, private schools participating in a parental choice program, charter schools, virtual schools, full-time open enrollment, youth options, and course options.
118.57(2) (2) The school board shall include in the notice under sub. (1) the most recent performance category assigned under s. 115.385 (2) to each school within the school district boundaries, including charter schools established under s. 118.40 (2r) or (2x) and private schools participating in a parental choice program under s. 118.60 or 119.23. The notice published by the school board shall inform parents that the full school and school district accountability report is available on the school board's Internet site.
118.57 History History: 2015 a. 55; 2017 a. 59.
118.60 118.60 Parental choice program for eligible school districts and other school districts.
118.60(1) (1) In this section:
118.60(1)(ab) (ab) “Accrediting entity" means AdvancED, Wisconsin Religious and Independent Schools Accreditation, Independent Schools Association of the Central States, Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod School Accreditation, National Lutheran School Accreditation, Wisconsin Association of Christian Schools, Christian Schools International, Association of Christian Schools International, the diocese or archdiocese within which a private school is located, and any other organization recognized by the National Council for Private School Accreditation.
118.60(1)(ad) (ad) “Administrator" means the superintendent, supervising principal, executive director, or other person who acts as the administrative head of a private school participating in the program under this section.
118.60(1)(af) (af) “Disqualified organization" means an accrediting organization that is not an accrediting entity or a member of or otherwise sanctioned by an accrediting entity.
118.60(1)(ag) (ag) “Disqualified person" means a person who, when a private school was barred or terminated from participation in the program under this section by an order issued under sub. (10), satisfied at least one of the following:
118.60(1)(ag)1. 1. Had a controlling ownership interest in, or was the administrator or an officer, director, or trustee of, the private school.
118.60(1)(ag)2. 2. Was a person designated by the administrator of the private school to assist in processing pupil applications.
118.60(1)(ag)3. 3. Was responsible for an action or circumstance that led to the private school being barred or terminated from participation in the program under this section.
118.60(1)(am) (am) “Eligible school district" means the school district that was identified as an eligible school district under 2011 Wisconsin Act 32, section 9137 (3u).
118.60(1)(bn)1.1. Except as provided in subd. 2., “new private school" means a school that qualifies as a private school under s. 115.001 (3r) and that satisfies either of the following:
118.60(1)(bn)1.a. a. The school has been in continuous operation in this state for less than 12 consecutive months.
118.60(1)(bn)1.b. b. The school provides education to fewer than 40 pupils divided into 2 or fewer grades.
118.60(1)(bn)2. 2. “New private school" does not include a private school the governing body of which operates or manages a private school that is participating in the program under this section or under s. 119.23 if all of the following apply:
118.60(1)(bn)2.a. a. No payment has been withheld from any private school operated or managed by the governing body under sub. (10) (d) or s. 119.23 (10) (d) in the 3 immediately preceding school years.
118.60(1)(bn)2.b. b. No order barring any private school operated or managed by the governing body from participating in the program under this section or s. 119.23 has been issued under sub. (10) (a), (am), (ar), or (b) or under s. 119.23 (10) (a), (am), (ar), or (b) in the 3 immediately preceding school years.
118.60(1)(c) (c) “Preaccreditation" means the review and approval of an educational plan. Review of an education plan includes consideration of whether the school submitting the plan meets the requirements under s. 118.165 (1). The fact that a private school has obtained preaccreditation does not require an accrediting entity to accredit the private school.
118.60(1)(cm) (cm) “Preaccrediting entity" means the Institute for the Transformation of Learning at Marquette University, Wisconsin North Central Association, Wisconsin Religious and Independent Schools Accreditation, Independent Schools Association of the Central States, Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod School Accreditation, National Lutheran School Accreditation, Wisconsin Association of Christian Schools, Christian Schools International, Association of Christian Schools International, and the diocese or archdiocese within which a private school is located.
118.60(1)(d) (d) “Progress records" has the meaning given in s. 118.125 (1) (c).
118.60(1)(g) (g) “Teacher" means a person who has primary responsibility for the academic instruction of pupils.
118.60(2) (2)
118.60(2)(a)(a) Subject to pars. (ag) and (ar), any pupil in grades kindergarten to 12 who resides within an eligible school district may attend any private school under this section and, subject to pars. (ag), (ar), (be), (bm), and (bs), any pupil in grades kindergarten to 12 who resides in a school district, other than an eligible school district or a 1st class city school district, may attend any private school under this section if all of the following apply:
118.60(2)(a)1.a.a. Except as provided in par. (bm), the pupil is a member of a family that has a total family income that does not exceed an amount equal to 3.0 times the poverty level determined in accordance with criteria established by the director of the federal office of management and budget. In this subdivision and sub. (3m), family income includes income of the pupil's parents or legal guardians. Except as provided in subd. 1. c. and d., the family income of the pupil shall be verified as provided in subd. 1. b. A pupil attending a private school under this section whose family income increases may continue to attend a private school under this section.
Loading...
Loading...
2015-16 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2017 Wis. Act 64 and all Supreme Court and Controlled Substances Board Orders effective on or before November 20, 2017. Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after November 20, 2017 are designated by NOTES. (Published 11-20-17)