Effective date note NOTE: Subd. 3. is shown as amended eff. 1-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 1-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text 3. Subject to par. (gm) 5., the fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt for a motor bus that has Wisconsin registration plates is $10.85.
27.01(7)(f)4. 4. Notwithstanding subd. 3. and subject to par. (gm) 5., the department shall charge a fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt of not less than $3.35 but not more than $8.35, as determined by the secretary, for a motor bus that has Wisconsin registration plates and primarily transports residents from nursing homes located in this state.
Effective date note NOTE: Subd. 4. is shown as amended eff. 1-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 1-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text 4. Notwithstanding subd. 3. and subject to par. (gm) 5., the fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt for a motor bus which primarily transports residents from nursing homes located in this state is $3.35, for any motor bus which has Wisconsin registration plates.
27.01(7)(g) (g) Nonresident vehicle admission receipts; fees.
27.01(7)(g)1.1. Except as provided in par. (gm), the fee for an annual vehicle admission receipt is $37.50 for any vehicle that has a registration plate or plates from another state, except that no fee is charged for a receipt issued under s. 29.235 (6).
27.01(7)(g)2. 2. Except as provided in subds. 3. and 4., the department shall charge a fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt of not less than $10.85 but not more than $15.85, as determined by the secretary, for any vehicle that has a registration plate from another state.
Effective date note NOTE: Subd. 2. is shown as amended eff. 1-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 1-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text 2. Except as provided in subds. 3. and 4., the fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt for any vehicle that has a registration plate or plates from another state is $10.85.
27.01(7)(g)3. 3. Subject to par. (gm) 5., the department shall charge a fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt of not less than $14.85 but not more than $19.85 for a motor bus that has a registration plate from another state.
Effective date note NOTE: Subd. 3. is shown as amended eff. 1-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 1-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text 3. Subject to par. (gm) 5., the fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt for a motor bus that has a registration plate or plates from another state is $14.85.
27.01(7)(g)4. 4. Notwithstanding subd. 3. and subject to par. (gm) 5., the department shall charge a fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt of not less than $5.85 but not more than $10.85 for a motor bus that has a registration plate from another state and primarily transports residents from nursing homes located in this state.
Effective date note NOTE: Subd. 4. is shown as amended eff. 1-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 1-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text 4. Notwithstanding subd. 3. and subject to par. (gm) 5., the fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt for a motor bus which primarily transports residents from nursing homes located in this state is $5.85, for any motor bus which has a registration plate or plates from another state.
27.01(7)(gm) (gm) Reduced fee vehicle admission receipts.
27.01(7)(gm)1.1. Instead of the fees under pars. (f) 1. and (g) 1., the department shall charge an individual $15 or $20, respectively, for an annual vehicle admission receipt if the individual applying for the receipt or a member of his or her household owns a vehicle for which a current annual vehicle admission receipt has been issued for the applicable fee under par. (f) 1. or (g) 1.
27.01(7)(gm)3. 3. Notwithstanding par. (f) 1., the fee for an annual vehicle admission receipt for a vehicle that has Wisconsin registration plates and that is owned by a resident senior citizen, as defined in s. 29.001 (72), is $12.50.
27.01(7)(gm)4. 4. Notwithstanding par. (f) 2., the fee for a daily vehicle admission receipt for a vehicle that has Wisconsin registration plates and that is owned by a resident senior citizen, as defined in s. 29.001 (72), is $2.85.
27.01(7)(gm)5. 5. A business or entity that owns motor buses shall receive a discount of 50 percent of the total amount of fees paid under pars. (f) and (g) for daily vehicle admission receipts during a calendar year, if the business or entity receives, in the initial transaction for the calendar year, a least 50 daily vehicle admission receipts.
27.01(7)(gr) (gr) Issuing fees. The department shall collect an issuing fee of 50 cents for each annual vehicle admission receipt issued and an issuing fee of 15 cents for each daily vehicle admission receipt issued.
27.01(7)(gu) (gu) Transaction payments. The department shall establish a system under which the department pays each agent appointed under sub. (7m) (a) a payment of 50 cents for each time that the agent processes a transaction through the statewide automated system contracted for under sub. (7m) (d). This payment is in addition to any issuing fee retained by the agent. The department shall make these payments by allowing the agent to retain an amount equal to the payments from the amounts that are collected by the agent and that would otherwise be remitted to the department.
27.01(7)(h) (h) Use of vehicle admission receipt and issuing fees. All moneys collected as fees under pars. (f) to (gr) and sub. (7m) (b) that are not retained by agents under par. (gu) or sub. (7m) (b) shall be paid within one week into the state treasury, credited to the conservation fund and used for state parks, state recreation areas, recreation areas in state forests, and the Bong area lands.
27.01(7m) (7m)Collection; agents; vehicle admission and issuing fees.
27.01(7m)(a)(a) The department may appoint agents who are not employees of the department to issue vehicle admission receipts and collect the vehicle admission fees under sub. (7), except for receipts issued and fees collected under sub. (7) (gm) 5.
27.01(7m)(b) (b) An agent appointed under par. (a) shall collect the applicable issuing fee specified in sub. (7) (gr). The agent may retain the issuing fees to compensate the agent for the agent's services in issuing the receipts.
27.01(7m)(c) (c) The department may promulgate rules regulating the activities of persons who are authorized as agents under this subsection.
27.01(7m)(d) (d) The department may contract with persons who are not employees of the department to operate a statewide automated system for issuing vehicle admission receipts and collecting vehicle admission fees under sub. (7), except for receipts issued and fees collected under sub. (7) (gm) 5.
27.01(8) (8)Admission fees; heritage hill state park; state trails.
27.01(8)(a)(a) Admission fee. Except as provided under pars. (b) and (bn), the department may charge a person an admission fee to enter Heritage Hill state park or a state trail.
27.01(8)(b) (b) Exemptions; Heritage Hill and state trails. No admission fee to enter Heritage Hill State Park or any state trail may be charged for entry by any of the following:
27.01(8)(b)1. 1. Any person during the period from October 27 to March 31, except as the department provides by rule;
27.01(8)(b)2. 2. Any person holding a senior citizen recreation card issued under s. 29.624 or an annual disabled veteran recreation card issued under s. 29.236; or
27.01(8)(b)3. 3. Any person who is at least 18 years of age and who holds a conservation patron license issued under s. 29.235.
27.01(8)(bn) (bn) Exemptions; state trails only. No admission fee to enter any state trail may be charged for entry by any of the following:
27.01(8)(bn)1. 1. Any state resident who produces evidence that shows that he or she is a veteran, as defined in 38 USC 101, and is receiving disability compensation benefits under 38 USC 1101 to 1163 as individually unemployable under 38 USC 1502 or for disabilities that result in a disability rating that is 70 percent or greater under 38 USC 1114.
27.01(8)(bn)2. 2. Any state resident who produces evidence that shows that he or she was a member of the U.S. armed services and was held as a prisoner of war during a war period, as defined in s. 45.01 (13), or while in service in a crisis zone, as defined in s. 45.01 (11).
27.01(8)(bn)3. 3. Any person who on Veterans Day or during the 3-day weekend that includes Memorial Day produces evidence that shows that he or she is a state resident and a service member, as defined in sub. (7) (a) 1m.
27.01(8)(c) (c) Amount of admission fee.
27.01(8)(c)1.1. The department may establish by rule the amount of the admission fee to enter Heritage Hill state park.
27.01(8)(c)2. 2. The department shall issue an annual state trail pass that authorizes admission to a state trail during the calendar year for which the annual state trail pass is issued. The fee for an annual state trail pass is $25.
27.01(8)(c)3. 3. The fee for a daily state trail pass is $5.
27.01(8)(e) (e) Operation of certain parks and trails. The department may authorize nonprofit corporations to operate state trails and state parks classified as historical parks.
27.01(8)(f) (f) Heritage Hill; special fees. A nonprofit corporation authorized by the department to operate Heritage Hill state park may collect and retain separate fees for special programs and profits from the sale of books, souvenirs, gifts and consignment items if this revenue is used for the park.
27.01(8m) (8m)Collection; agents; heritage hill state park; state trails.
27.01(8m)(a)(a) The department may authorize agents, including the department's concessionaires and their agents, to collect the admission fees under sub. (8) as follows:
27.01(8m)(a)1. 1. Agents who are managers and operators of state trails, and who incur actual operating expenses, may retain not more than 70 percent of the admission fees that they collect.
27.01(8m)(a)2. 2. Agents to whom subd. 1. does not apply may retain not more than 20 percent of the admission fees that they collect.
27.01(8m)(b) (b) An agent who is a manager and operator of a state trail, and who incurs actual operating expenses, must use the fees retained under this subsection for the operation of the state trail.
27.01(8m)(c) (c) The department may promulgate rules regulating the activities of agents under this subsection.
27.01(9) (9)Waiver of fees; special fees.
27.01(9)(a)(a) Generally. The department may waive the fees under subs. (7) and (8) or may charge admission fees in addition to or instead of those fees. Fees or fee waivers may vary, based upon any of the following:
27.01(9)(a)1. 1. Certain classes of persons or groups.
27.01(9)(a)2. 2. Certain areas.
27.01(9)(a)3. 3. Certain types of visitation or times of the year.
27.01(9)(a)4. 4. Admission to special scheduled events or programs.
27.01(9)(a)5. 5. Admission based on a per person basis.
27.01(9)(bn) (bn) Annual vehicle admission receipt fee waiver. The department shall waive the fee, including the issuing fee, imposed under sub. (7) for an annual vehicle admission receipt for any vehicle, except a motor bus, that has Wisconsin registration plates and that is owned by a person who produces evidence that he or she is the owner, is a state resident, and is a service member, as defined in sub. (7) (a) 1m. Each person who qualifies for this waiver may receive the waiver only once. For purposes of administering this paragraph, the department shall establish and maintain a list of service members, as defined in sub. (7) (a) 1m., who have received the onetime exemption.
27.01(9)(c) (c) Annual trail fee waiver. The department shall waive any annual fee for admission to state trails that is established under sub. (8) (c) for any person who produces evidence that he or she is a state resident and a service member, as defined in sub. (7) (a) 1m. Each person who qualifies for this waiver may receive the waiver only once. For purposes of administering this paragraph, the department shall establish and maintain a list of service members, as defined in sub. (7) (a) 1m., who have received the onetime exemption.
27.01(10) (10)Campgrounds; fees.
27.01(10)(a)(a) Definition of resident. As used in this subsection “resident" means a person who maintains his or her place of permanent abode in this state. Domiciliary intent is required to establish that a person is maintaining his or her place of permanent abode in this state. Mere ownership of property is not sufficient to establish domiciliary intent. Evidence of domiciliary intent includes, without limitation, the location where the person votes, pays personal income taxes or obtains a driver's license.
27.01(10)(b) (b) Establishment, operation and categories of campgrounds. The department may establish and operate state campgrounds in state parks, state forests and other lands under its supervision and management. The department may classify, by rule, state campgrounds into separate categories.
27.01(10)(c) (c) Imposition of camping fee. Except as provided under par. (f), no person may camp in a state campground unless the applicable camping fee is paid.
27.01(10)(d) (d) Camping fees. Except as provided under pars. (f) and (h):
27.01(10)(d)1. 1. The department shall charge a camping fee of not less than $15 but not more than $30, as determined by the secretary, for each night at a campsite in a state campground for a resident camping party, except as provided under par. (fm).
Effective date note NOTE: Subd. 1. is shown as amended eff. 1-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 1-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text 1. The department shall charge a camping fee of not less than $15 but not more than $20, as determined by the secretary, for each night at a campsite in a state campground for a resident camping party, except as provided under par. (fm).
27.01(10)(d)2. 2. The department shall charge a camping fee of not less than $19 but not more than $35, as determined by the secretary, for each night at a campsite in a state campground for a nonresident camping party, except as provided under par. (fm).
Effective date note NOTE: Subd. 2. is shown as amended eff. 1-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 1-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text 2. The department shall charge a camping fee of not less than $19 but not more than $25, as determined by the secretary, for each night at a campsite in a state campground for a nonresident camping party, except as provided under par. (fm).
27.01(10)(e) (e) Determination of residency. The department shall base its determination of whether a camping party is a resident or nonresident camping party upon the residency of the person who applies for a reservation under sub. (11) at the time the application for reservation is made or, if no reservation is made, the residency of the person who registers for the campsite at the time of registration.
27.01(10)(f) (f) Waiver of fees; special fees. The department may waive camping fees, charge additional camping fees or charge special fees instead of camping fees for certain classes of persons or groups, certain areas, certain types of camping or times of the year and for admission to special events.
27.01(10)(fm) (fm) Fee adjustments. The secretary may raise the fees under par. (d) 1. or 2. by not more than $5 above the respective maximum fee specified under par. (d) 1. or 2. or may lower the fees under par. (d) 1. or 2. by not more than $5 below the respective minimum fee specified under par. (d) 1. or 2.
27.01(10)(g) (g) Additional camping fees. Besides the additional camping fees authorized under par. (f), the department may charge:
27.01(10)(g)1. 1. An additional camping fee of $1 per night for a resident camping party.
27.01(10)(g)2. 2. An additional camping fee from $1.50 to $1.75 per night for a nonresident camping party.
27.01(10)(g)3. 3. An additional camping fee of $1 for each pet accompanying a camping party.
27.01(10)(g)4. 4. An additional camping fee of $1 per night per camping party for a Friday, Saturday or Sunday night.
27.01(10)(g)5. 5. Except as provided in subd. 6., an additional camping fee of $10 per night for a camping party that uses electricity supplied at a state campground if the campsite has an electric receptacle.
Effective date note NOTE: Subd. 5. is shown as amended eff. 1-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59. Prior to 1-1-18 it reads:
Effective date text 5. An additional camping fee of $10 per night for a camping party that uses electricity supplied at a state campground if the campsite has an electric receptacle.
27.01(10)(g)6. 6. An additional camping fee of $15 per night for a camping party that uses electricity supplied at a state campground located in Devil's Lake State Park, High Cliff State Park, Kohler-Andrae State Park, Peninsula State Park, or Willow River State Park, if the campsite has an electric receptacle.
Effective date note NOTE: Subd. 6. is created eff. 1-1-18 by 2017 Wis. Act 59.
27.01(10)(h) (h) Increased camping fees. In addition to its authority under par. (f), the department shall determine which state campgrounds are located in areas where local market conditions justify the establishment of higher camping fees to be charged by the department. For these state campgrounds, the department shall promulgate rules to establish higher camping fees to be based on the applicable local market conditions.
27.01(11) (11)Campground reservation system.
27.01(11)(a)(a) Authorization. The department may establish and operate a campground reservation system for state campgrounds in state parks, state forests and other lands under the department's supervision and control. The department may participate with owners of private campgrounds in a cooperative reservation system.
27.01(11)(b) (b) Rules. The department shall promulgate rules for the operation of the campground reservation system. The rules shall include all of the following:
27.01(11)(b)1. 1. The authority to refuse to accept campground reservation applications before a certain date or to treat applications received before that date as if they had been made on that date.
Loading...
Loading...
2015-16 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2017 Wis. Act 135 and all Supreme Court and Controlled Substances Board Orders effective on or before December 14, 2017. Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after December 14, 2017 are designated by NOTES. (Published 12-14-17)