Feed for /statutes/statutes/441 PDF
441.01(1)(1) In this subchapter, "board" means board of nursing.
441.01(3) (3) The board may establish minimum standards for schools for professional nurses and schools for licensed practical nurses, including all related clinical units and facilities, and make and provide periodic surveys and consultations to such schools. It may also establish rules to prevent unauthorized persons from practicing professional nursing. It shall approve all rules for the administration of this chapter in accordance with ch. 227.
441.01(4) (4) The board shall direct that those schools that qualify be placed on a list of schools the board has approved for professional nurses or of schools the board has approved for licensed practical nurses on application and proof of qualifications; and shall make a study of nursing education and initiate rules and policies to improve it.
441.01(5) (5) The board may promote the professional education of graduate registered nurses licensed in Wisconsin, through creation of scholarships available to such graduate registered nurses, by foundation of professorships in nursing courses in Wisconsin colleges and universities, by conducting educational meetings, seminars, lectures, demonstrations and the like open to registered nurses, by publication and dissemination of technical information or by other similar activities designed to improve the standards of the nursing profession in this state. The board may promote the training of licensed practical nurses through support of workshops and institutes and by conducting meetings, lectures, demonstrations and the like open to licensed practical nurses.
441.01(6) (6) The board shall investigate any nurse anesthetist who is found to have acted negligently by a panel established under s. 655.02, 1983 stats., or by a court.
441.01(7) (7)
441.01(7)(a)(a) The board shall require each applicant for the renewal of a license, certificate, or permit issued under this chapter to do all of the following as a condition for renewing the license, certificate, or permit:
441.01(7)(a)1. 1. Complete and submit to the department with the application for renewal of the license, certificate, or permit a nursing workforce survey developed by the department of workforce development under s. 106.30 (2).
441.01(7)(a)2. 2. Pay a nursing workforce survey fee of $4. All moneys received under this subdivision shall be deposited into the general fund and credited to the appropriation account under s. 20.165 (1) (jm).
441.01(7)(b) (b) The board may not renew a license, certificate, or permit under this chapter unless the renewal applicant has completed the nursing workforce survey to the satisfaction of the board. The board shall establish standards to determine whether the survey has been completed. The board shall, by no later than June 30 of each odd-numbered year, submit all completed nursing workforce survey forms to the department of workforce development.
441.01 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also chs. N 1 and 2, Wis. adm. code.
441.05 441.05 Examination for nurses. The examining council on registered nurses shall prepare or select written questions in areas it determines and prescribe rules, subject to the approval of the board, for conducting examinations and the preservation of the examination papers for one year. Examinations shall be held at least twice a year at times and places designated by the examining council, and at least 30 days' public notice shall be given. Examinations may also be held at other times and places with or without public notice as directed by the examining council. The examining council may also proctor an examination of another state for the convenience of a candidate and charge such fee therefor as the department fixes to cover the actual cost of the service rendered.
441.05 History History: 1977 c. 29.
441.05 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also ch. N 2, Wis. adm. code.
441.06 441.06 Licensure; civil liability exemptions.
441.06(1) (1) Subject to s. 441.07 (1g), the board shall grant a license as a registered nurse to an applicant for licensure who complies with all of the following requirements:
441.06(1)(a) (a) The applicant graduates from a high school or its equivalent as determined by the board.
441.06 Note NOTE: Par. (a) is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 4, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 28, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i).
441.06(1)(b) (b) The applicant does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335.
441.06 Note NOTE: Par. (b) is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 4, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 28, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i).
441.06(1)(c) (c) The applicant holds a diploma of graduation from a school of nursing approved by the board or that the board has authorized to admit students pending approval, and, if that school is located outside this state, submits evidence of general and professional educational qualifications comparable to those required in this state at the time of graduation[;].
441.06 Note NOTE: Par. (c) is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 4, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 28, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i). The semicolon in brackets was inserted by 2013 Wis. Act 124 but is unnecessary as a result of the treatment by 2013 Wis. Act 114. Corrective legislation is pending.
441.06(1)(d) (d) The applicant pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1)[, that person].
441.06 Note NOTE: Par. (d) is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 4, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 28, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i). The language in brackets was inserted by 2013 Wis. Act 124 but is unnecessary as a result of the treatment by 2013 Wis. Act 114. Corrective legislation is pending.
441.06(1)(e) (e) The applicant passes the examination under s. 441.05 to receive a license as a registered nurse in this state. The applicant may not take the examination before receiving a diploma under par. (c) unless the applicant obtains a certificate of approval to take the examination from the school of nursing the applicant attends and submits that certificate to the board prior to examination.
441.06(1m) (1m) The holder of a license as a registered nurse under the laws of another state or territory or province of Canada may be granted a license as a registered nurse in this state without examination if the holder's credentials of general and professional educational qualifications and other qualifications are comparable to those required in this state during the same period and if the board is satisfied from the holder's employment and professional record that the holder is currently competent to practice the profession. The board shall evaluate the credentials and determine the equivalency and competency in each case. The application for licensure without examination shall be accompanied by the fee prescribed in s. 440.05 (2).
441.06(2) (2) The holder of the license is a "registered nurse", may append "R.N." to his or her name and is authorized to practice professional nursing.
441.06(3) (3) A registered nurse practicing for compensation shall, on or before the applicable renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a), submit to the board on furnished forms a statement giving name, residence, and other facts that the board requires, with the applicable renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).
441.06(4) (4) Except as provided in s. 257.03, no person may practice or attempt to practice professional nursing, nor use the title, letters, or anything else to indicate that he or she is a registered or professional nurse unless he or she is licensed under this section. Except as provided in s. 257.03, no person not so licensed may use in connection with his or her nursing employment or vocation any title or anything else to indicate that he or she is a trained, certified or graduate nurse. This subsection does not apply to any person who is licensed to practice nursing by a jurisdiction, other than this state, that has adopted the nurse licensure compact under s. 441.50.
441.06(6) (6) No person licensed as a registered nurse under this section is liable for any civil damages resulting from his or her refusal to perform sterilization procedures or to remove or aid in the removal of a human embryo or fetus from a person, if the refusal is based on religious or moral precepts.
441.06(7) (7) No person certified as an advanced practice nurse prescriber under s. 441.16 (2) is liable for civil damages for any of the following:
441.06(7)(a) (a) Reporting in good faith to the department of transportation under s. 146.82 (3) a patient's name and other information relevant to a physical or mental condition of the patient that in the advanced practice nurse prescriber's judgment impairs the patient's ability to exercise reasonable and ordinary control over a motor vehicle.
441.06(7)(b) (b) In good faith, not reporting to the department of transportation under s. 146.82 (3) a patient's name and other information relevant to a physical or mental condition of the patient that in the advanced practice nurse prescriber's judgment does not impair the patient's ability to exercise reasonable and ordinary control over a motor vehicle.
441.06 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also chs. N 3 and 5, Wis. adm. code.
441.07 441.07 Disciplinary proceedings and actions.
441.07(1c)(1c) Subject to the rules promulgated under s. 440.03 (1), the board may conduct investigations and hearings to determine whether a person has violated this chapter or a rule promulgated under this chapter.
441.07(1g) (1g) Subject to the rules promulgated under s. 440.03 (1), the board may deny an initial license or revoke, limit, suspend, or deny the renewal of a license of a registered nurse, nurse-midwife, or licensed practical nurse; deny an initial certificate or revoke, limit, suspend, or deny the renewal of a certificate to prescribe drugs or devices granted under s. 441.16; or reprimand a registered nurse, nurse-midwife, or licensed practical nurse, if the board finds that the applicant or licensee committed any of the following:
441.07(1g)(a) (a) Fraud in the procuring or renewal of the certificate or license.
441.07(1g)(b) (b) One or more violations of this subchapter or any rule adopted by the board under the authority of this subchapter.
441.07(1g)(c) (c) Acts which show the registered nurse, nurse-midwife or licensed practical nurse to be unfit or incompetent by reason of negligence, abuse of alcohol or other drugs or mental incompetency.
441.07(1g)(d) (d) Misconduct or unprofessional conduct. In this paragraph, "misconduct" and "unprofessional conduct" do not include any of the following:
441.07(1g)(d)1. 1. Providing expedited partner therapy as described in s. 448.035.
441.07(1g)(d)2. 2. Prescribing or delivering an opioid antagonist in accordance with s. 441.18 (2).
441.07(1g)(e) (e) A violation of any state or federal law that regulates prescribing or dispensing drugs or devices, if the person has a certificate to prescribe drugs or devices under s. 441.16.
441.07(1g)(f) (f) A violation of the requirements of s. 253.10 (3) (c) 2., 3., 4., 5., 6. or 7.
441.07(1m) (1m) The board may use any information obtained by the board or the department under s. 655.17 (7) (b), as created by 1985 Wisconsin Act 29, in investigations and disciplinary proceedings, including public disciplinary proceedings, conducted under this chapter.
441.07(2) (2) The board may reinstate a revoked license, no earlier than one year following revocation, upon receipt of an application for reinstatement. This subsection does not apply to a license that is revoked under s. 440.12.
441.07 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also ch. N 7, Wis. adm. code.
441.08 441.08 Temporary permit. A nurse who has graduated from a school approved by the board or that the board has authorized to admit students pending approval but who is not licensed in this state may be granted a temporary permit upon payment of the fee specified in s. 440.05 (6) by the board to practice for compensation until the nurse can qualify for licensure. The temporary permit may be renewed once. Each applicant for renewal of a temporary permit under this section shall complete the nursing workforce survey and pay the fee required under s. 441.01 (7). Further renewals may be granted in hardship cases. The board may promulgate rules limiting the use and duration of temporary permits and providing for revocation of temporary permits.
441.08 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also ch. N 5, Wis. adm. code.
441.10 441.10 Licensed practical nurses.
441.10(2) (2) Examination. The examining council on licensed practical nurses shall prepare or select written questions in areas it determines and prescribe rules, subject to the approval of the board, for the examination of those desirous of becoming licensed practical nurses, and the examination papers of all applicants shall be preserved for one year. Examinations shall be held at least twice annually at times and places designated by the board, and at least 30 days' public notice shall be given of each examination. Examinations may also be held at other times and places with or without public notice as directed by the examining council. The examining council may also proctor an examination of another state for the convenience of a candidate and shall charge such fee therefor as the department fixes to cover the actual cost of the services rendered.
441.10(3) (3)Licensing.
441.10(3)(a)(a) Subject to s. 441.07 (1g), the board shall grant a license as a licensed practical nurse to an applicant for licensure who satisfies all of the following conditions:
441.10(3)(a)1. 1. The applicant is 18 years of age or older.
441.10 Note NOTE: Subd. 1. is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 9, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 30, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i).
441.10(3)(a)2. 2. The applicant does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335.
441.10 Note NOTE: Subd. 2. is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 9, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 30, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i).
441.10(3)(a)3. 3. The applicant has completed 2 years of high school or its equivalent as determined by the board[,].
441.10 Note NOTE: Subd. 3. is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 9, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 30, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i). The comma in brackets was inserted by 2013 Wis. Act 124 but is unnecessary as a result of the treatment by 2013 Wis. Act 114. Corrective legislation is pending.
441.10(3)(a)4. 4. The applicant holds a diploma of graduation from a school for licensed practical nurses approved by the board or that the board has authorized to admit students pending approval[;].
441.10 Note NOTE: Subd. 4. is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 9, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 30, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i). The semicolon in brackets was inserted by 2013 Wis. Act 124 but is unnecessary as a result of the treatment by 2013 Wis. Act 114. Corrective legislation is pending.
441.10(3)(a)5. 5. The applicant pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1) [that person].
441.10 Note NOTE: Subd. 5. is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 9, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 30, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i). The language in brackets was inserted by 2013 Wis. Act 124 but is unnecessary as a result of the treatment by 2013 Wis. Act 114. Corrective legislation is pending.
441.10(3)(a)6. 6. The applicant passes the examination under sub. (2) for licensure as a licensed practical nurse in this state. The applicant may not take the examination before receiving a diploma under subd. 4. unless the applicant obtains a certificate of approval to take the examination from the school of nursing the applicant attends and submits that certificate to the board prior to examination.
441.10(3)(ag) (ag) Any school for licensed practical nurses, in order to be approved by the board, must offer a course of not less than 9 months.
441.10 Note NOTE: Par. (ag) is shown as affected by 2013 Wis. Act 114, section 9, and 2013 Wis. Act 124, section 30, and as merged by the legislative reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i).
441.10(3)(ar) (ar) The holder of a license under this subsection is a "licensed practical nurse" and may append the letters "L.P.N." to his or her name. The board may reprimand or may limit, suspend, or revoke the license of a licensed practical nurse under s. 441.07.
441.10(3)(b) (b) On or before the applicable renewal date specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a), a licensed practical nurse practicing for compensation shall submit to the board, on forms furnished by the department, an application for license renewal, together with a statement giving name, residence, nature and extent of practice as a licensed practical nurse during the prior year and prior unreported years, the nursing workforce survey and fee required under s. 441.01 (7), and other facts bearing upon current competency that the board requires, accompanied by the applicable license renewal fee determined by the department under s. 440.03 (9) (a).
441.10(3)(c) (c) No license is required for practical nursing, but, except as provided in s. 257.03, no person without a license may hold himself or herself out as a licensed practical nurse or licensed attendant, use the title or letters "Trained Practical Nurse" or "T.P.N.", "Licensed Practical Nurse" or "L.P.N.", "Licensed Attendant" or "L.A.", "Trained Attendant" or "T.A.", or otherwise seek to indicate that he or she is a licensed practical nurse or licensed attendant. No licensed practical nurse or licensed attendant may use the title, or otherwise seek to act as a registered, licensed, graduate or professional nurse. Anyone violating this subsection shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by s. 441.13. The board shall grant without examination a license as a licensed practical nurse to any person who was on July 1, 1949, a licensed attendant. This paragraph does not apply to any person who is licensed to practice practical nursing by a jurisdiction, other than this state, that has adopted the nurse licensure compact under s. 441.50.
441.10(3)(d) (d) The board may license without examination any person who has been licensed as a licensed attendant or licensed practical nurse in another state or territory or province of Canada if the person's general education, training, prior practice and other qualifications, in the opinion of the board, are at least comparable to those of this state for licensed practical nurses and current licensing or renewal. The fee for licensing without examination is specified in s. 440.05 (2).
441.10(3)(e) (e) The board may grant a temporary permit to a practical nurse who has graduated from a school approved by the board or that the board has authorized to admit students pending approval but who is not licensed in this state, upon payment of the fee specified in s. 440.05 (6), to practice for compensation until the practical nurse qualifies for licensure. The board may grant further renewals in hardship cases. The board may promulgate rules limiting the use and duration of temporary permits and providing for revocation of temporary permits.
441.10 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also ch. N 6, Wis. adm. code.
441.11 441.11 Nurse anesthetists.
441.11(1)(1) In this section:
441.11(1)(a) (a) "Anesthesiologist" has the meaning given in s. 448.015 (1b).
441.11(1)(b) (b) "Nurse anesthetist" has the meaning given in s. 655.001 (9).
441.11(2) (2) The provisions of s. 448.04 (1) (g) do not apply to a nurse anesthetist.
441.11(3) (3) A nurse who is in a training program to become a nurse anesthetist and who is assisting an anesthesiologist as part of that training program must be supervised by an anesthesiologist who is supervising no more than one other nurse in such a training program.
441.11 History History: 2011 a. 160.
441.115 441.115 Exceptions; temporary practice.
441.115(1) (1) This chapter may not be construed to affect nursing by friends, members of the family, or undergraduates in a school approved by the board, nor be construed to interfere with members of religious communities or orders having charge of hospitals or taking care of the sick in their homes, except that none of those persons may represent himself or herself as a registered, trained, certified, or graduate nurse unless registered under this subchapter.
441.115(2) (2)
441.115(2)(a)(a) In this subsection, "nursing credential" means a license, permit or certificate of registration or certification that is granted to a person by another state or territory or by a foreign country or province and that authorizes or qualifies the person holding the credential to perform acts that are substantially the same as those performed by a person licensed as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse under this subchapter. In this paragraph, "state or territory" excludes any state or territory that has adopted the nurse licensure compact under s. 441.50.
Loading...
Loading...
2011-12 Wisconsin Statutes updated though 2013 Wis. Act 380 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before June 30, 2014. Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after July 1, 2014 are designated by NOTES. (Published 7-1-14)