49.155(3)(d) (d) Assist individuals who are eligible for child care subsidies under this section to identify available child care providers and select appropriate child care arrangements.
49.155(3)(e) (e) At intervals, or as otherwise required by the department, review and redetermine the financial and nonfinancial eligibility of individuals receiving child care subsidies under this section.
49.155(3g) (3g)Child care administration in certain counties. In a county having a population of 500,000 or more all of the following apply:
49.155(3g)(a) (a) The department may contract with the Milwaukee County enrollment services unit, as provided in s. 49.825 (2) (b), to do any of the following:
49.155(3g)(a)1. 1. Determine the eligibility of individuals for a child care subsidy under this section.
49.155(3g)(a)2. 2. Determine an individual's liability for copayments under sub. (5).
49.155(3g)(a)3. 3. Determine and authorize the amount of child care for which an individual may receive a subsidy.
49.155(3g)(a)4. 4. At intervals, or as otherwise required by the department, review and redetermine the financial and nonfinancial eligibility of individuals receiving child care subsidies under this section.
49.155(3g)(b) (b) The department may establish a child care provider services unit, as provided in s. 49.826, to perform the provider services functions specified in s. 49.826 (2) (a).
49.155(3m) (3m)Distribution of child care funds.
49.155(3m)(a)(a) The department shall issue benefits directly to individuals who are eligible for subsidies under this section or pay or reimburse child care providers, county departments or agencies, or tribal governing bodies for child care services under this section. The department may also contract with and provide grants to private nonprofit agencies that provide child care for children of migrant workers. The department may pay or reimburse a Wisconsin Works agency for child care that the Wisconsin Works agency provides to the children of Wisconsin Works participants and applicants or that the Wisconsin Works agency arranges to meet immediate, short-term child care needs of participants prior to authorization of a subsidy under sub. (1m).
49.155(3m)(b)1.1. Subject to subds. 2. and 3., the department shall, to the extent practicable, allocate funds to a contract entered into under sub. (1m) for the administration of the program under sub. (3) in the same proportion as the geographic region's or Indian tribal unit's proportionate share of all statewide subsidy authorizations and eligibility redeterminations under sub. (3) (e) in the 12-month period before the start of the contract period.
49.155(3m)(b)2. 2. The department shall allocate to each contract at least $20,000 per year for the administrative responsibilities for each geographic region or Indian tribal unit.
49.155(3m)(b)3. 3. If the department renews a contract for a subsequent year, the department shall allocate to the contract not less than 95 percent of the amount allocated to the contract in the previous year, unless the geographic region or Indian tribal unit is not comparable or total funding available for all contracts is lower than the total amount available in the previous year.
49.155(3m)(b)4. 4. Within any contract period, the department may redistribute unexpended contract balances for a county department or agency to another county department or agency that reports expenditures in excess of their original contract total for the period.
49.155(3m)(d)1.1. No funds distributed under par. (a) may be used for child care services that are provided for a child by a child care provider who is the parent of the child or who resides with the child.
49.155(3m)(d)2. 2. If a child's parent is a child care provider, no funds distributed under par. (a) may be used for child care services that are provided for the child by another child care provider who is not the child's parent.
49.155(3m)(d)3. 3. Subdivision 1. or 2. does not apply if the child's parent has applied for, and been granted, a waiver of the prohibition under subd. 1. or 2. by the county department or agency or by the department.
49.155(3m)(d)4. 4. The department shall by rule specify the circumstances, or standards for determining the circumstances, under which the department will grant a waiver under subd. 3.
49.155(3m)(e)1.1. In this paragraph, "qualifying child" means a child who satisfies both of the following:
49.155(3m)(e)1.a. a. He or she is not a child of an employee of the child care provider.
49.155(3m)(e)1.b. b. He or she does not reside with an employee of the child care provider.
49.155(3m)(e)2. 2. No funds distributed under par. (a) may be used for child care services that are provided for a child by a child care provider who employs either the parent of the child or a person who resides with the child, unless the child care provider is licensed under s. 48.65 and at all times at least 60 percent of the children for whom the child care provider is providing care are qualifying children.
49.155(3m)(e)3. 3. Notwithstanding subd. 2., if a child care provider described in subd. 2. satisfies the requirements for payment under subd. 2. but the percentage of qualifying children for whom the provider is providing care falls below 60 percent, the provider shall have 6 weeks to raise the percentage of qualifying children for whom the provider is providing care to at least 60 percent before payments to the provider are discontinued for child care services provided for a child who is not a qualifying child.
49.155(4) (4)Choice of provider.
49.155(4)(a)(a) An eligible individual shall choose whether the child care will be provided by a child care center licensed under s. 48.65, a Level I certified family child care provider, a Level II certified family child care provider, or a child care program provided or contracted for by a school board under s. 120.13 (14).
49.155(4)(b)1.1. Except as provided in subd. 2., no eligible individual may benefit personally from any marketing or promotional offerings made by a child care provider to attract clients or increase business.
49.155(4)(b)2. 2. Subdivision 1. does not apply to marketing or promotional offerings that directly benefit an eligible individual's child for whom the child care provider is providing child care services.
49.155(4)(c)1.1. Notwithstanding par. (a) and subject to subd. 2., an eligible individual may receive a child care subsidy under this section for child care that is provided by an out-of-state provider of child care. Notwithstanding sub. (6), payments for child care services provided by an out-of-state provider under this subdivision shall be based on the maximum rate applicable in the county in which the eligible individual resides or on the out-of-state provider's actual rate, whichever is lower.
49.155(4)(c)2. 2. As a condition of payment under this section for child care services provided to a child of an individual who is eligible for a subsidy under this section, an out-of-state provider is subject to, and shall comply with, the provisions of this section, and rules promulgated under this section, that apply to a child care provider, as determined by the department.
49.155(5) (5)Liability for payment.
49.155(5)(a)(a) An individual receiving a subsidy under this section is liable for the difference, if any, between the cost of the child care provided by the child care provider or providers selected by the individual and the subsidy amount. The department shall specify minimum or estimated copayment amounts based on family size, income level, and other factors, a schedule of which will be available in electronic form on the department's Internet site and in paper form.
49.155(5)(b) (b) An individual who is under the age of 20 and attending high school or participating in a course of study meeting the standards established under s. 115.29 (4) for the granting of a declaration of equivalency to high school graduation may not be determined liable for more than the minimum copayment amount for the type of child care received and the number of children receiving child care.
49.155 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also s. DCF 56.08, Wis. adm. code.
49.155(6) (6)Child care rates and quality standards.
49.155(6)(a)(a) The department shall establish maximum payment rates for licensed child care services provided under this section. The department shall set the rates so that at least 75% of the number of places for children within the licensed capacity of all child care providers can be purchased by eligible individuals under this section.
49.155(6)(b) (b) The department shall set maximum payment rates for Level I certified family child care providers for services provided to eligible individuals under this section. The maximum rates set under this paragraph may not exceed 75% of the rates established under par. (a).
49.155(6)(c) (c) The department shall set maximum payment rates for Level II certified family child care providers for services provided to eligible individuals under this section. The maximum rates set under this paragraph may not exceed 50% of the rates established under par. (a).
49.155(6)(cm) (cm) The department shall modify child care provider payment rates established under pars. (a) to (c) so that payment rates are lower for providers of after-school child care.
49.155(6)(d) (d) The department may promulgate rules to establish a system of rates or a program of grants for child care providers that meet the higher quality of care standards established by rules promulgated under sub. (1d) (b). If a system of rates is established under this paragraph, the rates under that system shall be higher than the rates established under pars. (a) to (c).
49.155(6)(e)1.1. In this paragraph, "quality rating plan" means the plan for implementing the child care quality rating system under s. 48.659 submitted by the department under 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, section 9108 (7f).
49.155(6)(e)2. 2. Except as provided in subd. 3., the department may not increase the maximum payment rates for child care providers before June 30, 2013.
49.155(6)(e)3. 3. The department may modify a child care provider's payment rate under subd. 2. on the basis of the provider's quality rating, as described in the quality rating plan, in the following manner:
49.155(6)(e)3.a. a. For a child care provider who receives a 1-star rating, the department shall deny payment.
49.155(6)(e)3.b. b. For a child care provider who receives a 2-star rating, the department may reduce the maximum payment rate by up to 5 percent.
49.155(6)(e)3.c. c. For a child care provider who receives a 3-star rating, the department may pay up to the maximum payment rate.
49.155(6)(e)3.d. d. For a child care provider who receives a 4-star rating, the department may increase the maximum payment rate by up to 10 percent.
49.155(6)(e)3.e. e. For a child care provider who receives a 5-star rating, the department may increase the maximum payment rate for such a child care provider by up to 25 percent.
49.155(6)(e)4. 4. The department may use a severity-index tool, as described in the quality rating plan, to disqualify child care providers who receive a low quality rating, as described in the quality rating plan, from receiving payment under this section.
49.155(6)(e)5. 5. For purposes of modifying payment rates under subd. 3., the department shall assign a child care provider that is accredited from the Council on Accreditation a 4-star rating or 5-star rating, whichever the department determines is appropriate.
49.155 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also s. DCF 56.06, Wis. adm. code.
49.155(6d) (6d)Cost-saving measures.
49.155(6d)(a)(a) To reduce costs under the program under this section, the department may do any of the following:
49.155(6d)(a)1. 1. Notwithstanding sub. (1m), implement a waiting list for receipt of a child care subsidy under this section, except that a Wisconsin Works program participant may not be placed on any waiting list implemented under this subdivision.
49.155(6d)(a)2. 2. Subject to sub. (5) (b), increase the copayment amount that an individual must pay toward the cost of child care received under this section.
49.155(6d)(a)3. 3. Notwithstanding sub. (6), adjust the amount of payment to child care providers providing child care services under this section.
49.155(6d)(a)4. 4. Notwithstanding sub. (1m), adjust the gross income levels for eligibility for receipt of a child care subsidy under this section.
49.155(6d)(b) (b) If the department intends to take any of the actions under par. (a), the department shall submit to the joint committee on finance a report that sets out its plan for implementing the cost-saving measures.
49.155(6g) (6g)Authorized child care hours.
49.155(6g)(a)1.1. In this paragraph, "department" means the department or the county department or agency determining and authorizing the amount of child care for which an individual may receive a subsidy under this section.
49.155(6g)(a)2. 2. Except as provided in subd. 3., the department shall authorize no more than 12 hours of child care per day per child.
49.155(6g)(a)3. 3. The department may authorize more than 12 hours, not exceeding 16 hours, of child care per day for a child whose parent provides written documentation of work or transportation requirements that exceed 12 hours in a day.
49.155(6g)(a)4. 4. If the authorized hours of child care per day for a child will be reduced from more than 12 to 12 or less because the child's parent does not provide the written documentation required under subd. 3., the department shall provide to the child's parent who is receiving the subsidy under this section and to the child's child care provider 4 weeks' notice of the reduction in authorized hours before actually reducing the child's authorized hours.
49.155(6g)(am) (am) If payment to a child care provider is based on authorized hours of child care, the department shall do all of the following with respect to establishing and adjusting the number of authorized hours per child:
49.155(6g)(am)1. 1. The department shall track a child's hourly usage of child care authorizations over a 6-week period.
49.155(6g)(am)2. 2. If the child's hourly usage tracked under subd. 1. is less than 60 percent of the authorized hours of child care, the department shall reduce the authorized hours of child care for the child to 90 percent of the maximum number of hours of child care that the child attended during that 6-week period.
49.155(6g)(am)3. 3. The department shall provide written notice of the proposed adjustment under subd. 2. to the child's parent who is receiving the subsidy under this section, the child's child care provider, and the applicable county department or agency.
49.155(6g)(am)4. 4. The department shall provide a grace period after the number of authorized hours are reduced under subd. 2., during which time the child care subsidy amount paid to the child care provider for the child shall remain the same as before the reduction in authorized hours was made.
49.155(6g)(b) (b) The department shall exclude from a child's hourly usage calculation under par. (am) 2., all of the following:
49.155(6g)(b)1. 1. One week per year of vacation time for the child's child care provider.
49.155(6g)(b)2. 2. One week per year of sick time for the child's child care provider.
49.155(6g)(b)3. 3. Two weeks per year of vacation time for the child's parent who is receiving the subsidy under this section with the child.
49.155(6g)(c) (c) The department shall promulgate rules that specify how the requirements under this subsection will be implemented.
49.155(6m) (6m)Child care provider recordkeeping. With respect to attendance records, a child care provider shall do all of the following:
49.155(6m)(a) (a) Maintain a written record of the daily hours of attendance of each child for whom the provider is providing care under this section, including the actual arrival and departure times for each child.
49.155(6m)(b) (b) Retain the written daily attendance records under par. (a) for each child for at least 3 years after the child's last day of attendance, regardless of whether the child care provider is still receiving or eligible to receive payments under this section.
49.155(7) (7)Refusal of payment to child care providers.
49.155(7)(a)1.1. If a child care provider is convicted of a serious crime, as defined in s. 48.685 (1) (c) 3m., or if a caregiver specified in s. 48.685 (1) (ag) 1. a. or a nonclient resident, as defined in s. 48.685 (1) (bm), of the child care provider is convicted or adjudicated delinquent for committing a serious crime on or after his or her 12th birthday, the department or the county department under s. 46.215, 46.22, or 46.23 shall refuse to allow payment to the child care provider for any child care provided under this section beginning on the date of the conviction or delinquency adjudication.
49.155(7)(a)2. 2. If a child care provider is the subject of a pending criminal charge alleging that the person has committed a serious crime, as defined in s. 48.685 (1) (c) 3m., or if a caregiver specified in s. 48.685 (1) (ag) 1. a. or a nonclient resident, as defined in s. 48.685 (1) (bm), of the child care provider is the subject of a pending criminal charge or delinquency petition alleging that the person has committed a serious crime on or after his or her 12th birthday, the department or the county department under s. 46.215, 46.22, or 46.23 shall immediately suspend payment to the child care provider for any child care provided under this section until the department obtains information regarding the final disposition of the charge or delinquency petition indicating that the person is not ineligible to receive such a payment.
49.155(7)(b) (b) The department or the county department under s. 46.215, 46.22, or 46.23 may refuse to allow payment to a child care provider for child care provided under this section if any of the following applies to the child care provider or to a caregiver specified in s. 48.685 (1) (ag) 1. a. or nonclient resident, as defined in s. 48.685 (1) (bm), of the child care provider:
49.155(7)(b)1. 1. The person has been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent on or after his or her 12th birthday for committing an offense that is not a serious crime, as defined in s. 48.685 (1) (c) 3m., but the department, county department, agency contracted with under s. 48.651 (2), or school board determines under s. 48.685 (5m) that the offense substantially relates to the care of children or the department or county department determines that the offense substantially relates to the operation of a business.
Loading...
Loading...
2011-12 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2013 Wis. Act 380 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before Oct. 4, 2014. Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after Oct. 4, 2014 are designated by NOTES. (Published 10-4-14)