71.65(1)(a)1. 1. The name of such person, partnership or limited liability company, and that person's, partnership's or company's Wisconsin income tax identification number, if any.
71.65(1)(a)2. 2. The name of such employee, and his or her social security number, if any.
71.65(1)(a)3. 3. The total amount of wages.
71.65(1)(a)4. 4. The total amount deducted and withheld as required by the general withholding provisions of this subchapter.
71.65(1)(b) (b) The employee shall furnish the department of revenue one copy of such written statement along with his or her return for the year.
71.65(2) (2)Employers' statements.
71.65(2)(a)(a) Every person required to deduct and withhold from an employee under this subchapter shall furnish, in respect to remuneration paid by such person to such employee during the calendar year, on or before January 31 of the succeeding year, one copy of the statement under sub. (1).
71.65(2)(b) (b) Every resident of this state and every nonresident carrying on activities within this state, whether taxable or not under this chapter, who pays in any calendar year for services performed within this state by an individual remuneration which is excluded from the definition of wages, in the amount of $600 or more, shall, on or before February 28 of the year following the year in which the payments are made, furnish a statement in such form as required by the department, disclosing the name of the payor, the name and address of the recipient and the total amount paid in such year to such recipient. The person who pays for the services shall, on or before January 31 of the year in which the statement is required to be furnished to the department, furnish the recipient of the payment with a copy of that statement. In any case in which an individual receives wages and also remuneration for services which remuneration is excluded from such definition, both from the same payor, the wages and the excluded remuneration shall both be reported in the report required under this subsection in a manner satisfactory to the department, regardless of the amount of the excluded remuneration.
71.65(3) (3)Filing reports and making deposits of withheld taxes.
71.65(3)(a)(a) Every employer who deducts and withholds any amount under this subchapter shall deposit such amount on a quarterly basis, except that if the amount deducted and withheld in any quarter exceeds $300, the department may require by written notice to the employer, that amounts deducted and withheld on and after the date indicated on such notice be deposited on a monthly basis. Employers who are required to file reports and deposit withheld taxes on a monthly, quarterly or annual basis, as the case may be, shall file such reports and deposit such taxes on or before the last day of the month next succeeding the withholding period. If the amount deducted and withheld in any quarter exceeds $5,000, the department may require by written notice to the employer, that for amounts deducted and withheld from the first day of the month through the 15th day of the month, the employer shall file reports and deposit such taxes on or before the last day of such month and that for amounts deducted and withheld from the 16th day of the month through the last day of the month the employer shall file reports and deposit such taxes on or before the 15th day of the next succeeding month. Employers shall file reports and deposit taxes with such public depository in Wisconsin as the department of administration designates a public depository therefor under s. 34.05 to the credit of the general fund. With each deposit the employer shall include a deposit report on a form to be provided by the department. The department may, when satisfied that the revenues will be adequately safeguarded, permit an employer whose withheld taxes do not exceed $50 per month to deposit withheld taxes and reports for other than quarterly periods. The department may revoke such permission at any time. The department, if it deems it necessary in order to ensure payment to or facilitate the collection by the state of the amount of taxes, may require reports or payments of the amount of withheld taxes for other than quarterly periods. The public depository shall record on such deposit report the amount deposited and shall then forward such report to the department in such manner and at such time as the department by rule prescribes. On or before January 31 of each year every employer shall file a withholding report on a form to be provided by the department showing the amount withheld from the wages paid each employee in the previous calendar year, the amount deposited in respect to each employee on wages paid in the previous calendar year and a reconciliation of the aggregate of the amounts deposited in respect to each employee on wages paid in the previous calendar year with the aggregate of the amounts shown on the semimonthly, monthly and quarterly deposit reports filed in respect to such withholding. Every employer who discontinues business prior to the end of a calendar year shall, within 30 days of such discontinuance, deposit withheld taxes not previously deposited and submit a deposit report concerning such deposit with the public depository and file a withholding report with the department covering the period from the beginning of the calendar year to the date of discontinuance. No employee shall have any right of action against an employer in regard to money deducted from wages and deposited with the public depository in compliance or intended compliance with this subchapter.
71.65 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also s. Tax 1.10, Wis. adm. code.
71.65(3)(b) (b) Upon not less than 6 months' notice to the public depository designated under par. (a), the secretary of revenue may direct that withheld taxes required to be reported and remitted by employers on and after a date specified be reported and remitted directly to the department of revenue. Every employer who deducts and withholds any amount under this subchapter required to be reported and remitted on or after such date shall report and remit directly to the department. Amounts withheld shall be paid over a quarterly basis but if the amount deducted and withheld in any quarter exceeded $300, the department may require, by written notice to the employer, that amounts deducted and withheld after the date indicated on such notice be paid over a monthly basis. Employers who are required to file reports and pay over withheld taxes on a monthly, quarterly or annual basis shall file such reports and pay over such taxes on or before the last day of the month next succeeding the withholding period. If the amount deducted and withheld in any quarter exceeded $5,000, the department may require by written notice to the employer, that for amounts deducted and withheld from the first day of the month through the 15th day of the month, the employer shall file such reports and pay over such taxes on or before the last day of such month; for amounts deducted and withheld from the 16th day of the month through the last day of the month, the employer shall file such reports and pay over such taxes on or before the 15th day of the next succeeding month.
71.65(3)(c) (c) With each payment the employer shall include a withholding report on forms provided by the department. The department may, when satisfied that the revenues will be adequately safeguarded, permit an employer whose withheld taxes do not exceed $50 per month to pay over withheld taxes and file withholding reports for longer than quarterly periods. Such permission may be revoked at any time. The department, if it deems it necessary in order to ensure payment or to facilitate the collection by the state of the amount of taxes, may require reports or payments of the amount of withheld taxes for shorter than quarterly periods.
71.65(3)(d) (d) On or before January 31 of each year every employer shall file an annual withholding report on forms provided by the department showing the amount withheld from the wages paid each employee in the previous calendar year, the amount deposited or paid over in respect to each employee on wages paid in the previous calendar year and a reconciliation of the aggregate deposited or paid over in respect to each employee on wages paid in the previous calendar year with the aggregate of the amounts shown on deposit and withholding reports filed in respect of such withholding.
71.65(3)(e) (e) Every employer who discontinues his or her business prior to the end of a calendar year shall, within 30 days of such discontinuance, pay over withheld taxes not previously deposited or paid over, and shall file a withholding report covering the period from the beginning of the calendar year to the date of discontinuance.
71.65(3)(f) (f) No employee shall have any right of action against his or her employer in regard to money deducted from his or her wages and paid over to the department in compliance or intended compliance with this subchapter.
71.65(3)(g) (g) If the secretary of revenue elects to discontinue use of the public depository, reasonable notice of the change shall be communicated to employers subject to withholding.
71.65(3)(h) (h) If a single-owner entity that is disregarded as a separate entity under section 7701 of the Internal Revenue Code is an employer subject to withholding under this subchapter and if the entity does not deduct, withhold, report, and deposit the tax as required under this subchapter, the owner of the single-owner entity is liable for any tax, interest, and penalties due under this subchapter.
71.65(4) (4)Self-insurers. A person who is required to file an annual withholding report under sub. (3) (a) and who is a self-insurer for the purposes of ch. 149 shall indicate on the return that the person is such a self-insurer.
Effective date note NOTE: Sub. (4) is repealed eff. 1-1-15 by 2013 Wis. Act 20.
71.65(5) (5)Extensions.
71.65(5)(a)(a) If an employer applies for an extension and shows good cause why an extension should be granted, the department may grant the following extensions for the following statements:
71.65(5)(a)1. 1. Thirty days for filing a wage statement under sub. (1) or an annual reconciliation report under sub. (3) (a) or (d).
71.65(5)(a)2. 2. Sixty days for filing a statement of nonwage payments under sub. (2) (b).
71.65(5)(b) (b) No extension under par. (a) extends the time to deposit with the public depository or pay to the department amounts that are required to be deducted and withheld under this subchapter. The department for good cause may extend for a period, not to exceed one month, the time for making any return or paying any amount required to be paid under this subchapter. The extension may be granted at any time if the extension request is filed with the department within or before the period for which the extension is requested.
71.65(6) (6)Construction contractors. Any employer who willfully provides false information to the department, or who willfully and with intent to evade any requirement of this subchapter, misclassifies or attempts to misclassify an individual who is an employee of the employer as a nonemployee shall be fined $25,000 for each violation.
71.65 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also s. Tax 2.04, Wis. adm. code.
71.66 71.66 Employee exemption certificates.
71.66(1) (1)
71.66(1)(a)(a) On or before the date on which an employee commences employment with an employer each employee shall provide his or her employer with a signed withholding exemption certificate relating to the number of withholding exemptions he or she claims, which shall not exceed the number to which he or she is entitled. If the employee fails to provide such certificate, such employee, for withholding purposes, shall be considered as claiming no withholding exemptions.
71.66(1)(b) (b) If the number of withholding exemptions to which the employee is entitled is less than the number of withholding exemptions claimed by him or her on the withholding exemption certificate then in effect, the employee shall within 10 days after the change occurs provide the employer with a new withholding exemption certificate, which shall not exceed the number to which he or she is entitled.
71.66(1)(c) (c) If the number of withholding exemptions to which the employee is entitled is more than the number of withholding exemptions claimed by him or her on the withholding exemption certificate then in effect, the employee may provide the employer with a new withholding exemption certificate on which the employee must not claim more than the number of withholding exemptions to which he or she is entitled on such day.
71.66(1)(d) (d) A withholding exemption certificate provided to the employer shall take effect as of the beginning of the first payroll period ending after the date on which such certificate is provided.
71.66(1)(e) (e) Any employee who willfully supplies his or her employer with false or fraudulent information regarding his or her withholding exemption or who willfully fails to supply information which would increase the amount to be withheld may be fined not more than $200.
71.66(1)(f) (f) Whenever the internal revenue code or regulations or rulings of the internal revenue service require an employer to submit copies of, or information taken from, an employee's withholding allowance certificate to the internal revenue service, the employer shall also provide copies of, or information taken from, the certificate to the department within 15 days after the employer is required to file the certificate or information with the internal revenue service.
71.66(2) (2) An employee receiving wages shall be entitled to either the number of withholding exemptions allowable for federal withholding tax purposes or the following withholding exemptions that apply:
71.66(2)(a) (a) An exemption for himself or herself.
71.66(2)(b) (b) If the employee is married, an exemption to which his or her spouse is entitled, or would be entitled if such spouse were an employee receiving wages, but only if such spouse does not have in effect a withholding exemption certificate claiming such exemption.
71.66(2)(c) (c) An exemption for each individual with respect to whom, on the basis of the facts existing, there may reasonably be expected to be allowable an exemption under s. 71.07 (8) for the taxable year.
71.66(2)(d) (d) An exemption as head of a family when on the basis of the facts existing such an exemption may reasonably be expected to be allowable under s. 71.07 (8) for the taxable year.
71.66(3) (3) An employer is not required to deduct and withhold any tax whenever an employee certifies to the employer, on a form prescribed by the secretary, that the employee incurred no liability for income tax imposed by this chapter for the employee's preceding taxable year and anticipates that the employee will incur no liability for the employee's current taxable year.
71.66 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also s. Tax 2.90, Wis. adm. code.
71.66(4) (4)
71.66(4)(a)(a) The department may verify any withholding exemption certificate, form or agreement filed by an employee with an employer directly from the books and records of any person or from any other sources of information. To ascertain the correctness of any withholding exemption certificate, form or agreement, the department may examine or cause to be examined by any agent or representative designated by it any books, papers, records or memoranda bearing on the certificate, form or agreement and may require the production of books, records and memoranda, and may require testimony and proof relevant to its investigation.
71.66(4)(b) (b) If it appears that a person has filed an incorrect certificate, form or agreement with an employer, the department may void the certificate, form or agreement by notifying the employer and employee. The employer shall then withhold based on the number of exemptions prescribed by the department in its notice. If an employee fails to furnish information requested by the department to verify the correctness of the certificate, form or agreement, the employee shall be considered as claiming no withholding exemptions and the employer shall withhold on that basis upon notification by the department to the employer and the employee.
71.66 History History: 1987 a. 312; 1991 a. 39; 1997 a. 27.
71.66 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also s. Tax 2.92, Wis. adm. code.
71.67 71.67 General provisions.
71.67(1)(1) Agreement with U.S. secretary of treasury. The secretary of revenue is authorized to enter into an agreement with the secretary of the treasury of the United States pursuant to P.L. 82-587 enacted July 17, 1952.
71.67(2) (2)Provisions of this chapter apply. All provisions of this chapter on the following subjects relating to income taxes that are not in conflict with this subchapter apply to the administration of this subchapter: assessment, hearing and appeal procedures, preparation of assessments, certification of taxes due and correction of them, interest, penalties, collection, including s. 71.80 (3) and subch. XV, and refund procedures.
71.67(3) (3)Withheld amounts are funds held in trust for the state. Whenever any person is required to withhold any Wisconsin income tax from an employee, until such amount is deposited with the public depository prescribed by s. 71.65 (3) (a) or paid over to the department as prescribed by s. 71.65 (3) (b), the amount so withheld shall be held to be a special fund in trust for the state. The amount of such fund may be assessed and collected from such person by the department as income taxes are assessed and collected, and such collection shall not abate any penalty imposed.
71.67(4) (4)Withholding from lottery winnings.
71.67(4)(a)(a) The administrator of the lottery division in the department under ch. 565 shall withhold from any lottery prize of $2,000 or more an amount determined by multiplying the amount of the prize by the highest rate applicable to the person who claims the prize. The administrator shall deposit the amounts withheld, on a monthly basis, as would an employer depositing under s. 71.65 (3) (a).
71.67(4)(b) (b) The administrator shall furnish to each payee whose winnings are subject to withholding under par. (a) during the year, on or before January 31 of the succeeding year, 2 legible copies of a written statement showing the following:
71.67(4)(b)1. 1. The name of the payer and that payer's Wisconsin income tax identification number, if any.
71.67(4)(b)2. 2. The name of the payee and that payee's social security number, if any.
71.67(4)(b)3. 3. The gross amount of lottery prize winnings that are subject to withholding under par. (a).
71.67(4)(b)4. 4. The total amount deducted and withheld as required under par. (a).
71.67(4)(c)1.1. The payee shall furnish the department of revenue with one copy of the written statement he or she receives under par. (b) along with his or her income or franchise tax return for the year.
71.67(4)(c)2. 2. The administrator shall furnish the department of revenue with a copy of the statement that he or she furnishes to the payee under par. (b).
71.67(5) (5)Withholding from pari-mutuel wager winnings.
71.67(5)(a)(a) Wager winnings. A person holding a license to sponsor and manage races under s. 562.05 (1) (b) or (c) shall withhold from the amount of any payment of pari-mutuel winnings under s. 562.065 (3) (a) or (3m) (a) an amount determined by multiplying the amount of the payment by the highest rate applicable to individuals under s. 71.06 (1) (a) to (c), (1m), (1n), (1p), or (1q) if the amount of the payment is more than $1,000.
71.67(5)(b) (b) Deposits. The licensee under s. 562.05 (1) (b) or (c) shall deposit the amounts withheld under this subsection as would an employer depositing under s. 71.65 (3).
71.67(5)(c) (c) Statement of winnings to payee. The licensee shall furnish to each payee whose winnings are subject to withholding under par. (a) during the year, on or before January 31 of the succeeding year, 2 legible copies of a written statement showing the following:
71.67(5)(c)1. 1. The name of the payer and that payer's Wisconsin income tax identification number, if any.
71.67(5)(c)2. 2. The name of the payee and that payee's social security number, if any.
71.67(5)(c)3. 3. The gross amount of pari-mutuel wager winnings that are subject to withholding under par. (a).
71.67(5)(c)4. 4. The total amount deducted and withheld as required under par. (a).
71.67(5)(d) (d) Statement furnished to the department.
71.67(5)(d)1.1. The payee shall furnish the department of revenue with one copy of the written statement he or she receives under par. (c) along with his or her income or franchise return for the year.
71.67(5)(d)2. 2. The licensee shall furnish the department of revenue with a copy of the statement that he or she furnishes to the payee under par. (c).
71.67(5m) (5m)Withholding from payments to purchase assignment of lottery prize. A person that purchases an assignment of a lottery prize shall withhold from the amount of any payment made to purchase the assignment the amount that is determined by multiplying the amount of the payment by the highest rate applicable to individuals under s. 71.06 (1) (a) to (c), (1m), (1n), (1p), or (1q). Subsection (5) (b), (c) and (d), as it applies to the amounts withheld under sub. (5) (a), applies to the amount withheld under this subsection.
71.67(6) (6)Withholding registration; fee. Each employer who is required to withhold under this chapter shall obtain a valid certificate under s. 73.03 (50).
71.67(7) (7)Withholding from unemployment compensation insurance.
71.67(7)(a)(a) The department of workforce development may, in accordance with s. 108.135, deduct and withhold from any unemployment insurance payment, on a form prepared by the department of workforce development, a portion of the payment as Wisconsin income tax. The department of workforce development shall deposit the amounts withheld, on a monthly basis, as provided in s. 108.135 (6).
71.67(7)(b) (b) The department of workforce development shall furnish to each claimant who receives benefits during any year, on or before January 31 of the succeeding year, at least one legible copy of a written statement showing all of the following:
71.67(7)(b)1. 1. The name of the claimant and that claimant's social security number.
71.67(7)(b)2. 2. The gross amount of unemployment insurance that is subject to withholding under par. (a).
71.67(7)(b)3. 3. The total amount deducted and withheld under par. (a).
71.67(7)(c)1.1. If the department of revenue so requires, the claimant shall furnish the department of revenue with one copy of the written statement that he or she receives under par. (b), along with his or her income tax return for the year.
71.67(7)(c)2. 2. The department of workforce development shall furnish the department of revenue with a copy of any statement that is furnished to the claimant under par. (b).
71.67 Cross-reference Cross-reference: See also s. Tax 2.04, Wis. adm. code.
subch. XI of ch. 71 SUBCHAPTER XI
INFORMATION RETURNS
71.68 71.68 Definitions. In this subchapter:
Loading...
Loading...
2011-12 Wisconsin Statutes updated though 2013 Wis. Act 380 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before June 30, 2014. Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after July 1, 2014 are designated by NOTES. (Published 7-1-14)