Date of enactment: April 12, 2004
2003 Assembly Bill 341 Date of publication*: April 26, 2004
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes 2001-02 : Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication as designated" by the secretary of state [the date of publication may not be more than 10 working days after the date of enactment].
An Act to amend 765.15 and 973.055 (1) (intro.) of the statutes; relating to: authorizing counties to use the marriage license fee for purposes related to domestic violence and increasing the assessment imposed on persons convicted of domestic abuse offenses.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
225,1 Section 1. 765.15 of the statutes is amended to read:
765.15 Fee to county clerk. Each county clerk shall receive as a fee for each license granted the sum of $49.50, of which $24.50 shall become a part of the funds of the county, and $25 shall be paid into the state treasury. The county shall use $20 of the amount that it retains from each license fee only for expenses incurred under s. 767.11. The county may, but is not required to, use any or all of the remainder of the amount that it retains for education, training, or services related to domestic violence. Each county board may increase the license fee of $49.50 by any amount, which amount shall become a part of the funds of the county. The clerk shall also receive a standard notary fee of 50 cents for each license granted which may be retained by the clerk if operating on a fee or part fee basis, but which otherwise shall become part of the funds of the county.
225,2 Section 2. 973.055 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
973.055 (1) (intro.) If a court imposes a sentence on an adult person or places an adult person on probation, regardless of whether any fine is imposed, the court shall impose a domestic abuse assessment of $50 $75 for each offense if: