Date of enactment: April 22, 2004
2003 Assembly Bill 306 Date of publication*: May 6, 2004
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes 2001-02 : Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication as designated" by the secretary of state [the date of publication may not be more than 10 working days after the date of enactment].
An Act to amend 943.24 (2) of the statutes; relating to: writing bad checks.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
306,1 Section 1. 943.24 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109, is amended to read:
943.24 (2) Whoever issues any single check or other order for the payment of more than $2,500 or whoever within a 15-day 90-day period issues more than one check or other order amounting in the aggregate to more than $2,500 which, at the time of issuance, the person intends shall not be paid is guilty of a Class I felony.