Born Milwaukee. Graduate Pulaski H.S.; B.A. UW-Milwaukee; M.A. UW-Madison La Follette Institute. Member: Sierra Club; Jackson Park Neighborhood Assn.; Story Hill Neighborhood Assn.; Milw. VA Soldiers Home Advisory Counci; lCitizens Utility Board; Milwaukee LGBT Community Center; Wisconsin Humane Society. Recipient: Wisconsin Professional Police Assn. 2014 Law Enforcement Honor Roll; Wisconsin Public Health Association’s Champion of Public Health 2008; Coalition of Wisconsin Aging Groups Russ Feingold Award for Service to Seniors 2007; Shepherd Express Best State Legislator 2008; Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters Conservation Champion 2014, 2008; Shepherd Express Legislator of the Year 2003; Wis. Professional Fire Fighters Legislator of the Year 2002; Environmental Decade Clean 16 Awards.

Elected to Assembly 1984-2000; elected to Senate 2002; reelected since 2006. President Pro Tempore 2011 (eff. 7/17/12), 2007; Speaker Pro Tempore 1993.

Member of State Fair Park Board and Transportation Projects Commission

2015 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2015 Co-authored Proposals

2015 Cosponsored Proposals

2015 Authored Amendments

2015 Votes