Born Stevens Point; married; 3 children. Graduate Stevens Point Area Senior H.S.; B.S. in political science and public administration UW-Stevens Point 1993; UW-Madison La Follette Institute of Public Affairs graduate work. Former legislative aide and executive director, Plover Area Business Assn. Member: Heart of Wisconsin Business and Economic Alliance; Adams County Chamber of Commerce; Sparta Area Chamber of Commerce; Greater Tomah Area Chamber of Commerce; Black River Area Chamber of Commerce; Waushara Area Chamber of Commerce; Portage Co. Democratic Party (former chp.); Portage Co. Business Council; Small Business Environmental Council; Gov.’s Council on Workforce Investment; Small Business Development Center Adv. Bd.; UW Population Health Inst. Adv. Bd.; NCSL Early Learning Fellows Program. Former member: Oral Health Coalition Steering Com. Dewey Town Board 1993-94.

Elected to Assembly 1998-2002 (resigned eff. 5/9/03); elected to Senate in April 2003 special election; reelected since 2004. Minority Caucus Chairperson 2015, 2013, 2011; Minority Caucus Secretary 1999.

Member of Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation

2015 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2015 Co-authored Proposals

2015 Cosponsored Proposals

2015 Authored Amendments

2015 Votes