• Born Milwaukee, Wisconsin, April 26, 1958; 2 children.
  • Graduate Brookfield East High School, 1976; B.S. in Nursing, Marquette University, 1980; M.S. in Nursing, University of Wisconsin–Madison, 1983.
  • Registered nurse with 37 years of experience including more than 20 years as a certified pediatric nurse practitioner; research fellow, Wisconsin Policy Research Institute; past president and cofounder of Parents Raising Educational Standards in Schools (PRESS). Nationally recognized authority and speaker on educational issues and educational standards.
  • Member: Republican Party of Waukesha County; Republican Party of Milwaukee County; American Legislative Exchange Council (Center to Protect Free Speech chair, 2016 national chair); GOPAC (advisory board member).
  • Former member: Standards and Assessments Subcommittee of Governor Thompson’s Task Force on Education and Learning; English/Language Arts Task Force of Governor Thompson’s Council on Model Academic Standards; West Allis Speedskating Club (former ASU Speedskating referee).
  • Recipient: Center for Education Reform’s Unsung Hero Award 1998; Brookfield East High School Alumni Achievement Award 2002; American Legislative Exchange Council Legislator of the Year 2009; Right Women Iron Lady Award 2014; Americans for Prosperity–Wisconsin Champion of Free Speech Award 2015-16.
  • Elected to Assembly 2002–08. Elected to Senate since 2010. Leadership positions: assistant majority leader 2017, 2015 (eff. 9/26/2015).

Member of State Fair Park Board

2017 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2017 Co-authored Proposals

2017 Cosponsored Proposals

2017 Authored Amendments

2017 Votes