2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE
September 7, 2017 - Introduced by Representatives Steffen, Genrich, Jacque,
Kitchens, Macco, Nygren, Steineke, Tauchen, Allen, Anderson, Berceau,
E. Brooks, Brostoff, Considine, Crowley, Duchow, Edming, Gannon, Hebl,
Hintz, Horlacher, Jagler, Kerkman, Mason, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau,
Novak, Petryk, Pope, Pronschinske, Riemer, Ripp, Sargent, Shankland,
Sinicki, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer, Subeck, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt,
Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Zamarripa and Zepnick,
cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Hansen, Lasee, Carpenter, Darling,
Larson, Marklein, Olsen, Ringhand, Risser, Shilling, L. Taylor, Vinehout,
Vukmir, Wanggaard and Wirch. Referred to Committee on Rules.
AJR72,1,2 1Relating to: commemorating the 50th anniversary of the Green Bay Packers Hall
2of Fame, Inc., and declaring October 21, 2017, Packers Hall of Fame Day.
AJR72,1,53 Whereas, the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame, Inc., was established in 1967
4and has been for 50 years an independent not-for-profit organization committed to
5preserving and advancing the storied history of the Green Bay Packers; and
AJR72,1,86 Whereas, the organization supports the historic hall of fame museum that
7showcases the history of not only the Green Bay Packers, but also the state of
8Wisconsin as a whole; and
AJR72,1,109 Whereas, the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame was the first hall of fame built
10to honor a single professional American football team; and
AJR72,1,1411 Whereas, the first inductees into the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame were
12Bernard “Boob” Darling, LaVern “Lavvie” Dilweg, Francis “Jug” Earp, Robert “Cal”
13Hubbard, Earl “Curly” Lambeau, Verne Lewellen, John “Blood” McNally, and August
14“Mike” Michalske in 1970; and
1Whereas, other notable players in the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame include
2Tony Canadeo, Brett Favre, Don Hutson, Bart Starr, Ray Nitschke, and Reggie
3White; and
AJR72,2,54 Whereas, today there are 159 inductees in the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame,
5with new members inducted annually; and
AJR72,2,86 Whereas, the generations of Green Bay Packer athletes, supporters, and fans
7have instilled the tradition of community and good sportsmanship throughout
8Wisconsin; and
AJR72,2,119 Whereas, on October 21, 2017, we have the privilege of honoring the Green Bay
10Packers Hall of Fame, Inc., which has continued to support this hallowed Wisconsin
11tradition; and
AJR72,2,1312 Whereas, the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame will celebrate its 50th
13anniversary in 2017; now, therefore, be it
AJR72,2,17 14Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
15Legislature honors and congratulates the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame, Inc., for
16its first 50 years, wishes its continued success for many years to come, and declares
17October 21, 2017, Packers Hall of Fame Day.
AJR72,2,1818 (End)