All legislative websites will be unavailable on
Saturday, May 28, from 8:30am to 12:00pm for scheduled maintenance.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
SB169,1 1Section 1. 23.33 (3c) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,2
1Section 2. 29.089 (2) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,3 2Section 3. 29.091 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 29.091 and amended to
3read:
SB169,4,11 429.091 Hunting or trapping in wildlife refuge. No person may hunt or trap
5within any wildlife refuge established under s. 23.09 (2) (b) or 29.621 (1), or, except
6as provided in sub. (2), have possession or control of any gun, firearm, bow or
7crossbow unless the gun or firearm is unloaded, the bow or crossbow is unstrung and

8the gun, firearm, bow or crossbow is enclosed within a carrying case. The taking of
9predatory game birds and animals shall be done as the department directs. All state
10wildlife refuge boundary lines shall be marked by posts placed at intervals of not over
11500 feet and bearing signs with the words “Wisconsin Wildlife Refuge".
SB169,4 12Section 4. 29.091 (2) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,5 13Section 5. 29.301 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
SB169,4,1714 29.301 (1) (b) No person may hunt within 1,700 1,000 feet of any hospital,
15sanatorium, or the grounds of any school. The department may designate the form
16for or furnish signs designating the restricted area. No person may be convicted of
17a violation of this paragraph unless the restricted area is designated by the signs.
SB169,6 18Section 6. 29.314 (3) (title) and (a) and (4) (title) and (a) of the statutes are
19amended to read:
SB169,4,2320 29.314 (3) (title) Shining deer, elk, or bear while hunting or possessing
21weapons
prohibited. (a) Prohibition. No person may use or possess with intent to
22use a light for shining deer, elk, or bear while the person is hunting deer, elk, or bear
23or in possession of a firearm, bow and arrow, or crossbow.
SB169,5,2 24(4) (title) Shining wild animals while hunting or possessing weapons
25prohibited.
(a) Prohibition. No person may use or possess with intent to use a light

1for shining wild animals while the person is hunting or in possession of a firearm,
2bow and arrow or crossbow
.
SB169,7 3Section 7. 29.621 (4) (intro.) of the statutes is renumbered 29.621 (4) and
4amended to read:
SB169,5,115 29.621 (4) Protection. Except as provided in s. 29.091 (1), no owner of a
6wildlife refuge, and no other person, may hunt or trap within the boundaries of any
7wildlife refuge or have in his or her possession or under his or her control in the
8wildlife refuge a gun, firearm, bow or crossbow, unless the gun or firearm is unloaded,
9the bow or crossbow is unstrung and the gun, firearm, bow or crossbow is enclosed
10within a carrying case. This subsection, as it relates to the possession or control of
11a loaded or unencased firearm, does not apply to any of the following:
.
SB169,8 12Section 8. 29.621 (4) (a) to (d) of the statutes are repealed.
SB169,9 13Section 9. 29.921 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
SB169,5,2414 29.921 (1) Generally. The department and its wardens may execute and serve
15warrants and processes issued under any law enumerated in ss. 23.50 (1), 167.31,
16346.19, 940.24, 941.20, 948.60, 948.605 and 948.61 in the same manner as any
17constable may serve and execute the process; and may arrest, with or without a
18warrant, any person detected in the actual violation, or whom the officer has
19probable cause to believe is guilty of a violation of any of the laws cited in this
20subsection, whether the violation is punishable by criminal penalties or by forfeiture,
21and may take the person before any court in the county where the offense was
22committed and make a proper complaint. For the purpose of enforcing any of the
23laws cited in this subsection, any officer may stop and board any boat and stop any
24vehicle, if the officer reasonably suspects there is a violation of those sections.
SB169,10 25Section 10. 66.0409 (1) (a) of the statutes is renumbered 66.0409 (1) (am).
SB169,11
1Section 11. 66.0409 (1) (ag) of the statutes is created to read:
SB169,6,22 66.0409 (1) (ag) “Electric weapon” has the meaning given in s. 939.22 (11m).
SB169,12 3Section 12. 66.0409 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
SB169,6,104 66.0409 (2) Except as provided in subs. (3) and (4), no political subdivision may
5enact or enforce an ordinance or adopt a resolution that regulates the sale, purchase,
6purchase delay, transfer, ownership, use, keeping, possession, bearing,
7transportation, licensing, permitting, registration, or taxation of any knife, any
8electric weapon,
or any firearm or part of a firearm, including ammunition and
9reloader components, unless the ordinance or resolution is the same as or similar to,
10and no more stringent than, a state statute.
SB169,13 11Section 13. 66.0409 (2m) of the statutes is created to read:
SB169,6,1412 66.0409 (2m) No political subdivision or other person may prohibit individuals
13from going armed with a firearm, knife, or electric weapon on a vehicle that is part
14of a public mass transportation system.
SB169,14 15Section 14. 66.0409 (3) (a) and (c) and (6) of the statutes are amended to read:
SB169,6,1916 66.0409 (3) (a) Nothing in this section prohibits a county from imposing a sales
17tax or use tax under subch. V of ch. 77 on any knife, any electric weapon, or any
18firearm or part of a firearm, including ammunition and reloader components, sold
19in the county.
SB169,6,2320 (c) Nothing in this section prohibits a political subdivision from enacting or
21enforcing an ordinance or adopting a resolution that prohibits the possession of a
22knife or an electric weapon in a building, or part of a building, that is owned,
23occupied, or controlled by the political subdivision.
SB169,7,6 24(6) Unless other facts and circumstances that indicate a criminal or malicious
25intent on the part of the person apply, no person may be in violation of, or be charged

1with a violation of, an ordinance of a political subdivision relating to disorderly
2conduct or other inappropriate behavior for loading a firearm, or for carrying or going
3armed with a firearm, an electric weapon, or a knife, without regard to whether the
4firearm is loaded or the firearm, the electric weapon, or the knife is concealed or
5openly carried. Any ordinance in violation of this subsection does not apply and may
6not be enforced.
SB169,15 7Section 15. 110.07 (1) (a) 1. and 3. and (b) of the statutes are amended to read:
SB169,7,118 110.07 (1) (a) 1. Enforce and assist in the administration of this chapter and
9chs. 194, 218, 341 to 349 and 351, and ss. 23.33, 23.335, 125.07 (4) (b), 125.085 (3)
10(b), 167.31 (2) (b) to (c) and (d) and 287.81 and ch. 350 where applicable to highways,
11or orders or rules issued pursuant thereto.
SB169,7,1612 3. Have authority to enter any place where vehicles subject to this chapter, ss.
13167.31 (2) (b) to (c) and (d) and 287.81 and chs. 194, 218 and 341 to 350 are stored
14or parked at any time to examine such vehicles, or to stop such vehicles while en route
15at any time upon the public highways to examine the same and make arrests for all
16violations thereof.
SB169,7,2117 (b) All municipal judges, judges, district attorneys and law enforcement officers
18shall assist in enforcing this chapter, ss. 167.31 (2) (b) to (c) and (d) and 287.81 and
19chs. 194, 218 and 341 to 351, and orders or rules issued pursuant thereto and shall
20report to the department the disposition of every uniform traffic citation issued for
21cases involving those chapters.
SB169,16 22Section 16. 165.81 (2) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,17 23Section 17. 167.31 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
SB169,7,2524 167.31 (1) (c) “Firearm" means a weapon that acts by force of gunpowder but
25does not include an antique firearm under 18 USC 921 (a) (16)
.
SB169,18
1Section 18. 167.31 (1) (cm) and (2) (a) and (b) of the statutes are repealed.
SB169,19 2Section 19. 167.31 (2) (c), (d) and (e) of the statutes are amended to read:
SB169,8,53 167.31 (2) (c) Except as provided in sub. (4), no person may load a firearm, other
4than a handgun, in a vehicle or
discharge a firearm or shoot a bolt or an arrow from
5a bow or crossbow in or from a vehicle.
SB169,8,86 (d) Except as provided in sub. (4) (a), (bg), (cg), (e), and (g), no person may
7discharge a firearm or shoot a bolt or an arrow from a bow or crossbow from or across
8a highway or within 50 feet of the center of a roadway.
SB169,8,109 (e) A person who violates pars. (a) to par. (c) or (d) is subject to a forfeiture of
10not more than $100.
SB169,20 11Section 20. 167.31 (3) (a) (intro.) and 1. of the statutes are consolidated,
12renumbered 167.31 (3) (a) and amended to read:
SB169,8,1613 167.31 (3) (a) Except as provided in sub. (4), no person may do any of the
14following: 1. Place
place, possess, or transport a firearm, bow, or crossbow in or on
15a commercial aircraft, unless the firearm is unloaded and encased or unless the bow
16or crossbow is unstrung or is enclosed in a carrying case.
SB169,21 17Section 21. 167.31 (3) (a) 2. of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,22 18Section 22. 167.31 (4) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
SB169,8,2319 167.31 (4) (a) (intro.) Subsections The prohibitions in subs. (2) and (3) do not
20apply to any of the following who, are acting in the line of duty, place, possess,
21transport, load or discharge a firearm in, on or from a vehicle, motorboat or aircraft
22or discharge a firearm from or across a highway or within 50 feet of the center of a
23roadway
:
SB169,23 24Section 23. 167.31 (4) (a) 1. of the statutes is created to read:
SB169,8,2525 167.31 (4) (a) 1. A peace officer.
SB169,24
1Section 24. 167.31 (4) (ag) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,25 2Section 25. 167.31 (4) (am) 1. of the statutes is renumbered 167.31 (4) (am)
3and amended to read:
SB169,9,74 167.31 (4) (am) Subsections (2) (a), (c) and (d) and (3) (a) and (b) do not apply
5to a peace officer who, in the line of duty, loads or discharges a firearm in, on, or from
6a vehicle, motorboat or aircraft or discharges a firearm from or across a highway or
7within 50 feet of the center of a roadway.
SB169,26 8Section 26. 167.31 (4) (am) 2. and 3. of the statutes are repealed.
SB169,27 9Section 27. 167.31 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
SB169,9,1310 167.31 (4) (b) Subsections (2) (a), (b) and (c), (3) (a) and (b), and (3m) do not
11apply to the holder of a scientific research license under s. 169.25 or a scientific
12collector permit under s. 29.614 who is using a net gun or tranquilizer gun in an
13activity related to the purpose for which the license or permit was issued.
SB169,28 14Section 28. 167.31 (4) (bg), (bn) and (bt) of the statutes are repealed.
SB169,29 15Section 29. 167.31 (4) (c) and (cg) (intro.) of the statutes are amended to read:
SB169,9,1716 167.31 (4) (c) Subsection (2) (b) and (c) does not apply to the holder of a Class A
17or Class B permit under s. 29.193 (2) who is hunting from a stationary vehicle.
SB169,9,2018 (cg) (intro.) A holder of a Class A or Class B permit under s. 29.193 (2) who is
19hunting from a stationary vehicle may load and discharge a firearm or shoot a bolt
20or an arrow within 50 feet of the center of a roadway if all of the following apply:
SB169,30 21Section 30. 167.31 (4) (cm) and (d) of the statutes are repealed.
SB169,31 22Section 31. 167.31 (4) (f) and (i) of the statutes are amended to read:
SB169,9,2523 167.31 (4) (f) Subsection (2) (d) does not prohibit a person from possessing a
24loaded firearm within 50 feet of the center of a roadway if the person does not violate
25sub. (2) (b) or (c).
SB169,10,2
1(i) Subsection (2) (b) and (c) does not apply to a person legally hunting from a
2stationary nonmotorized vehicle that is not attached to a motor vehicle.
SB169,32 3Section 32. 173.07 (5) (b) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,33 4Section 33. 175.60 (1) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:
SB169,10,105 175.60 (1) (bm) “Handgun" means any weapon firearm designed or redesigned,
6or made or remade, and intended to be fired while held in one hand and to use the
7energy of an explosive to expel a projectile through a smooth or rifled bore.
8“Handgun" does not include a machine gun, as defined in s. 941.25 (1), a
9short-barreled rifle, as defined in s. 941.28 (1) (b), or a short-barreled shotgun, as
10defined in s. 941.28 (1) (c).
SB169,34 11Section 34. 175.60 (1) (dm) and (h) of the statutes are repealed.
SB169,35 12Section 35. 175.60 (1) (i) (intro.) and 1. of the statutes are consolidated,
13renumbered 175.60 (1) (i) and amended to read:
SB169,10,2014 175.60 (1) (i) “State identification card number" means one of the following:
151. The
the unique identifying driver number assigned to a Wisconsin resident an
16individual
by the department of transportation under s. 343.17 (3) (a) 4. or a
17comparable number assigned to an individual by another state
or, if the Wisconsin
18resident
individual has no driver number, the number assigned to the Wisconsin
19resident
individual on an identification card issued under s. 343.50 or on a
20comparable card issued by another state
.
SB169,36 21Section 36. 175.60 (1) (i) 2. of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,37 22Section 37. 175.60 (1) (j) of the statutes is amended to read:
SB169,10,2423 175.60 (1) (j) “Weapon" means a handgun , or an electric weapon, as defined in
24s. 941.295 (1c) (a), or a billy club 939.22 (11m).
SB169,38 25Section 38. 175.60 (2) (c) and (d) of the statutes are amended to read:
SB169,11,4
1175.60 (2) (c) Unless expressly provided in this section, this section does not
2limit an individual's right to carry a firearm, whether that firearm is concealed or is
3not concealed or whether or not the individual is a licensee or an out-of-state
4licensee
.
SB169,11,65 (d) For To the extent permitted under federal law, for purposes of 18 USC 922
6(q) (2) (B) (ii), an out-of-state licensee is licensed by this state.
SB169,39 7Section 39. 175.60 (2) (e) of the statutes is created to read:
SB169,11,138 175.60 (2) (e) If the federal government creates standards that would allow a
9license to be recognized by other states and the license issued under this section does
10not comply with the federal standards, the department shall create an enhanced
11license that complies with the federal standards. A licensee may request the
12department to replace his or her license with the enhanced license by submitting
13proof of meeting the federal standards and a $12 replacement fee.
SB169,40 14Section 40. 175.60 (2g) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,41 15Section 41. 175.60 (2m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
SB169,11,1916 175.60 (2m) (a) Subject to pars. (am), (b), (bm), (c), and (d), the department
17shall design a single license document for licenses issued and renewed under this
18section. The department shall complete the design of the license document no later
19than September 1, 2011.
SB169,42 20Section 42. 175.60 (2m) (am) of the statutes is created to read:
SB169,11,2321 175.60 (2m) (am) The license document issued under this section shall contain
22a notation indicating the license is basic for an applicant who applies without
23providing proof of training as described under sub. (4) (a).
SB169,43 24Section 43. 175.60 (2m) (bm) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,44 25Section 44. 175.60 (3) (f) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,45
1Section 45. 175.60 (3) (g) of the statutes is repealed.
SB169,46 2Section 46. 175.60 (4) (a) (intro.) and (5) (a) (intro.) and 1. of the statutes are
3amended to read:
SB169,12,54 175.60 (4) (a) (intro.) The proof of training requirement under sub. (7) (e) for
5a license that is not a basic license
may be met by any of the following:
SB169,12,13 6(5) (a) (intro.) The department shall design an application form for use by
7individuals who apply for a license under this section and a renewal form for use by
8individuals applying for renewal of a license under sub. (15). The department shall
9complete the design of the application form no later than September 1, 2011, and
10shall complete the design of the renewal form no later than July 1, 2014.
The forms
11shall require the applicant to provide only his or her name, address, date of birth,
12state identification card number, race, sex, height, and eye color and shall include all
13of the following:
SB169,12,1514 1. A statement that the applicant is ineligible for a license if sub. (3) (a), (b), (c),
15(d), or (e), (f), or (g) applies to the applicant.
SB169,47 16Section 47. 175.60 (5) (a) 1m. of the statutes is created to read:
SB169,12,1917 175.60 (5) (a) 1m. A statement that the applicant is eligible only for a basic
18license if the applicant does not provide proof of training as described under sub. (4)
19(a).
Loading...
Loading...