177.68 Qualified child sales and use tax rebate for 2018. (1) Definitions. 2
In this section:
(a) “Claimant" means an individual who is eligible under sub. (3) to claim a 4
rebate under this section.
(b) “Department" means the department of revenue.
(c) “Full-year resident” means an individual who was a resident of this state 7
for the entire year of 2017.
(d) “Nonresident" means an individual who was not a resident of this state for 9
any part of 2017.
(e) “Part-year resident" means an individual who was a resident of this state 11
for some part of 2017.
(f) “Qualified child” means an individual to whom all of the following apply:
1. The individual is under 18 years of age for the entire year of 2017.
2. The individual is the claimant's child and the claimant's dependent, as 15
defined under section 152
of the Internal Revenue Code.
3. The individual is a United States citizen.
4. The individual was a resident of this state on December 31, 2017.
(a) Subject to the limitations and conditions under sub. (4), a 19
claimant may claim, as an approximation of the nonbusiness Wisconsin sales or use 20
tax paid in 2017 for raising children, a rebate equal to $100 for each qualified child 21
of the claimant. An eligible claimant may claim the rebate by submitting an online 22
application, as prescribed by the department. The department may request that the 23
claimant verify the eligibility of the claimant or child by submitting to the 24
department vital records information or any other information requested by the
department. For purposes of this paragraph, the department of health services shall 2
supply, without charge, vital records information to the department of revenue.
(b) For each approved claim described under par. (a), the department shall 4
certify the allowable amount of the claim to the department of administration for 5
payment to the claimant by check, share draft, or other draft drawn from the 6
appropriation account under s. 20.835 (2) (cb) by September 1, 2018.
(c) The online application form shall allow an eligible claimant to designate 8
that all of the amount of his or her rebate be donated as provided under s. 71.10 (5), 9
(5f), (5g), (5i), (5j), (5k), (5km), or (5m) or to the general fund.
(a) An individual who is a full-year resident, nonresident, or 11
part-year resident and who has a qualified child is eligible to receive a rebate under 12
sub. (2) if the individual files a claim for the rebate with the department not later 13
than June 30, 2018. The claim shall be filed by submitting an online application 14
prescribed by the department. The department shall require a nonresident, or a 15
part-year resident who was not a resident on December 31, 2017, to verify his or her 16
nonbusiness Wisconsin sales or use taxes paid in 2017, and the verified amount must 17
be at least $100 for each qualified child of the claimant to be eligible to receive a 18
rebate under sub. (2).
(b) A qualified child may be claimed for the rebate under sub. (2) by only one 20
21(4) Limitations and conditions.
(a) Section 71.80 (3) and (3m), as it applies to 22
income tax refunds, applies to a sales and use tax rebate under this section.
(b) The department may enforce the rebate under this section and may take any 24
action, conduct any proceeding, and proceed as it is authorized with respect to taxes
under ch. 71. The income tax provisions in ch. 71 relating to assessments, refunds, 2
appeals, collection, interest, and penalties apply to the rebate under this section.
(c) After a rebate has been issued under sub. (2) but before the check, share 4
draft, or other draft has been cashed, the spouse of a married claimant may request 5
a separate check, share draft, or other draft for 50 percent of the joint rebate.
(d) If the department is unable to locate an eligible claimant who claimed a 7
rebate under sub. (2) by December 31, 2018, or, notwithstanding s. 20.912 (1), (2), and 8
(3), if an eligible claimant who is issued a check, share draft, or other draft does not 9
cash the check, share draft, or other draft by December 31, 2018, the right to the 10
(e) If a claimant becomes deceased after he or she filed his or her claim for a 12
rebate under sub. (2), the amount of the rebate for which the claimant is eligible shall 13
be paid to the claimant's estate.
Except as provided in sub. (4) (b), this section does not apply after 15
December 31, 2018.
(1) Determinations of eligibility or extent or amount of certain benefits.
(a) In this subsection, “state agency” has the meaning given in section 16.417 19
(1) (a) of the statutes.
(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of state law that relates to 21
determining, based on an individual's personal income or assets, that individual's 22
eligibility for a state-funded grant, loan, monetary assistance, or other benefit or the 23
amount or extent of that grant, loan, monetary assistance, or other benefit, a state 24
agency may not consider receipt of a onetime rebate of nonbusiness Wisconsin sales 25
or use tax under section 77.68 of the statutes to be income or an asset of the
individual. This paragraph shall be broadly construed to avoid determinations of 2
ineligibility for a state-funded grant, loan, monetary assistance, or other benefit.
(c) By July 1, 2018, the department of health services shall request a waiver, 4
to the extent permitted under federal law, from the secretary of the federal 5
department of health and human services under 42 USC 1396n
(c), and shall amend 6
the state plan for services under 42 USC 1396
, to authorize the department of health 7
services to disregard receipt by an individual of a onetime rebate of nonbusiness 8
Wisconsin sales or use tax under section 77.68 of the statutes in determining the 9
individual's eligibility for medical assistance under section 49.46 (1), 49.465, or 49.47 10
(4) of the statutes.
(d) To the extent permitted under federal law, a state agency shall disregard 12
receipt by an individual of a onetime rebate of nonbusiness Wisconsin sales or use 13
tax under section 77.68 of the statutes in determining the individual's eligibility for 14
a federally funded grant, loan, monetary assistance, or other benefit or in 15
determining the amount or extent of that grant, loan, monetary assistance, or other 16
(1) General program operations.
In the schedule under section 20.005 (3) of 19
the statutes for the appropriation to the department of revenue under section 20.566 20
(1) (a) of the statutes, the dollar amount for fiscal year 2017-18 is increased by 21
$477,000 due to increased program costs associated with the onetime individual 22
nonbusiness Wisconsin sales and use tax rebate under section 77.68 of the statutes 23
and the dollar amount for fiscal year 2018-19 is increased by $346,200 for the same 24