Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics

For the Public Hearing on 04/8/2021 01:00 PM

Senate Bill 207

Relating to: private resources used for election administration, appointment of election officials, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Stroebel, Roth, Darling, Marklein, Jacque, Wanggaard, Bradley, Nass, Ballweg and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Representatives Neylon, Duchow, Magnafici, Edming, Steffen, Spiros, Krug, Knodl, Brooks, Sortwell, Gundrum, Murphy, Jagler, Wichgers and VanderMeer.

March 16, 2021           Referred to Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics

Present:       (5)        Senator Bernier; Senators Darling, Stroebel, Smith and Roys.

Absent:       (0)        None.

Excused:     (0)        None.

Appearances For

·      Sen Duey Stroebel - 20th SD

·      Rep. Adam Neylon

·      Senator Andre Jacque - 1st Senate District

·      Madeline Malisa - Opportunity Solutions Project

·      Kyle Koenen - WILL

·      Will Flanders - WILL

·      Ardis Cerny - Self

·      Matt Batzel

Appearances Against

·      Executive Director Claire Woodall Vogg - City of Milwaukee Election Commission

·      County Clerk George Christenson - Milwaukee County

·      Debra Morin - Self

·      Anjali Bhasin - Wisconsin Conservation Voices

·      Community Engagement Manager Attorney Tomas Clasen - ACLU of Wisconsin

·      Executive Director Matt Rothschild - Wisconsin Democracy Campaign

Appearances for Information Only

·      None.

Registrations For

·      Molly Koranda - Self

·      Molly Koranda - Self

·      Senator Alberta Darling

Registrations Against

·      Mary Bottari - City of Madison

·      Brenda Wood - City of Milwaukee

·      Barbara Beckert - Disability Rights Wisconsin

Registrations for Information Only

·      None.


Nathan Duerkop

Committee Clerk