• Born Madison, Wisconsin, March 28, 1969; 4 children.
  • Graduate Madison East High School, 1987; B.A. University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1991; Bowhay Institute for Legislative Leadership Development (BILLD), 2014; Emerging Leaders Program, University of Virginia, 2014; Toll Fellowship, 2015.
  • Full-time legislator. Former small business owner.
  • Member: Women in Government; Dane County Democratic Party; Democratic Party; National Caucus of Environmental Legislators; Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Legislative Caucus.
  • Former member: Emerge Wisconsin (board of directors); Make Room for Youth; Boy Scouts of America Glacier's Edge Council (board of directors); Midwest Shiba Inu Dog Rescue (president); Gompers PTO (president).
  • Recipient: National Federation of Women Legislators Woman of Excellence; WiLL Pacesetter Award; Arc Dane County Elected Official of the Year 2014; Citizen Action Activist Achievement Award 2014; Eleanor Roosevelt Award nominee 2013; Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters Conservation Champion 2020, 2018, 2016, 2014; Brava Women to Watch 2018; Associated Builders and Contractors of Wisconsin Building Wisconsin Award 2022.
  • Elected to Dane County Board of Supervisors, 2010–14; Assembly 2012-18.
  • Elected to Senate 2020. Leadership positions: Minority Leader 2023, 2021 (effective 11/16/22); Minority Caucus Vice Chair 2021.

Member of Council on Domestic Abuse, Wisconsin Commission for the United States Semiquincentennial Commission and Women's Council

2023 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2023 Co-authored Proposals

2023 Cosponsored Proposals

2023 Authored Amendments

2023 Votes