1997 Wisconsin Act 164
made significant changes to special education law. The proposed order brings the rules into conformity with Act 164, including changing the terms “handicapped child" and “child with exceptional educational needs" to be “child with a disability," and eliminating reference to screening children for disabilities and multi-disciplinary teams.
1999 Wisconsin Act 117
amended the open enrollment law to provide that pupils could open enroll for 4-year-old kindergarten only if the pupil's resident school district also provides 4-year-old kindergarten and only if the pupil is eligible for 4-year-old kindergarten in the resident school district. This order incorporates the provisions of Act 117 into the rules.
1999 Wisconsin Act 118
provided that a pupil could apply to no more than three nonresident school districts in any application period. The proposed rules provide that if a pupil applies to more than three school districts in any application period, any applications submitted during that application period may be declared invalid by the resident and/or each nonresident school district may declare the application it received invalid.
In addition, the proposed rules clarify that a resident school district must be indicated on the application form, that the resident school district to be indicated on the application form is the resident district in which the pupil will reside in the first year of open enrollment, and that the pupil may not indicate multiple resident school districts. If the pupil is not a resident of the district indicated on the form on the immediately following third Friday in September, the open enrollment is void.
2003 Wisconsin Act 55
permits nonresident school districts to establish waiting lists of pupils who have been denied due to lack of space and requires the department to adopt administrative rules to implement and administer the provision. The proposed rules require school boards that wish to establish waiting lists to adopt policies prior to the first day of the application period to which the waiting list will first apply. The policies must include all of the following:
• A procedure to establish a numbered waiting list of all applicants, following its acceptance and rejection criteria and the required random selection process.
• A procedure for notifying parents if the pupil has been accepted from the waiting list. The notification must include:
- Notice that the pupil has been accepted from the waiting list and of the school or program to which the pupil will be assigned.
- A date by which the parent must notify the board whether the pupil will attend the nonresident school district and the procedures to follow. The board must provide seven days for the parent to respond and may provide that if the parent does not respond within the specified time period, the acceptance will be rescinded and the space will be offered to the next applicant on the waiting list.
The last date on which the school board may offer applicants a space from the waiting list is the third Friday in August.
The proposed rules require that the denial notice must include the pupil's place on the waiting list.
Clarifications and Amendments to Administrative Procedures:
• Clarify that pupils not enrolled in a Wisconsin public school district during the application period may apply for open enrollment and must enroll in the resident school district after being approved and prior to attendance in the nonresident school district.
• Provide that a nonresident school district must notify the parent of an open enrolled pupil prior to the first day of the application period if the pupil will be required to reapply because the board's policy requires reapplication at the beginning of middle school, junior high or high school. Clarify that the resident school board does not act on such a reapplication.
• Permit, but not require, a nonresident school board to determine that a pupil may not open enroll if the parent has not provided the required notice of intent to attend.
• Eliminate the requirement that a parent must submit an application for reimbursement of transportation expenses by April 1 to be ensured of reimbursement in the following school year.
• Provide that after the pupil has begun attending a nonresident school district (at least until the third Friday in September of the first year of open enrollment), the pupil may continue to attend the nonresident school district without reapplication (except as permitted in the statute) even if the pupil moves to a different school district. Provide that the resident school district on the third Friday in September is considered the resident school district for the entire school year.
• Clarify that if a pupil withdraws from the nonresident school district or enrolls in and attends another public school district, private school or home-based private educational program, the open enrollment ends and the pupil may not resume open enrollment without submitting a new application in the next open enrollment application period. Provide that if a pupil has not attended the nonresident school district on or before the third Friday in September, the open enrollment ends. Also provide that if a nonresident school district expels an open enrolled pupil, it may also terminate the pupil's open enrollment.
• The proposed rules eliminate requirements for school boards to send copies to the department of various actions that do not affect the aid adjustment nor are required to be reported to the legislature.
• Clarify what actions must be reported to the resident school district and the department. These are actions that would affect the pupil's open enrollment status and/or the aid adjustment.
• Provide that school board open enrollment policies must be adopted or revised prior to the beginning of the application period to which they will first apply.
• Eliminate the requirement to send decisions in open enrollment appeals by certified mail.
For the most part, the rule modifications reflect current practice and should not have a fiscal effect on school districts.
Costs to the department may be reduced because of the elimination of appeal decisions being sent by certified mail. The department could save at least $1,750 per year assuming 250 appeals are sent annually to both the appellant and school district administrator by certified mail at $3.50 each. Costs associated with staff time necessary to prepare the certified mailings will also be reduced. These savings are indeterminate.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules are not anticipated to have a fiscal effect on small businesses as defined under s. 227.114 (1) (a)
Notice of Hearing
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That the Department of Veterans Affairs will hold a public hearing on the 27th day of February, 2004, at 11:05 a.m., in the 8th floor board room at 30 West Mifflin Street in Madison, Wisconsin.
Analysis Prepared By The Department Of Veterans Affairs
The creation of s. VA 1.20
will enable the department to seek recovery from a recipient who improperly receives a grant under ss. 45.25
, and 45.397
, Stats. Under current law, the department has the authority to recover and suspend state veterans' benefits whenever an applicant willfully provides false or fraudulent information on an application, with the intent of receiving benefits. The proposed language would allow the department to recover educational grant benefits that were erroneously paid for reasons other than the willful attempt to fraudulently obtain benefits.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This rule is not expected to have any adverse impact upon small businesses.
Based upon the annual average of potential recoveries over FY00-FY03, it is expected that the department may be able to annually reduce expenditures by $14,100.
Copies of Rule and Contact Person
A copy of the proposed rules and the full fiscal estimate may be obtained by contacting:
Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs
PO Box 7843
Madison, WI 53707-7843
For questions concerning the hearing, contact:
John Rosinski (608) 266-7916
Notice of Hearing
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 103.66
, Stats., the Department of Workforce Development proposes to hold a public hearing to consider rules relating to child labor.
March 4, 2004
GEF 1 Building, Room B103
201 E. Washington Avenue
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and will be afforded the opportunity to make an oral presentation of their positions. Persons making oral presentations are requested to submit their facts, views, and suggested rewording in writing.
Visitors to the GEF 1 building are requested to enter through the left East Washington Avenue door and register with the customer service desk. The entrance is accessible via a ramp from the corner of Webster Street and East Washington Avenue. If you have special needs or circumstances that may make communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please call (608) 267-9403 at least 10 days prior to the hearing date. Accommodations such as ASL interpreters, English translators, or materials in audiotape format will be made available on request to the fullest extent possible.
A paper copy may be obtained at no charge by contacting:
Elaine Pridgen, Office of Legal Counsel
Dept. of Workforce Development
201 E. Washington Avenue
P.O. Box 7946
Madison, WI 53707-7946
(608) 267-9403 or email@example.com
Written comments on the proposed rules received at the above address no later than March 5, 2004, will be given the same consideration as testimony presented at the hearing.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce Development
, Stats., provides that the department may determine reasonable classifications of employment, places of employment, maximum hours of employment per day and per week, maximum days of employment per week, hours at which employment may begin and end and the duration of lunch and other rest periods, and prohibited hazardous employment as necessary to protect the life, health, safety, or welfare of minors. The proposed rule repeals and recreates the existing classifications in Chapter DWD 270
with some substantive changes and some reorganization solely to clarify the rule language.
Hazardous employment. Proposed substantive changes to the provisions on minimum ages for hazardous employment and prohibited occupations or places of employment prejudicial to the life, health, safety, or welfare of minors include the following:
• No minor may be employed as an exotic dancer, regardless of whether liquor is sold in the establishment.
• No minor may work as a bouncer, crowd controller, or identification checker in establishments where liquor is present.
• No minor may work on or about a roof. The current rule prohibits minors from working in the installation of roofs but allows minors to work on or about a roof for other purposes. The proposed rule prohibits any work on a roof, including carpentry and metal work, gutter and downspout work, installation and servicing of television and communication equipment such as cable and satellite dishes, installation and servicing of heating and air conditioning equipment, and any similar work that is required to be performed upon or about roofs.
The provision allowing occasional and incidental driving by minors is amended to coincide with federal law, as found in the “Drive for Teen Employment Act" (Public Law 105-334, 29 USC 213
(c)(6)). The current rule provides that the driving must be during daylight hours, the minor must hold a driver's license for the type of driving involved and must have completed a state-approved driver education course, the automobile or truck does not exceed 6,000 pounds, and the vehicle is equipped with a seat belt for the driver and for each helper, and the employer has instructed each minor that such belts must be used. In addition to these provisions, the proposed changes include the following:
- The minor must be at least 17 years old. The current rule does not contain a minimum age.
- The driving may be no more than one-third of an employee's work time in any workday and no more than 20% of any employee's work time in any work week.
- The driving takes place within a 30 mile radius of the minor's place of employment.
- The driving does not involve the towing of vehicles; route deliveries or route sales; transportation for hire of property, goods, or passengers; urgent, time-sensitive deliveries; or the transporting at any time of more than 3 passengers, including the employees of the employer.
- The driving performed by the minor does not involve more than two trips away from the primary place of employment in any single day for the purpose of delivering goods of the minor's employer to a customer or for the purpose of transporting passengers other than the employees of the employer.
An exception to the general prohibition against minors working in any occupation involved with paper-products machines is created to coincide with federal law at Public Law 104-174, 29 USC 213
(c)(5)(A). The exception in federal law and the proposed rule provides that 16- and 17-year-old minors may load materials into, but not operate or unload, a scrap paper baler or a paper box compactor only if all of the following conditions are met:
- The scrap paper baler or paper box compactor meets the applicable ANSI standard.
- The scrap paper baler or paper box compactor includes an on-off switch incorporating a key-lock or other system and the control of the system is maintained in the custody of employees who are 18 years of age or older.
- The on-off switch of the scrap paper baler or paper box compactor is maintained in an off position when the machine is not in operation.
- The employer posts a notice on the scrap paper baler or paper box compactor in a prominent position and easily visible to any person loading, operating, or unloading the machine stating that: “The scrap paper baler or compactor meets the industry safety standard applicable to the machine, Standard ANSI Z245.5-1990 for scrap paper balers and Standard ANSI Z245.2-1992 for paper box compactors. Sixteen- and 17-year-old employees may only load the scrap paper baler or paper box compactor. No employee under the age of 18 may operate or unload the scrap paper baler or paper box compactor."
The definition of explosives is revised in the subsection prohibiting minors from working with certain explosives. The current rule refers to explosives designated by the Interstate Commerce Commission, which was abolished in 1995. The proposed rule refers to explosives designated by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms to be covered by 18 USC 841
(d), relating to importation, manufacture, distribution, and storage of explosive materials.
• An exception is added to the prohibition against minors operating hoists to clarify existing law. Sixteen- and 17-year-old minors may operate floor jacks, service jacks, hand jacks, drive-on lifts, and arm lifts used in conjunction with repairing or servicing motor vehicles. No minor under 16 years of age may operate a motor vehicle lift of any type or work in a pit underneath a motor vehicle.
Hours minors may work. An exception to the requirement that minors 12 and 13 years of age may not be employed more than 6 days per week is created for minors working in farming. The latest time that minors 16 and 17 years of age may work on days not preceding school days is changed from 12:30 a.m. to 12 midnight. Students who are enrolled in a private or public school but receiving instruction at home through special arrangement may work the same hours as if they were attending the public school. Students enrolled in a charter school may not work during hours they are scheduled to be in the charter school.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The proposed rules prevent small businesses from hiring minors in certain occupations deemed hazardous to the minors' health, safety, or welfare.
The proposed rules prevent governmental bodies from hiring minors in certain occupations deemed hazardous to the minors' health, safety, or welfare but these prohibitions have no fiscal impact.