The department shall establish a voluntary statewide registry that will collect information from veterans and inform veterans on health issues, including post-traumatic stress disorder, Agent Orange, and Gulf War syndrome.
History: 2007 a. 20
Registration of certificate of discharge.
Every person who has served in the U.S. armed forces at any time, and who has been honorably discharged or given a certificate of service or relieved from active service may record with the register of deeds of any county, in a suitable book provided by the county for that purpose, a certificate of discharge or release. The certificate shall be accessible only to the discharged person or that person's dependents or duly authorized representative, as defined in s. 45.04 (1) (a)
, the county veterans service officer, the department, or any person with written authorization from the discharged person or that discharged person's dependents. The register of deeds may not charge for recording, except that in counties where the register of deeds is under the fee system and not paid a fixed salary, the county shall pay the fee specified in s. 59.43 (2) (ag)
. The record of any certificate of discharge or release made prior to July 6, 1919, is legalized.
History: 2005 a. 22
It shall be unlawful for any person to receive or accept as a security or to withhold from a veteran or a person who was honorably discharged from the U.S. armed forces any discharge paper, citation, warrant, medal, badge, or evidence upon which the veteran is entitled to certain rights, as a veteran under the laws of the United States or of this state, and any transfer of the item during the life of the veteran upon a consideration or otherwise shall be null and void, and the refusal or willful neglect of any person to return or deliver upon demand the discharge paper, citation, warrant, medal, badge, or evidence is punishable as provided in sub. (2)
Any person who violates this section shall be fined not more than $100 or imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or both.
History: 2005 a. 22
Wisconsin Veterans Museum. 45.07(1)(1)
The department of administration shall provide suitable space for the purpose of a memorial hall, designated as the Wisconsin Veterans Museum, dedicated to the veterans of Wisconsin and to the men and women of Wisconsin who served in the armed forces of the United States during the civil war of 1861 to 1865 and during any subsequent period. The department of veterans affairs shall operate the Wisconsin Veterans Museum. The mission of the Wisconsin Veterans Museum is to acknowledge, commemorate, and affirm the role of Wisconsin veterans in the United States of America's military past by means of instructive exhibits and other educational programs.
The battle flags of Wisconsin units serving in the nation's wars and all relics and mementos of the nation's wars donated to or otherwise acquired by the state for display in the Wisconsin Veterans Museum shall constitute the memorial collection. The department shall do all of the following:
Catalog and identify all war relics and mementos of the memorial collection.
Restore, preserve, and safeguard the relics and mementos of the memorial collection.
Procure additions to the memorial collection.
Provide proper display equipment and display the memorial collection to make it instructive and attractive to visitors.
History: 2005 a. 22
See also ch. VA 5
, Wis. adm. code.
Memorial Day. 45.08(1)(1)
Every department and agency of the state government, every court of the state, and every political subdivision of the state, shall give a leave of absence with pay for the last Monday in May of each year, the day of celebration for May 30, Memorial Day, to every person in the employ of the state or political subdivision who has at any time served in and been honorably discharged from the U.S. armed forces or from forces incorporated as part of the U.S. armed forces. A refusal to give the leave of absence to a person entitled to the leave constitutes neglect of duty.
If the nature of the duties of the department, agency, court, or political subdivision necessitates the employment of persons eligible for a leave of absence under sub. (1)
, the department, agency, court, or political subdivision shall arrange and assign the necessary work so as to permit the largest possible numbers of eligible persons to have a leave of absence either all or part of Memorial Day.
History: 2005 a. 22
Veterans as classroom volunteers. 45.09(2)
Subject to sub. (3)
, the department shall award a certificate of achievement and appreciation to any veteran who completes 20 hours of volunteer service in a public, private, or tribal school during a school term.
A certificate shall be awarded under sub. (2)
if all of the following requirements are met:
The volunteer service consists of classroom service that involves direct interaction with pupils, with an emphasis on sharing the lessons the veteran learned from his or her military experience.
The veteran is not an employee of the school or school district during the term in which the volunteer service takes place.
By July 1 after the school term in which the volunteer service takes place, the veteran submits to the department a form signed by the school principal or school district administrator verifying that the veteran fulfilled the 20 hours of volunteer service specified under par. (a)
History: 2007 a. 22
; 2009 a. 302
Donation of abandoned vehicles.
A nonprofit organization that provides financial assistance or other services to veterans and their dependents that receives a vehicle donated under s. 342.40
shall use at least 50 percent of the proceeds obtained through the donation to serve the needs of active duty service members, veterans, or the families of veterans.
History: 2015 a. 106
The department may reimburse any veteran who incurred travel expenses relating to an appearance that occurred at the request of the state, subject to the following:
A veteran seeking reimbursement shall submit to the department documentation of travel expenses incurred.
Notwithstanding ss. 16.53 (12) (c)
and 20.916 (8)
, the department may reimburse all documented travel expenses but reimbursement shall not exceed $2,000 annually per veteran.
History: 2015 a. 55
Wisconsin veteran-owned business logotypes. 45.12(1)(a)
“Disabled veteran-owned business" means a business certified by the department of administration under s. 16.283 (3)
“Veteran-owned business" means each of the following:
A business not included under subds. 1.
that the department certifies for purposes of this section as being at least 51 percent owned by one or more veterans.
The department shall design an official logotype appropriate for use by veteran-owned businesses in this state. The logotype design shall contain the words “Wisconsin Veteran-Owned Business."
The department shall certify each farmer who applies to the department to use the logotype under par. (b)
if the farmer is one of the following:
The department, in consultation with the department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection shall design an official logotype appropriate for use on agricultural products produced by persons certified under par. (a)
The department may design an official logotype, in addition to the one designed under sub. (2)
, appropriate for use by disabled veteran-owned businesses in this state. The logotype design shall contain the words “Wisconsin Disabled Veteran-Owned Business."
The department shall consult with the department of administration to design the official logotype under sub. (2)
and the official logotype under sub. (3)
, if any.
EDUCATION AND TRAINING
Tuition reimbursement. 45.20(1)(1)
In this section:
“Part-time classroom study" means any of the following:
Enrollment in courses for which no more than 11 semester or the equivalent trimester or quarter credits will be given upon satisfactory completion.
Enrollment in courses during a summer semester or session.
“Tuition," when referring to the University of Wisconsin System, means academic fees and segregated fees; when referring to the technical colleges, means “program fees" and “additional fees" as described in s. 38.24 (1m)
; and when referring to a high school, a school that is approved under s. 45.03 (11)
, or a proprietary school that is approved under s. 440.52
, means the charge for the courses for which a person is enrolled.
Tuition reimbursement program. 45.20(2)(a)1.1.
The department shall administer a tuition reimbursement program for eligible veterans enrolling as undergraduates in any institution of higher education in this state, enrolling in a school that is approved under s. 45.03 (11)
, enrolling in a proprietary school that is approved under s. 440.52
, enrolling in a public or private high school, enrolling in a tribal school, as defined in s. 115.001 (15m)
, in any grade from 9 to 12, or receiving a waiver of nonresident tuition under s. 39.47
A veteran who is a resident of this state and otherwise qualified to receive benefits under this subsection may receive the benefits under this subsection upon the completion of any correspondence courses or part-time classroom study from an institution of higher education located outside this state, from a school that is approved under s. 45.03 (11)
, or from a proprietary school that is approved under s. 440.52
, if any of the following applies:
The part-time classroom study is not offered within 50 miles of the veteran's residence by any school or institution under this paragraph and the educational institution from which the study is offered is located not more than 50 miles from the boundary line of this state.
A veteran is eligible for the tuition reimbursement program if he or she meets all of the following criteria:
The annual income of the veteran and his or her spouse does not exceed $50,000 plus $1,000 for each dependent in excess of 2 dependents.
The veteran is a resident at the time of application for the program and was a Wisconsin resident at the time of entry into service or was a resident for any consecutive 12-month period after entry into service and before the date of his or her application. If a person applying for a benefit under this subsection meets the residency requirement of 12 consecutive months, the department may not require the person to reestablish that he or she meets that residency requirement when he or she later applies for any other benefit under this chapter that requires that residency.
In determining eligibility under this subsection, the department shall verify all reported income amounts.
A veteran is not eligible under this program if the veteran has an undergraduate degree from any institution of higher education.
A veteran who meets the eligibility requirements under par. (b) 1.
may be reimbursed upon satisfactory completion of an undergraduate semester in any institution of higher education in this state, or upon satisfactory completion of a course at any school that is approved under s. 45.03 (11)
, any proprietary school that is approved under s. 440.52
, any public or private high school, any tribal school, as defined in s. 115.001 (15m)
, that operates any grade from 9 to 12, or any institution from which the veteran receives a waiver of nonresident tuition under s. 39.47
. Except as provided in par. (e)
, the amount of reimbursement may not exceed the total cost of the veteran's tuition minus any grants or scholarships that the veteran receives specifically for the payment of the tuition, or, if the tuition is for an undergraduate semester in any institution of higher education, the standard cost of tuition for a state resident for an equivalent undergraduate semester at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, whichever is less.
An application for reimbursement of tuition under this subsection shall meet all of the following requirements:
Be completed and received by the department in a time limit set by administrative rule.
Contain the information necessary to establish eligibility as determined by the department.
Be on the application form established by the department.
Contain the signatures of both the applicant and a representative of the institution or school certifying that the applicant has satisfactorily completed the semester.
Reimbursement provided under this subsection shall be paid from the appropriation under s. 20.485 (2) (tf)
. If the amount of funds applied for exceeds the amount available under s. 20.485 (2) (tf)
, the department may reduce the reimbursement percentage, except to disabled veterans who are eligible for 100 percent of tuition and fees under par. (e)
, or deny applications for reimbursement that would otherwise qualify under this subsection. In those cases, the department shall determine the reimbursement percentage, except to disabled veterans who are eligible for 100 percent of tuition and fees under par. (e)
, and eligibility on the basis of the dates on which applications for reimbursement were received.
Reimbursement of tuition and fees for a course may be provided at an institution or school under this paragraph other than the one from which the veteran is receiving his or her degree or certificate of graduation or course completion if all of the following apply:
The curriculum at the institution or school consists only of courses necessary to complete a degree in a particular course of study.
The course is accepted as transfer credits at the institution or school listed under this paragraph from which the veteran is receiving his or her degree but is not available at that institution or school.
Subject to subd. 1m.
, a veteran's eligibility for reimbursement under this subsection at any institution of higher education in this state, at a school that is approved under s. 45.03 (11)
, at a proprietary school that is approved under s. 440.52
, at a public or private high school, at a tribal school, as defined in s. 115.001 (15m)
, that operates any grade from 9 to 12, or at an institution where he or she is receiving a waiver of nonresident tuition under s. 39.47
is limited to the following: