2011 - 2012 LEGISLATURE
February 14, 2012 - Introduced by Representatives Jacque, Weininger, Ballweg,
Bernier, Bies, Brooks, E. Coggs, Hebl, Hintz, Jorgensen, Kerkman,
Kuglitsch, Marklein, Mason, Murtha, A. Ott, Petryk, Pocan, Sinicki,
Spanbauer, Steineke, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Tranel
and Williams, cosponsored
by Senators Galloway, Harsdorf, Lazich, Miller, Olsen, Risser, Schultz and
Taylor. Referred to Committee on Rules.
AJR109,1,2 1Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin Badgers football team on an
2outstanding 2011 season.
AJR109,1,73 Whereas, the 2011 Wisconsin Badgers solidified their record as a college
4football powerhouse with an impressive 11 and 2 regular season, achieved a
5double-digit win total in three consecutive seasons for the first time in program
6history, and won the inaugural Big Ten Championship game, thus earning their
7second consecutive bid to the Rose Bowl as Big Ten champions; and
AJR109,1,108 Whereas, Wisconsin finished the season as a top ten team in the Associated
9Press poll and ranked fourth nationally in scoring offense and sixth nationally in
10scoring defense at the end of the regular season; and
AJR109,1,1511 Whereas, Head Coach Bret Bielema has provided tremendous leadership and
12was selected as a finalist for the prestigious 2011 Paul "Bear" Bryant award for
13college football's top coach, the third time in his first six years where he has attained
14finalist or semi-finalist recognition, with an overall record of 60 and 19 during his
15tenure; and
1Whereas, running back Montee Ball tied Barry Sanders' record for most
2touchdowns scored in a single season, with 39, was selected as one of five Heisman
3Trophy finalists for college football's top individual honor, finishing fourth, and was
4named a first team All-American by countless organizations; and
AJR109,2,115 Whereas, senior quarterback Russell Wilson, in just his first season with the
6team, put forward a commanding season-long performance and was named a
7consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection and the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the
8Year in the Big Ten, setting the NCAA single-season record for pass efficiency and
9establishing new school records for passing yards, touchdown passes, completions,
10and yards of total offense on the way to becoming a Johnny Unitas Golden Arm
11Award finalist and top ten finisher in Heisman Trophy balloting; and
AJR109,2,1512 Whereas, the Wisconsin Badgers had a total of six players earn All-American
13recognition this season, including first team offensive linemen Peter Konz and Kevin
14Zeitler, a school-record six players chosen for the Senior Bowl, and a record nine
15Badgers named to the All-Big Ten First Team; now, therefore, be it
AJR109,2,19 16Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the legislature
17commends the student-athletes, coaches, and administrators of the University of
18Wisconsin Badgers football team, and the entire student body, for their remarkable
19season, Big Ten Championship, and a thrilling Rose Bowl appearance.
AJR109,2,2020 (End)