Picture of Senator Kathleen Vinehout

Senator Kathleen Vinehout

Minority Caucus Vice-Chair

Senate District 31 (D - Alma)

Senator Kathleen Vinehout's Home Page
District map based on 2011 Wisconsin Act 43
2015 authored proposals feed Feed for Authored proposals feed
2015 all related items feed Feed for All related items feed
2015 author index
Historical information
Madison Office:
Room 108 South
State Capitol

Madison, WI 53707-7882
(608) 266-8546
(877) 763-6636
(608) 282-3571
Voting Address:
W1490 Cesler Valley Road
Alma, WI 54610

Linda Kleinschmidt Linda.Kleinschmidt@legis.wisconsin.gov
Beau Stafford Beau.Stafford@legis.wisconsin.gov
Jacob Wipperfurth Jacob.Wipperfurth@legis.wisconsin.gov


Born June 16, 1958; married; 1 child. B.S. with honors in education Southern Illinois U. 1980; M.P.H. St. Louis U. 1982; Ph.D. St. Louis U. 1987; A.D. in agriculture. Organic farmer. Former dairy farmer, university professor, health care manager. Member: Wis. Farmers Union; Wis. Farm Bureau Federation (fmr. bd. mbr., Buffalo Co.); Alma Chamber of Commerce; Democratic Party of Buffalo Co. (fmr. chp.); Andrew Blackfoot American Legion Auxiliary Post 129. Former member: Buffalo Co. Agricultural Fair Assn. (bd. mbr.); American Federation of Teachers (treas., Local 4100). Recipient: Sierra Club Environmental Champion 2014; Wis. Public Health Assn. Friend of Public Health 2014; Wis. Farmers Union Friend of Farmers Union Award 2013; Wis. Congress of Parents and Teachers Joan Dykstra Friends of Children Award 2012; Wis. Aquaculture Assn. Friend of Wisconsin Aquaculture 2011; La Crosse Area Development Council Triangle of Achievement; AFSCME Council 40 Protector of Quality Services Award 2010; School Administrators Alliance Legislator of the Year 2010; Wis. Academy of Family Physicians Friend of Family Medicine; Wis. Grocers Assn. Friend of Grocers 2010; Wis. Crop Production Assn. Outstanding Service to Agriculture Award; Wis. Assn. of County Homes 2010 Outstanding Legislative Service Award; Wis. Troopers Assn. Legislator of the Year 2010; Wis. League of Conservation Voters Conservation Champion 2014, 2010, 2008; Wis. Assn. of PEG Channels Friend of Access 2008; Wis. Assn. of FFA Honorary State FFA Degree 2008; Pharmacy Soc. of Wis. Legislator of the Year 2008; Wis. Federation of Cooperatives Friend of Cooperatives 2008. Mississippi River Regional Planning Commission 2004-2011.

Elected to Senate 2006; reelected since 2010. Minority Caucus Vice Chairperson 2015, 2013, 2011; Majority Caucus Vice Chairperson 2009.

2015 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2015 Co-authored Proposals

2015 Cosponsored Proposals

2015 Authored Amendments

2015 Votes