Picture of Senator Van H. Wanggaard

Senator Van H. Wanggaard

Majority Caucus Chair

Senate District 21 (R - Racine)

Senator Van H. Wanggaard's Home Page
District map based on 2011 Wisconsin Act 43
Subscribe to updates via Notify Subscribe to updates via Notify
2017 authored proposals feed Feed for Authored proposals feed
2017 all related items feed Feed for All related items feed
2017 author index
Historical information
Madison Office:
Room 313 South
State Capitol
PO Box 7882
Madison, WI 53707-7882
(608) 266-1832
(866) 615-7510
(608) 282-3561
Voting Address:
1246 Blaine Avenue,
Racine, WI 53405

Scott Kelly Scott.Kelly@legis.wisconsin.gov
Valirie Maxim Valirie.Maxim@legis.wisconsin.gov
Michelle Osdene Michelle.Osdene@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Born Ft. Leavenworth, Kansas, April 1952; married; 2 children, 2 grandchildren.
  • Graduate Racine Lutheran High School, 1970; Racine Police Academy; Wisconsin State Patrol Academy Accident Investigation; Northwestern University Traffic Institute—Reconstruction; US Coast Guard National SAR School; attended John F. Kennedy University, California; University of Wisconsin–Extension; University of Wisconsin–Parkside; Green Bay Technical College; Milwaukee Area Technical College; Fox Valley Technical College.
  • Full-time legislator. Retired traffic investigator, Racine Police Department; adjunct instructor, Gateway Technical College and Northwestern Traffic Institute; police liaison and security, Racine Unified School District.
  • Member: National Rifle Association (life member); Racine County Line Rifle Club (board of directors); Racine Police Credit Union (former president, vice president).
  • Former member: Racine Zoological Society (board of directors); Racine Jaycees; Racine Police Explorers (advisor); Traffic Accident Consultants, Inc. (board of directors); Association of SWAT Personnel; Racine Innovative Youth Service (board); Hostage Negotiation Team, RAPD; Racine Junior Deputy Sheriffs Association; Racine Alateen (advisor); National Association for Search and Rescue (PSAR chair).
  • Racine Police and Fire Commission, 2003–13 (chair, vice chair, secretary). Racine County Board, 2002–11.
  • Elected to Senate 2010. Reelected 2014. Leadership positions: majority caucus vice chair 2017, 2015

Member of Historical Society of Wisconsin, Board of Curators

2017 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2017 Co-authored Proposals

2017 Cosponsored Proposals

2017 Authored Amendments

2017 Votes