DCF 57.51 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06; corrections in (2) to (5) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register November 2008 No. 635.
DCF 57.515 DCF 57.515License provisions.
DCF 57.515(1)(1)The licensee may not change a license provision without first receiving approval from the department. The licensee shall submit to the department a written request for approval to amend the license. The request shall identify the provision that the licensee wishes to have amended or included under the license and the specific reasons that the provision should be amended or included under the license. Receipt of an amended license from the department shall be evidence of the department's approval of any requested changes to the license provisions.
DCF 57.515 Note Note: A request for approval for an amended license may be sent to the field office that serves the group home.
DCF 57.515(2) (2)A request to amend a license to serve a resident population that is 18 years of age and over, but under 21 years of age, and is transitioning to independence, shall be on a form prescribed by the department.
DCF 57.515 Note Note: Form DCF-F-5081-E, Amendment Request to Extend Care to Residents 18 Years of Age or Over, But Under 21 Years of Age, is available in the forms section of the department's website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from a department field office. See Appendix A for the address of the field office for your area.
DCF 57.515 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06; EmR1414: emerg. renum. to (1), cr. (2), eff. 8-1-14; CR 14-054: renum. to (1), cr. (2) Register April 2015 No. 712, eff. 5-1-15.
DCF 57.52 DCF 57.52 Corporate licensure.
DCF 57.52(1)(1)Before a corporation may be issued a license to operate a group home the corporation shall be incorporated under the laws of Wisconsin or shall have written authorization from the department of financial institutions to do business in Wisconsin.
DCF 57.52(2) (2)The corporation shall designate an authorized representative who shall have responsibility for the administration of the group home.
DCF 57.52 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06.
DCF 57.53 DCF 57.53 Transferability of license. A group home license may not be transferred.
DCF 57.53 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06.
DCF 57.54 DCF 57.54 Posting of license and citations. The group home license and any exceptions to the license granted by the department under s. DCF 57.02, citations issued by the department in its most recent inspection on the department's form CFS-294, and any notice of enforcement action including notices of license revocation, non-renewal, or summary suspension shall be posted in a place in the group home where it can be easily viewed by the public.
DCF 57.54 Note Note: Form CFS-294 is obsolete. The department uses form DCF-F-2544-E to issue citations during an inspection.
DCF 57.54 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06; correction made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register November 2008 No. 635.
DCF 57.55 DCF 57.55 Sanctions and penalties. The department may impose an order or penalty as provided in s. 48.715 (2) and (3), Stats.
DCF 57.55 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06.
DCF 57.56 DCF 57.56 License revocation.
DCF 57.56(1)(1)In addition to the reasons for revocation specified under ss. 48.66 (5) and 48.715 (4) and (4m), Stats., the department may revoke a regular or probationary license under any of the following circumstances:
DCF 57.56(1)(a) (a) If an applicant, owner, or licensee, a proposed or current staff member, volunteer, household member or any other person who has or will have contact with residents is any of the following:
DCF 57.56(1)(a)1. 1. A person who is the subject of a pending criminal charge or who has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor that substantially relates to the care of children or activities of the group home.
DCF 57.56 Note Note: Examples of charges and offenses the department will consider in making a determination under this paragraph that an act substantially relates to the care of children are: sexual assault; abuse of a resident of a facility; a crime against life and bodily security; kidnapping; abduction; arson of a building or of property other than a building; robbery; receiving stolen property from a child; a crime against sexual morality such as enticing a minor for immoral purposes or exposing a minor to harmful materials; and interfering with the custody of a child. The list is illustrative. Other types of offenses may be considered.
DCF 57.56(1)(a)2. 2. A person who has been determined by a government agency to have abused or neglected a child or who has been determined to have committed an offense that is substantially related to the care of children or activities of the group home.
DCF 57.56(1)(a)3. 3. A person against whom a finding of abuse or neglect or of a misappropriation of property of a client has been entered on the Wisconsin caregiver registry maintained by the department pursuant to ch. DHS 13.
DCF 57.56(1)(a)4. 4. A person who is the subject of a court finding that the person has abandoned, abused, or neglected a child.
DCF 57.56(1)(a)5. 5. A person who fails to submit a background information disclosure form completed under the requirements of s. 48.685, Stats., and ch. DCF 12, and this chapter, or a person who has made false statements on the background information disclosure form.
DCF 57.56(1)(b) (b) The licensee or applicant has given false information to a government agency, failed to submit a complete application, withheld relevant information or failed to pay any fee, forfeiture or assessment due to a government agency.
DCF 57.56(1)(c) (c) The licensee failed to comply with the requirements in s. DCF 57.62 (1) and (3).
DCF 57.56(2) (2)Upon receipt of a notice of revocation, the licensee may not admit any child for care to the group home without written approval of the department. By the effective date of a license revocation, the licensee shall have arranged for discharge of the residents in the manner specified under s. DCF 57.20 (6).
DCF 57.56(2m)(a)(a) If the department determines not to grant a license or to revoke a license, the department shall notify the applicant or licensee in writing of its decision and the reasons for that decision. Revocation of a license shall take effect either immediately upon notification or 30 days after the date of the notice unless the decision is appealed under s. DCF 57.58. Whether the revocation shall take effect immediately upon notification or 30 days after the date of the notice shall be determined in accordance with the criteria found under s. 48.715 (4m) (a) and (b), Stats.
DCF 57.56(2m)(b) (b) Upon receipt of the notice of revocation, and during any revocation proceedings that may result, the licensee may not accept for care any child not enrolled as of the date of receipt of the notice without written approval of the department's licensing representative.
DCF 57.56 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06; corrections in (1) (a) 3., 5., (2) and (2m) (a) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register November 2008 No. 635; CR 11-026: cr. (1) (c) Register December 2011 No. 672, eff. 1-1-12; correction in (1) (a) 5. made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register September 2016 No. 729.
DCF 57.57 DCF 57.57 Summary suspension of a license.
DCF 57.57(1)(a) (a) The department may close a group home by summarily suspending a regular or probationary license if the department believes the action is required to protect the health safety, and welfare of residents. Reasons for summary suspension include all of the following:
DCF 57.57(1)(a)1. 1. Failure of the licensee to maintain or restore environmental protection for the residents, such as heat, water, electricity or telephone service.
DCF 57.57(1)(a)2. 2. The licensee or a person under the supervision of the licensee has committed an action or has created a condition relating to the operation or maintenance of the group home that directly threatens the health, safety or welfare of any child under the care of the licensee.
DCF 57.57(1)(a)3. 3. The licensee, an employee, a volunteer or any other person in regular contact with the residents in care has been convicted of, or has a pending charge for a crime against life or a crime of bodily injury.
DCF 57.57(1)(a)4. 4. A licensee, staff member, volunteer or any other person in regular contact with the residents in care is the subject of a current investigation for alleged child abuse or neglect under s. 48.981, Stats.
DCF 57.57(1)(a)5. 5. The reasons specified under s. DCF 57.56 (1) (a).
DCF 57.57(1)(b) (b) Notice of summary suspension of a license may be written or verbal and shall specify the reason for the department action and the date the action becomes effective.
DCF 57.57(2) (2)If the department determines that circumstances which caused the action in sub. (1) require the immediate relocation of the residents, the department shall order the licensee orally and in writing to relocate the residents to suitable housing and to notify for each resident, the placing agency and parent or guardian within 24 hours after relocating the resident into that housing.
DCF 57.57(3) (3)Within 72 hours after the order in sub. (1), the department shall either permit the reopening of the group home or proceed to revoke the group home's license.
DCF 57.57(4) (4)The division of hearings and appeals shall hold a preliminary hearing within 10 working days after the effective date of the order in sub. (1) to determine if the license should remain suspended during revocation proceedings. The division of hearings and appeals shall give written notice of the hearing to the licensee and the department.
DCF 57.57 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06; correction in (1) (a) 5. made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register November 2008 No. 635.
DCF 57.58 DCF 57.58 Appeal procedure.
DCF 57.58(1)(1)Except as provided in subs. (3) and (4), a department decision to deny, refuse to renew, or revoke a license or to issue an order or decision affecting the licensee under s. 48.64 or 48.715, Stats., may be reviewed under ch. 227, Stats.
DCF 57.58(2) (2)A request for a hearing shall be in writing and submitted to the department of administration's division of hearings and appeals. The request for a hearing shall be sent to the division of hearings and appeals within 10 days after the date on the notice of the department's refusal or failure to issue, renew, or continue a license or the department's action taken under s. 48.715, Stats.
DCF 57.58 Note Note: A request for a hearing may be mailed to Division of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875, Madison, WI 53707-7875 or faxed to (608) 264-9885. A copy of the request should be sent to the appropriate field office listed in Appendix A.
DCF 57.58(3) (3)An appeal of a denial or revocation based on a certification by the department of failure to pay court-ordered payments of support or failure to comply with a subpoena or warrant issued by the department shall be filed pursuant to s. 49.857, Stats.
DCF 57.58(4) (4)An appeal of a denial, refusal to renew or revocation of a license based on a certification of tax delinquency from the department of revenue shall be filed within 30 days after the date on which the notice of denial, refusal to renew, or revocation as required under s. 73.0301 (2) (b) 1. b., Stats.
DCF 57.58 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06; EmR1106: emerg. am. (3), eff. 9-16-11; CR 11-026: am. (3) Register December 2011 No. 672, eff. 1-1-12; EmR1633: emerg. am. (2), eff. 11-18-16; CR 16-051: am. (2) Register July 2017 No. 739, eff. 8-1-17.
DCF 57.59 DCF 57.59 Complaints. Any person having a complaint about a licensed group home or a group home operating without a license may submit that complaint to the department by telephone, facsimile, electronic mail, letter or personal interview. A department licensing representative shall investigate each complaint. The department shall send a written report of the findings of that investigation to the complainant upon request.
DCF 57.59 Note Note: A complaint should be sent, phoned or delivered to the regional field office listed in Appendix A that serves the group home.
DCF 57.59 History History: CR 04-067: cr. Register September 2005 No. 597, eff. 1-1-06.
subch. VII of ch. DCF 57 Subchapter VII — Rate Regulation
DCF 57.60 DCF 57.60 Rate determination.
DCF 57.60(1)(1)The department shall determine the maximum per client rate that each group home may charge for costs associated with room, board, administration, service provision, and oversight of youth in the group home based on all of the following:
DCF 57.60(1)(a) (a) A maximum per client rate determined by the department that no group home may exceed.
DCF 57.60(1)(b) (b) A per client rate that the department determines is appropriate for each group home based on the reasonable and necessary costs of the services provided by that group home.
DCF 57.60(2) (2)A group home shall charge all Wisconsin public purchasers the same rate for the same services.
DCF 57.60 History History: EmR1106: emerg. cr., eff. 9-16-11; CR 11-026: cr. Register December 2011 No. 672, eff. 1-1-12.
DCF 57.61 DCF 57.61 Allowable costs. In determining rates under this subchapter, the department may consider costs incurred for any purpose that is allowable under all of the following:
DCF 57.61(1) (1)Applicable federal regulations, including 2 CFR Part 200, 45 CFR Part 75, and 48 CFR Part 31, except as provided in sub. (2).
DCF 57.61(2) (2)Reserves or profit as allowed under the following:
DCF 57.61(2)(a) (a) For nonprofit corporations, reserves allowed under s. 49.34 (5m) (b) 1., Stats.
DCF 57.61(2)(b) (b) For proprietary group homes, profit allowed on an annual basis is the smaller amount determined under the following 2 methods of calculating profit:
DCF 57.61(2)(b)1. 1. The equity method is the sum of 7.5 percent of allowable operating costs plus 15 percent of average net equity for the year. In this subdivision, “average net equity" means the average cost of equipment, buildings, land, and fixed equipment minus the average accumulated depreciation and average long term liabilities for the year.
DCF 57.61(2)(b)2. 2. The expenses method is 10 percent of allowable operating costs for the year.
DCF 57.61 Note Note: Further explanation is available in the department's Allowable Cost Policy Manual, which is available in the Partner Resources/Grants and Contract Administration section of the department's website at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov.
DCF 57.61 History History: EmR1106: emerg. cr., eff. 9-16-11; CR 11-026: cr. Register December 2011 No. 672, eff. 1-1-12; CR 20-003: am. (1), (2) (a) Register July 2020 No. 775, eff. 8-1-20.
DCF 57.62 DCF 57.62 Rate methodology.
DCF 57.62(1)(1)Cost and service information. Each year by July 1, a licensee shall submit the following information to the department:
DCF 57.62(1)(a) (a) A cost and service report in which the licensee reports the group home's costs, types of services provided, and number of children served in the previous year. The report shall be submitted on a department-prescribed form.
DCF 57.62 Note Note: The cost and service report form is available at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ratereg.
DCF 57.62(1)(b) (b) The group home's most recent audit report under s. DCF 57.07 (1).
DCF 57.62(2) (2) Maximum allowable rate. Each year no later than September 1, the department shall notify licensees of the per client rate that no group home may exceed for services provided in the following calendar year.
DCF 57.62(3) (3) Proposed rates.
DCF 57.62(3)(a)(a) Each year no later than October 1, a licensee shall submit to the department a proposed rate for the following calendar year for each group home that the licensee operates. The licensee shall submit the proposed rate on a department-prescribed form.
DCF 57.62(3)(b) (b) A licensee may request an exception to the department's maximum rate under sub. (2) if the licensee provides a specialized service or specialized programming to a specific population of children. The exception request shall explain the benefits of the service or programming and why the licensee cannot provide the service or programming within the maximum rate. The exception request shall be made on the rate request form.
DCF 57.62 Note Note: The rate request form is available at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ratereg.
DCF 57.62(4) (4) Review of a proposed rate. In reviewing a proposed rate submitted by a licensee under sub. (3), the department shall consider all of the following:
DCF 57.62(4)(a) (a) Whether the proposed rate exceeds the maximum rate determined by the department under sub. (2).
DCF 57.62(4)(b) (b) The group home's most recent cost and service report under sub. (1) (a).
DCF 57.62(4)(c) (c) The group home's most recent audit report under sub. (1) (b).
DCF 57.62(4)(d) (d) Whether the group home's reported costs are within a range of similar costs reported by other group homes for similar items and services.
DCF 57.62(4)(e) (e) The group home's per client rate in previous years.
Loading...
Loading...
Published under s. 35.93, Stats. Updated on the first day of each month. Entire code is always current. The Register date on each page is the date the chapter was last published.