Picture of Representative Joan Ballweg

Representative Joan Ballweg

Assembly District 41 (R - Markesan)

Representative Joan Ballweg's Home Page
District map based on 2011 Wisconsin Act 43
Subscribe to updates via Notify Subscribe to updates via Notify
2017 authored proposals feed Feed for Authored proposals feed
2017 all related items feed Feed for All related items feed
2017 author index
Historical information
Madison Office:
Room 210 North
State Capitol
PO Box 8952
Madison, WI 53708
(608) 266-8077
(888) 534-0041
(608) 282-3641
Voting Address:
170 W. Summit St.
Markesan, WI 53946

Bethany Anderson Bethany.Anderson@legis.wisconsin.gov
Amanda Graham Amanda.Graham@legis.wisconsin.gov


  • Born Milwaukee, Wisconsin, March 16, 1952; married; 3 children, 2 grandchildren.
  • Graduate Nathan Hale High School, West Allis, Wisconsin, 1970; attended University of Wisconsin–Waukesha; B.A. in Elementary Education, University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point, 1974.
  • Co-owner of farm equipment business. Former first grade teacher.
  • Member: Markesan Chamber of Commerce (former treasurer); Waupun Chamber of Commerce; Green Lake County Farm Bureau; Waupun Memorial Hospital (board of directors, former chair); Agnesian HealthCare Enterprises LLC management committee (former secretary); volunteer, Markesan District Schools; Markesan PTA (former president); Markesan AFS Chapter (hosting coordinator, president, former host family, liaison).
  • Elected into national leadership rotation for the Council of State Governments and will serve as National Chair in 2020.
  • Former member: FEMA V Regional Advisory Council.
  • Recipient: Markesan District Education Association Friend of Education Award 1990.
  • Markesan City Council, 1987–91; mayor of Markesan, 1991–97.
  • Elected to Assembly since 2004. Leadership positions: majority caucus chair 2013, 2011.

Member of Midwestern Higher Education Commission

2017 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2017 Co-authored Proposals

2017 Cosponsored Proposals

2017 Authored Amendments

2017 Votes