Picture of Representative Frederick Kessler

Representative Frederick Kessler

Assembly District 12 (D - Milwaukee)

Representative Frederick Kessler's Home Page
District map based on 2011 Wisconsin Act 43
Subscribe to updates via Notify Subscribe to updates via Notify
2017 authored proposals feed Feed for Authored proposals feed
2017 all related items feed Feed for All related items feed
2017 author index
Historical information
Madison Office:
Room 111 North
State Capitol
PO Box 8952
Madison, WI 53708
(608) 266-5813
(888) 534-0012
(608) 282-3612
District Phone:
(414) 535-0266
Voting Address:
9312 West Clovernook St.
Milwaukee, WI 53224

Leon Creary Leon.Creary@legis.wisconsin.gov
Ritch Williams Ritch.Williams2@legis.wisconsin.gov


Born Milwaukee, January 11, 1940; married; 2 children. Graduate Milw. Luth. H.S. and Capitol Page School 1957; B.A. U. of Wisconsin-Madison 1962; L.L.B. U. of Wisconsin 1966. Labor arbitrator. Member: Goethe House (vice pres., former pres.); Milwaukee Chap. ACLU (bd. mbr., former pres.); World Affairs Council of Milw. (bd. mbr.); Wis. Bar Assn.; Labor/Employment Relations Assn. (advisory com. mbr.); Democratic Party; DANK (German-American National Congress), Milwaukee chap. (former vice pres.); Milwaukee Donauschwaben; Amnesty International Group 107 (former chairman); Milw. Turners; NAACP. Former member: City of Milwaukee Harbor Comn. Recipient: Wisconsin ACLU Eunice Edgar Lifetime Service Award 2008; State Bar of Wis. Scales of Justice Award 2010; German Immersion Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award 2013. Presidential Elector for President Barack Obama 2012. County court judge (Milw. Co.) 1972-78; Circuit court judge (Milw. Co.) 1978-81, 1986-88. On January 11, 1961, his 21st birthday, he became the youngest person, up to that time, ever to serve in the legislature.

Elected to Assembly 1960, 1964-70; reelected since 2004.

Member of Historical Society of Wisconsin, Board of Curators

2017 Authored Proposals

(first or second author, first sponsor)

2017 Co-authored Proposals

2017 Cosponsored Proposals

2017 Authored Amendments

2017 Votes