2014 Legislative Council Study Committee on the Review of Criminal Penalties


Legislative Council Staff

David Moore

Michael Queensland

Administrative Staff

Kelly Mautz


Representative Hutton (Chair)

Senator Risser (Vice-Chair)

Edward H. Bailey

Representative Barnes

Keith Belzer

Adam Y. Gerol

Scott Horne

Jill Karofsky

Ben Kempinen

Representative Neylon

David Reddy

Representative Riemer

Representative Spiros

Michael Tobin

Donald Zuidmulder

Hearing Notices

Travel Voucher

Membership List


  • The Special Committee is directed to review the penalties for misdemeanor and low-level felony offenses. The committee shall: determine whether current misdemeanor or low-level felony penalties are appropriate; whether any crimes should be classified; and whether any offenses are outdated or should be decriminalized.

June 24, 2014 Meeting 10:00 a.m. 411 South [ Audio | Agenda | Minutes ]

November 12, 2014 Meeting, 10:00 a.m., Room 411 South [ Agenda | Minutes ]

December 18, 2014 Meeting 10:00 a.m. [ Agenda | Minutes ]

February 13, 2015 Mail Ballot

Recommendation to the Joint Legislative Council March 18, 2015

Joint Legislative Council Recommendation to the 2015-16 Legislature