704.09(5) (5)Consent as affecting subsequent transfers. If a lease restricts transfer, consent to a transfer or waiver of a breach of the restriction is not a consent or waiver as to any subsequent transfers.
704.09 History History: 1971 c. 211 s. 126; 1993 a. 486.
704.11 704.11 Lien of landlord. Except as provided in ss. 704.90 and 779.43 or by express agreement of the parties, the landlord has no right to a lien on the property of the tenant; the common-law right of a landlord to distrain for rent is abolished.
704.11 History History: 1979 c. 32 s. 92 (9); 1987 a. 23 s. 2; 2011 a. 143.
704.13 704.13 Acts of tenant not to affect rights of landlord. No act of a tenant in acknowledging as landlord a person other than the tenant's original landlord or the latter's successors in interest can prejudice the right of the original landlord or the original landlord's successors to possession of the premises.
704.13 History History: 1993 a. 486.
704.14 704.14 Notice of domestic abuse protections. A residential rental agreement shall include the following notice in the agreement or in an addendum to the agreement:
NOTICE OF DOMESTIC ABUSE PROTECTIONS
704.14(1) (1) As provided in section 106.50 (5m) (dm) of the Wisconsin statutes, a tenant has a defense to an eviction action if the tenant can prove that the landlord knew, or should have known, the tenant is a victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking and that the eviction action is based on conduct related to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking committed by either of the following:
704.14(1)(a) (a) A person who was not the tenant's invited guest.
704.14(1)(b) (b) A person who was the tenant's invited guest, but the tenant has done either of the following:
704.14(1)(b)1. 1. Sought an injunction barring the person from the premises.
704.14(1)(b)2. 2. Provided a written statement to the landlord stating that the person will no longer be an invited guest of the tenant and the tenant has not subsequently invited the person to be the tenant's guest.
704.14(2) (2) A tenant who is a victim of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking may have the right to terminate the rental agreement in certain limited situations, as provided in section 704.16 of the Wisconsin statutes. If the tenant has safety concerns, the tenant should contact a local victim service provider or law enforcement agency.
704.14(3) (3) A tenant is advised that this notice is only a summary of the tenant's rights and the specific language of the statutes governs in all instances.
704.14 History History: 2013 a. 76.
704.15 704.15 Requirement that landlord notify tenant of automatic renewal clause. A provision in a lease of residential property that the lease shall be automatically renewed or extended for a specified period unless the tenant or either party gives notice to the contrary prior to the end of the lease is not enforceable against the tenant unless the lessor, at least 15 days but not more than 30 days prior to the time specified for the giving of such notice to the lessor, gives to the tenant written notice in the same manner as specified in s. 704.21 calling the attention of the tenant to the existence of the provision in the lease for automatic renewal or extension.
704.15 History History: 1993 a. 486.
704.16 704.16 Termination of tenancy for imminent threat of serious physical harm; changing locks.
704.16(1) (1) Terminating tenancy by tenant. A residential tenant may terminate his or her tenancy and remove from the premises if both of the following apply:
704.16(1)(a) (a) The tenant or a child of the tenant faces an imminent threat of serious physical harm from another person if the tenant remains on the premises.
704.16(1)(b) (b) The tenant provides the landlord with notice in the manner provided under s. 704.21 and with a certified copy of any of the following:
704.16(1)(b)1. 1. An injunction order under s. 813.12 (4) protecting the tenant from the person.
704.16(1)(b)2. 2. An injunction order under s. 813.122 protecting a child of the tenant from the person.
704.16(1)(b)3. 3. An injunction order under s. 813.125 (4) protecting the tenant or a child of the tenant from the person, based on the person's engaging in an act that would constitute sexual assault under s. 940.225, 948.02, or 948.025, or stalking under s. 940.32, or attempting or threatening to do the same.
704.16(1)(b)4. 4. A condition of release under ch. 969 ordering the person not to contact the tenant.
704.16(1)(b)5. 5. A criminal complaint alleging that the person sexually assaulted the tenant or a child of the tenant under s. 940.225, 948.02, or 948.025.
704.16(1)(b)6. 6. A criminal complaint alleging that the person stalked the tenant or a child of the tenant under s. 940.32.
704.16(1)(b)7. 7. A criminal complaint that was filed against the person as a result of the person being arrested for committing a domestic abuse offense against the tenant under s. 968.075.
704.16(2) (2)Not liable for rent. If a residential tenant removes from the premises because of a threat of serious physical harm to the tenant or to a child of the tenant from another person and provides the landlord with a certified copy specified under sub. (1) and with notice that complies with s. 704.21, the tenant shall not be liable for any rent after the end of the month following the month in which he or she provides the notice or removes from the premises, whichever is later. The tenant's liability for rent under this subsection is subject to the landlord's duty to mitigate damages as provided in s. 704.29 (2).
704.16(3) (3)Termination of tenancy by landlord.
704.16(3)(a)(a) In this subsection:
704.16(3)(a)1. 1. "Community" has the meaning given in s. 710.15 (1) (ad).
704.16(3)(a)2. 2. "Manufactured home" has the meaning given in s. 101.91 (2).
704.16(3)(a)3. 3. "Mobile home" has the meaning given in s. 710.15 (1) (b).
704.16(3)(a)4. 4. "Offending tenant" is a tenant whose tenancy is being terminated under this subsection.
704.16(3)(b) (b) A landlord may terminate the tenancy of an offending tenant if all of the following apply:
704.16(3)(b)1. 1. The offending tenant commits one or more acts, including verbal threats, that cause another tenant, or a child of that other tenant, who occupies a dwelling unit in the same single-family rental unit, multiunit dwelling, or apartment complex, or a manufactured home or mobile home in the same community, as the offending tenant to face an imminent threat of serious physical harm from the offending tenant if the offending tenant remains on the premises.
704.16(3)(b)2. 2. The offending tenant is the named offender in any of the following:
704.16(3)(b)2.a. a. An injunction order under s. 813.12 (4) protecting the other tenant from the offending tenant.
704.16(3)(b)2.b. b. An injunction order under s. 813.122 protecting the child of the other tenant from the offending tenant.
704.16(3)(b)2.c. c. An injunction order under s. 813.125 (4) protecting the other tenant or the child of the other tenant from the offending tenant, based on the offending tenant's engaging in an act that would constitute sexual assault under s. 940.225, 948.02, or 948.025, or stalking under s. 940.32, or attempting or threatening to do the same.
704.16(3)(b)2.d. d. A condition of release under ch. 969 ordering the offending tenant not to contact the other tenant.
704.16(3)(b)2.e. e. A criminal complaint alleging that the offending tenant sexually assaulted the other tenant or the child of the other tenant under s. 940.225, 948.02, or 948.025.
704.16(3)(b)2.f. f. A criminal complaint alleging that the offending tenant stalked the other tenant or the child of the other tenant under s. 940.32.
704.16(3)(b)2.g. g. A criminal complaint that was filed against the offending tenant as a result of the offending tenant being arrested for committing a domestic abuse offense against the other tenant under s. 968.075.
704.16(3)(b)3. 3. The landlord gives the offending tenant written notice that complies with s. 704.21 requiring the offending tenant to vacate on or before a date that is at least 5 days after the giving of the notice. The notice shall state the basis for its issuance and the right of the offending tenant to contest the termination of tenancy in an eviction action under ch. 799. If the offending tenant contests the termination of tenancy, the tenancy may not be terminated without proof by the landlord by the greater preponderance of the credible evidence of the allegations against the offending tenant.
704.16(4) (4)Changing locks.
704.16(4)(a)(a) Subject to pars. (b) and (c), regardless of whether sub. (1) applies, at the request of a residential tenant who provides the landlord with a certified copy of a document specified in sub. (1) (b) 1. to 7., a landlord shall change the locks to the tenant's premises.
704.16(4)(b) (b) A landlord shall have the locks changed, or may give the tenant permission to change the locks, within 48 hours after receiving a request and certified copy under par. (a). The tenant shall be responsible for the cost of changing the locks. If the landlord gives the tenant permission to change the locks, within a reasonable time after any lock has been changed the tenant shall provide the landlord with a key for the changed lock.
704.16(4)(c)1.1. If the person who is the subject of the document provided to the landlord under par. (a) is also a tenant of the specific premises for which the locks are requested to be changed, the landlord is not required to change the locks under this subsection unless the document provided by the tenant requesting that the locks be changed is any of the following:
704.16(4)(c)1.a. a. A document specified in sub. (1) (b) 1., 2., or 3. that directs the tenant who is the subject of the document to avoid the residence of the tenant requesting that the locks be changed.
704.16(4)(c)1.b. b. A document specified in sub. (1) (b) 4. that orders the tenant who is the subject of the document not to contact the tenant requesting that the locks be changed.
704.16(4)(c)2. 2. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to relieve a tenant who is the subject of the document provided to the landlord under par. (a) from any obligation under a rental agreement or any other liability to the landlord.
704.16(4)(d) (d) A landlord is not liable for civil damages for any action taken to comply with this subsection.
704.16 History History: 2007 a. 184; 2009 a. 117; 2013 a. 76.
704.165 704.165 Termination of tenancy at death of tenant.
704.165(1) (1)
704.165(1)(a)(a) Except as provided in par. (b), if a residential tenant dies, his or her tenancy is terminated on the earlier of the following:
704.165(1)(a)1. 1. Sixty days after the landlord receives notice, is advised, or otherwise becomes aware of the tenant's death.
704.165(1)(a)2. 2. The expiration of the term of the rental agreement.
704.165(1)(b) (b) Notwithstanding s. 704.19, in the case of the death of a residential periodic tenant or tenant at will, the tenancy is terminated 60 days after the landlord receives notice, is advised, or otherwise becomes aware of the tenant's death.
704.165(2) (2) The deceased tenant or his or her estate is not liable for any rent after the termination of his or her tenancy. Any liability of the deceased tenant or his or her estate for rent under this subsection is subject to the landlord's duty to mitigate damages as provided in s. 704.29 (2).
704.165(3) (3) Nothing in this section relieves another adult tenant of the deceased tenant's premises from any obligation under a rental agreement or any other liability to the landlord.
704.165(4) (4) A landlord under this section may not contact or communicate with a member of the deceased tenant's family for the purpose of obtaining from the family member rent for which the family member has no liability.
704.165 History History: 2009 a. 323.
704.17 704.17 Notice terminating tenancies for failure to pay rent or other breach by tenant.
704.17(1) (1) Month-to-month and week-to-week tenancies.
704.17(1)(a)(a) If a month-to-month tenant or a week-to-week tenant fails to pay rent when due, the tenant's tenancy is terminated if the landlord gives the tenant notice requiring the tenant to pay rent or vacate on or before a date at least 5 days after the giving of the notice and if the tenant fails to pay accordingly. A month-to-month tenancy is terminated if the landlord, while the tenant is in default in payment of rent, gives the tenant notice requiring the tenant to vacate on or before a date at least 14 days after the giving of the notice.
704.17(1)(b) (b) If a month-to-month tenant commits waste or a material violation of s. 704.07 (3) or breaches any covenant or condition of the tenant's agreement, other than for payment of rent, the tenancy can be terminated if any of the following applies:
704.17(1)(b)1. 1. The landlord gives the tenant a notice that requires the tenant to either remedy the default or vacate the premises no later than a date at least 5 days after the giving of the notice, and the tenant fails to comply with the notice. A tenant is considered to be complying with the notice if promptly upon receipt of the notice the tenant takes reasonable steps to remedy the default and proceeds with reasonable diligence, or if damages are adequate protection for the landlord and the tenant makes a bona fide and reasonable offer to pay the landlord all damages for the tenant's breach. If, within one year from receiving a notice under this subdivision, the tenant again commits waste or breaches the same or any other covenant or condition of the tenant's rental agreement, other than for payment of rent, the tenant's tenancy is terminated if the landlord gives the tenant notice to vacate on or before a date at least 14 days after the giving of the notice.
704.17(1)(b)2. 2. The landlord gives the tenant notice requiring the tenant to vacate on or before a date at least 14 days after the giving of the notice.
704.17(1)(c) (c) A property owner may terminate the tenancy of a week-to-week or month-to-month tenant if the property owner receives written notice from a law enforcement agency, as defined in s. 165.83 (1) (b), or from the office of the district attorney, that a nuisance under s. 823.113 (1) or (1m) (b) exists in that tenant's rental unit or was caused by that tenant on the property owner's property and if the property owner gives the tenant written notice requiring the tenant to vacate on or before a date at least 5 days after the giving of the notice. The notice shall state the basis for its issuance and the right of the tenant to contest the termination of tenancy in an eviction action under ch. 799. If the tenant contests the termination of tenancy, the tenancy may not be terminated without proof by the property owner by the greater preponderance of the credible evidence of the allegation in the notice from the law enforcement agency or the office of the district attorney that a nuisance under s. 823.113 (1) or (1m) (b) exists in that tenant's rental unit or was caused by that tenant.
704.17(2) (2)Tenancies under a lease for one year or less, and year-to-year tenancies.
704.17(2)(a)(a) If a tenant under a lease for a term of one year or less, or a year-to-year tenant, fails to pay any installment of rent when due, the tenant's tenancy is terminated if the landlord gives the tenant notice requiring the tenant to pay rent or vacate on or before a date at least 5 days after the giving of the notice and if the tenant fails to pay accordingly. If a tenant has been given such a notice and has paid the rent on or before the specified date, or been permitted by the landlord to remain in possession contrary to such notice, and if within one year of any prior default in payment of rent for which notice was given the tenant fails to pay a subsequent installment of rent on time, the tenant's tenancy is terminated if the landlord, while the tenant is in default in payment of rent, gives the tenant notice to vacate on or before a date at least 14 days after the giving of the notice.
704.17(2)(b) (b) If a tenant under a lease for a term of one year or less, or a year-to-year tenant, commits waste or a material violation of s. 704.07 (3) or breaches any covenant or condition of the tenant's lease, other than for payment of rent, the tenant's tenancy is terminated if the landlord gives the tenant a notice requiring the tenant to remedy the default or vacate the premises on or before a date at least 5 days after the giving of the notice, and if the tenant fails to comply with such notice. A tenant is deemed to be complying with the notice if promptly upon receipt of such notice the tenant takes reasonable steps to remedy the default and proceeds with reasonable diligence, or if damages are adequate protection for the landlord and the tenant makes a bona fide and reasonable offer to pay the landlord all damages for the tenant's breach. If within one year from the giving of any such notice, the tenant again commits waste or breaches the same or any other covenant or condition of the tenant's lease, other than for payment of rent, the tenant's tenancy is terminated if the landlord gives the tenant notice to vacate on or before a date at least 14 days after the giving of the notice.
704.17(2)(c) (c) A property owner may terminate the tenancy of a tenant who is under a lease for a term of one year or less or who is a year-to-year tenant if the property owner receives written notice from a law enforcement agency, as defined in s. 165.83 (1) (b), or from the office of the district attorney, that a nuisance under s. 823.113 (1) or (1m) (b) exists in that tenant's rental unit or was caused by that tenant on the property owner's property and if the property owner gives the tenant written notice requiring the tenant to vacate on or before a date at least 5 days after the giving of the notice. The notice shall state the basis for its issuance and the right of the tenant to contest the termination of tenancy in an eviction action under ch. 799. If the tenant contests the termination of tenancy, the tenancy may not be terminated without proof by the property owner by the greater preponderance of the credible evidence of the allegation in the notice from the law enforcement agency or the office of the district attorney that a nuisance under s. 823.113 (1) or (1m) (b) exists in that tenant's rental unit or was caused by that tenant.
704.17(2)(d) (d) This subsection does not apply to week-to-week or month-to-month tenants.
704.17(3) (3)Lease for more than one year.
704.17(3)(a)(a) If a tenant under a lease for more than one year fails to pay rent when due, or commits waste, or breaches any other covenant or condition of the tenant's lease, the tenancy is terminated if the landlord gives the tenant notice requiring the tenant to pay the rent, repair the waste, or otherwise comply with the lease on or before a date at least 30 days after the giving of the notice, and if the tenant fails to comply with the notice. A tenant is deemed to be complying with the notice if promptly upon receipt of the notice the tenant takes reasonable steps to remedy the default and proceeds with reasonable diligence, or if damages are adequate protection for the landlord and the tenant makes a bona fide and reasonable offer to pay the landlord all damages for the tenant's breach; but in case of failure to pay rent, all rent due must be paid on or before the date specified in the notice.
704.17(3)(b) (b) A property owner may terminate the tenancy of a tenant who is under a lease for a term of more than one year if the property owner receives written notice from a law enforcement agency, as defined in s. 165.83 (1) (b), or from the office of the district attorney, that a nuisance under s. 823.113 (1) or (1m) (b) exists in that tenant's rental unit or was caused by that tenant on the property owner's property and if the property owner gives the tenant written notice to vacate on or before a date at least 5 days after the giving of the notice. The notice shall state the basis for its issuance and the right of the tenant to contest the termination of tenancy in an eviction action under ch. 799. If the tenant contests the termination of tenancy, the tenancy may not be terminated without proof by the property owner by the greater preponderance of the credible evidence of the allegation in the notice from the law enforcement agency or the office of the district attorney that a nuisance under s. 823.113 (1) or (1m) (b) exists in that tenant's rental unit or was caused by that tenant.
704.17(3m) (3m)Criminal activity.
704.17(3m)(a)(a) In this subsection:
704.17(3m)(a)1. 1. "Controlled substance" has the meaning given in s. 961.01 (4).
704.17(3m)(a)2. 2. "Drug-related criminal activity" means criminal activity that involves the manufacture or distribution of a controlled substance. "Drug-related criminal activity" does not include the manufacture, possession, or use of a controlled substance that is prescribed by a physician for the use of a disabled person, as defined in s. 100.264 (1) (a), and that is manufactured by, used by, or in the possession of the disabled person or in the possession of the disabled person's personal care worker or other caregiver.
704.17(3m)(b)1.1. Notwithstanding subs. (1) (b), (2) (b), and (3) (a), and except as provided in par. (c), a landlord may, upon notice to the tenant, terminate the tenancy of a tenant, without giving the tenant an opportunity to remedy the default, if the tenant, a member of the tenant's household, or a guest or other invitee of the tenant or of a member of the tenant's household engages in any criminal activity that threatens the health or safety of, or right to peaceful enjoyment of the premises by, other tenants; engages in any criminal activity that threatens the health or safety of, or right to peaceful enjoyment of their residences by, persons residing in the immediate vicinity of the premises; engages in any criminal activity that threatens the health or safety of the landlord or an agent or employee of the landlord; or engages in any drug-related criminal activity on or near the premises. The notice shall require the tenant to vacate on or before a date at least 5 days after the giving of the notice. The notice shall state the basis for its issuance; include a description of the criminal activity or drug-related criminal activity, the date on which the activity took place, and the identity or description of the individuals engaging in the activity; advise the tenant that he or she may seek the assistance of legal counsel, a volunteer legal clinic, or a tenant resource center; and state that the tenant has the right to contest the allegations in the notice before a court commissioner or judge if an eviction action is filed. If the tenant contests the termination of tenancy, the tenancy may not be terminated without proof by the landlord by the greater preponderance of the credible evidence of the allegation in the notice.
704.17(3m)(b)2. 2. To terminate a tenancy under this subsection, it is not necessary that the individual committing the criminal activity or drug-related criminal activity has been arrested for or convicted of the criminal activity or drug-related criminal activity.
Loading...
Loading...
2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis. Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before April 21, 2016. Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after April 21, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 4-29-16)